Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Friendly atmosphere in a nice pub

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Homely and welcoming
Cons: The decor of the rooms
Location: Ironbridge gorge has great places to walk and a lot of historical interest.
Friendly landlord and owner accommodation was good. The room was clean and the shower was excellent. The decor not to my taste, a bit dark, but everything was clean and very well set out. The deal we had was for half board and breakfast so we got a really good deal and the food was excellent. We would definitely stay there again, the room we had gave us a lovely view over the River Severn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for the gorge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for visiting historic Ironbridge

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Just what we would expect from a pub that is older than the Ironbridge itself. Full of character rather than part of a chain
5 out of 5
by Gillian

Lovely location

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quaint Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Good supply of tea and coffee in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Perhaps the decor could be modernised a bit. The shower although hot was not very powerful.
Location: 15 minute walk from Ironbridge village. Well situated for visiting the ten or so Ironbridge museums including Blists Hill. Also RAF museum nearby.
Quaint is one way of describing the Bird in Hand. The decor of the room and the bar and restaurant area were slightly dated with lots of knick knacks etc. but both were comfortable and made for relaxing evenings. There was no reception area as such and I had to ring the door bell of the pub to gain the attention of a member of staff. Access to the bedrooms is at the rear of the premises and I was provided with a key to the back door as well as to the room. This suited me as I like to get out early to take photographs. The stairs are very steep and would not suit someone with mobility problems. This also applies to the steps from the car park to the pub. My room (4) was quite small but adequate for a short stay. The bar and restaurant were also quite small but this gave a pleasant intimate feel. The menu was quite extensive but not very adventurous. Good solid pub grub. One night I had local Shropshire pork chops which were delicious and on the second night I had one of the best steaks I have ever had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for a Gooner

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Looked after like Royalty. Ideal for exploring Shropshire.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind from Manchester

Friendly pub with rooms and a super breakfast.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a family room for 2 teenagers and me in this delightful, quirky pub with rooms. We were visiting the area for V festival and the hotel is conveniently located for the festival buses from Telford. The welcome and friendly service were much appreciated. The breakfasts were delicious: tea/coffee, juices, cereals, 'English' breakfast cooked to order, followed by toast. We didn't have other meals there, nor did we sample the beers, as the festival days finished late. I would definitely stay again, preferably to explore the locality.
4 out of 5
by Keith from Basingstoke, Hampshire

A Good comfortable Inn

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was very nice, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There were Tea and Coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV, hairdryer and sufficient storage for a couple. Bed was very comfortable and we had good nights sleep. The Bar/Lounge was traditional and where we had our Breakfast and Dinner. Both meals were satisfactory. Staff very welcoming and friendly as were the casual diners/drinkers who came in whilst we were there. This was nice as sometimes when staying at an Inn, the Locals treat you with coolness. Overall a great stay. Thanks guys!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location in a very attractive town.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, location was very good and the hotel is very comfortable. Good range of beers and menu.,
Cons: We should have stayed for two nights rather than one.
Location: Located on the banks of the river and a close distance to the town of Iron Bridge and its museums and shops.
We arrived late in the evening,later than expected, and the landlord had contacted us to let us know when the meals were finishing that evening which was very thoughtful and very useful. The hotel is in a great location. The room was clean, and comfortable with a view over the river. The meals are home cooked, generous in proportions and there is an extensive menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Historic

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Good food and friendly owner.
Cons: Advice about steep stairs.
Location: Ironbridge is unique and well worth a visit.
An interesting place to stay and the owner was a particularly nice man. However, as my wife and I are both 90 years old, it would have been helpful if we could have been warned about all the steps to be climbed.