Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Telford visit

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Good host good food plenty of variety Will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Friendly atmosphere in a nice pub

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Homely and welcoming
Cons: The decor of the rooms
Location: Ironbridge gorge has great places to walk and a lot of historical interest.
Friendly landlord and owner accommodation was good. The room was clean and the shower was excellent. The decor not to my taste, a bit dark, but everything was clean and very well set out. The deal we had was for half board and breakfast so we got a really good deal and the food was excellent. We would definitely stay there again, the room we had gave us a lovely view over the River Severn.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Convivial pub, basic room.

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming host. Room was overlooking river with steep stairs access. Decor and bedding was tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, food good and accommodation comfortable, would go again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for the gorge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for visiting historic Ironbridge

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Just what we would expect from a pub that is older than the Ironbridge itself. Full of character rather than part of a chain
5 out of 5
by Gillian

Lovely location

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quaint Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Good supply of tea and coffee in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Perhaps the decor could be modernised a bit. The shower although hot was not very powerful.
Location: 15 minute walk from Ironbridge village. Well situated for visiting the ten or so Ironbridge museums including Blists Hill. Also RAF museum nearby.
Quaint is one way of describing the Bird in Hand. The decor of the room and the bar and restaurant area were slightly dated with lots of knick knacks etc. but both were comfortable and made for relaxing evenings. There was no reception area as such and I had to ring the door bell of the pub to gain the attention of a member of staff. Access to the bedrooms is at the rear of the premises and I was provided with a key to the back door as well as to the room. This suited me as I like to get out early to take photographs. The stairs are very steep and would not suit someone with mobility problems. This also applies to the steps from the car park to the pub. My room (4) was quite small but adequate for a short stay. The bar and restaurant were also quite small but this gave a pleasant intimate feel. The menu was quite extensive but not very adventurous. Good solid pub grub. One night I had local Shropshire pork chops which were delicious and on the second night I had one of the best steaks I have ever had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for a Gooner

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Looked after like Royalty. Ideal for exploring Shropshire.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind from Manchester

Friendly pub with rooms and a super breakfast.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a family room for 2 teenagers and me in this delightful, quirky pub with rooms. We were visiting the area for V festival and the hotel is conveniently located for the festival buses from Telford. The welcome and friendly service were much appreciated. The breakfasts were delicious: tea/coffee, juices, cereals, 'English' breakfast cooked to order, followed by toast. We didn't have other meals there, nor did we sample the beers, as the festival days finished late. I would definitely stay again, preferably to explore the locality.