Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Overall it was a pleasant location and the staff was kind, but they seem very insular, not fully focused on guest satisfaction.
Cons: Remove broken glass. Don't make faces when guests ask normal questions. Spontaneously provide recommendations for nearby locations and activities.
Location: The pools are nice. Orvis springs are amazing. The town has a free museum. There are public sports facilities next door. Ridgway itself is bland.
I was woken up two days in a row at 4am by the tv playing loudly below us. It turns it was the chef's room. Ionly found out what was going on after confronting the front-desk a second time, because I didn't want to be woken up rudely the next two nights. I cut myself on glass pieces between the cushions on the patio chairs. The staff tried to discourage us from visiting the Orvis springs. We asked where the sauna was, but the person at the front-desk made a face and said we'd have to negotiate that with the spa. It turns out that the (very nice) person at the spa said that of course we could use the sauna.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room temperature was 78.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel was nicely decorated, but it stopped there.
Cons: The cafe and lobby was empty all the time. Never met one guest. Need to have a happy hour to draw guest to one area.
Location: Lots to do outside of the hotel. Camping, hiking, shopping, dinning, etc. Beautiful mountain area.
No thermostat! Room was at 78 degrees most if the time. Hot and humid. They had a water cooled swamp cooler which increased the humidity and decreased the temperature by only 2 degrees. Room was very noisy middle of the night and early morning (5 am) . We booked the room as a pet friendly through Expedia. We the hotel to confirm they had pet friendly rooms available. We received a confirmation that the room was reserved. After the cancellation date we received notice that we could not bring our 12 lb dog. (We could not come because of the dog but still had to pay full room rate.) In order to not loose our money we had to spend a day finding a dog sitter in Ridgeway; a town we knew no one. This caused us to have to extend our stay one more day which added to our cost. We now had to pay and additional day, pay for dog sitting fees, and shift our stay at our next hotel which cost us and extra $100. Because they would not honor their origional confirmation it cost us a lot of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Mountain oasis! Great accommodations, food, music!

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Great room, private balcony hot tub, great food, and the live music, Robby Overfield was incredible!!! Pools, and Spa were awesome!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

4th of July / Anniversary Getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: People are great, location is great, view is great, hot tub is great.
Cons: The cold air was blasting far more than I remember, with no way to control it... kind of took out the natural quietness I remember last time.
Location: North entrance to the San Juan's. Hiking, off road / high mountain jeep, spas, hot springs, bars/restaurants, local events, music, boating, breweries
The wifey and I, since moving to Colorado 4.5 years ago, have always loved the Western Slope, from Grand Junction down to Durango, and right in the middle of it all is Ridgway and Chipeta. Great location... as it says, it is the "Gateway to the San Juan Mountains," and that could not be more accurate. Varied climates and geographies abound in this region and Chipeta is a perfect, relaxing, fairly-upscale-yet-not-hoity-toity place for your home base. We had been once before to celebrate another anniversary and felt it was perfect for the wedding anniversary. Relaxing colors, laid back and good people, a great town, nice restaurant and roof top bar with music weekly, adventure out your door, or you can just do nothing and get pampered at the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Room too small

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: I really like the way the building was designed and decorated. It was a work of art in itself. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: I think it would help if people knew how small and tight the room would be. I have stayed in a room with a queen sized bed before that was adequate.
Location: There were several restaurants near by that were very good. There was a local brew pub with excellent beer. There were interesting shops .
The hotel and the grounds were very nice and the setting was beautiful. Our room was tiny. We could not set up two suitcases and move around freely. There was a small refrigerator but no in room coffee maker. There was tea and hot water available in the lobby with a lounge area that was very nice. It was a longer walk to get complimentary coffee in the morning. We did not have a TV. I did not think to ask about this. It was mainly that the room was so small and hot. We could not control the heat and so we would open the door when it got too hot but we had to move the chair when we did this. I felt for what we paid, it was not worth it. There obviously were some more spacious rooms in the resort but how much more that would cost I don't know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julia from Edwards

Good for away-time

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Quiet, relaxing, better for relaxation than for business although the staff was so accommodating, letting us meet in the lounge-area. Coffee was tasty (and loved the cookies)...lighting in room very poor, hard to see.... Like the refrigerator!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
It was ok. Our room had a roof leak, but not too bad ( among some minor maintenance problems). I loved the living area/kitchen; the bedroom was very plain, though, for the amount of money we paid for it. Finally, you will be required to pay an extra fee/tax when you arrive. The clerk printed out the pricing for the room for us and we saw how much $$$ hotels.com is making off of our booking (more than $50 a night). We over paid!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loveland, Colorado

nice hotel close to where we wanted to go.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location was nice. The staff was nice. The hotel was clean and cute.
Cons: The bed and have a tv in the room.
Location: Ouray was right up the road and Telluride was a half hour away. Those were our destinations. The San Juan mountains are the best mountains in Colorado
it was a nice hotel overall. near our destinations. It rained so we weren't able to use the pool. We were bummed they didn't have a tv. we were bummed we didn't get a room with a fireplace. It was our wedding anniversary and we wished it was a little more romantic for the price we paid. The bed was a little hard for our liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels