Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Shakespeare Inn Coalport

Posted Sep 7, 2017
This inn is an excellent place to stay, within walking distance of Ironbridge and all the local museums and places of interest. My wife and I have stayed at this inn on two occasions approx. 1 year apart, we enjoyed both visits, the accommodation was very comfortable and the management and staff were really friendly and helpful. The food and drink was also excellent and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Good value nice location.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Food, room, staff.
Cons: Just make sure guests are aware of the rear access to their rooms, they will need to know about it if the pub is shut.
Location: Quiet area, Coalport china museum down the road. Ironbridge about 1.5/2 miles away, lots of museums depicting the Iron industry to see.
Stayed for 3 nights. Had meal in the pub on 2 nights - big meals, very nice, good value. Good pint of Blondie. Nice spacious ensuite double room, nice breakfast.Nice staff. Tea goes cold quickly though in the pot! Got back one evening, pub was shut, in darkness - how do I get to my room? Bit worrying, then remembered earlier that I had seen a rear entrance around the back of the pub, in darkness now but lights came on by sensor so found way to room door easily enough - but should have been advised about this on check in. No problem in the end but could have been a night in the car if I had not remembered! Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, clean and beautiful family-run B&B

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I love this place - the rooms are really cozy and comfortable. You actually feel like at home but with the added extras of staying away. Every little detail has been thought of. Julie, the land lady, is really friendly and welcoming too. The only criticism I'd have is that quite a lot of noise from the pub downstairs is coming through to the rooms but not much can be done about that and the pub closes by 11, at which point it becomes really peaceful. Highly recommended and would definitely return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely welcoming family run inn

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Great team working together to make everyone welcome
Cons: I don't know how you could improve this because of the position of the building but access to the accomodation may difficult due to steep steps
Lovely local pub good food and welcoming atmosphere, in walking distance of iron bridge and other local attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Pleasant, quiet setting in an interesting part of the country.
Cons: Bed linen that fitted!
Location: Ironbridge Gorge has much industrial heritage to visit, much within walking distance.
We had a very pleasant stay in this pub with rooms. The room was good value, quiet, and comfortable. The food is almost over-generously portioned and of good quality.
5 out of 5
by Bimal Roy

Thumbs Up!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
A really warm, friendly and cosy pub and hotel. Recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good clean hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Great stay awesome food. The only negatives would be the steps to the rooms and the kids playground outside the door.
5 out of 5
by Wendy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ian

Short trip

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant location away from the centre of Ironbridge but still within easy reach of telford Shrewsbury and the museums there. The food is good the breakfast could have been better But peacful and relaxing Good beer.