Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Girls getaway

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Perfect hotel for girls get away. We arrived early and are rooms were ready. Nice lobby with warm fire place and coffee. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice happy hour/ reception when we returned from our outings, drinks included!! Breakfast was great as well the bacon was cooked perfectly as was my made to order omelet. We will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very clean and great guest amenities

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: All of it
Cons: my toilet was plugged, and the bath/shower had a running water leak that could not be stopped. Was attended to immediately by staff
The lobby was quite large, well lit and very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room, as I usually dread having to stay in a hotel. The rooms are large, and have a living room area, with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and safe. There is a separate bedroom, and a bath with a dressing area. Room was clean, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The "happy hour" at 5:30 was also a pleasant surprise, and was enjoyable. The complementary buffet breakfast in the morning have a large selection, and everything was freshly cooked. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One Night Stand

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Everything. I only came for one night and did not use any of the amenities.
Cons: Seating for the breakfast was poor.
My one night stand at the ESH was wonderful. My room was upgraded due to my late arrival and overbooking. The room was excellent and the location close to the freeway for easy access. The only drawback is no seating in the breakfast area. I got there and it was full of people and few seats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Stayed for a week some good some not so much

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful Breakfast, if you wanted a omelet or fried eggs we had someone there to cook it for us. The only disappointing things were on the buffet
Location: Great Park near by also close to fwy.
The evening open or limited bar was extremely disappointing, they rarely refilled the snacks until it was time for the thing to be over. The nasty Chex mix combination they put out every night was very hard to chew. The salad was okay but not very much there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to wine country.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Everything went well and enjoyed everything. I wish some how you could get my name right on this site! I have tried to change ti to Merrill Sunquist 3 time so I guess I can start using a different service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Centrally located & tastefully renovated
Cons: There was a group of us in 3 rooms. We all had the same issue with the TV remotes which had t be raised high to operate TV due to obstructions
Location: Recently renovated . Feels like a new hotel. Good location for wine country ( 4 miles away ) & Old Town is minutes away. Shopping centers just a walk
Was there for a wedding with others. Friendly staff, with a great morning buffet which is a cut above what is normally offered at many hotels. For those who drink , the bar had a free happy hour every day for several hours. We did many excursions to various areas.. Some great wineries were toured . The views & the wineries themselves are worth the trip. The freeway & major roads made getting there convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Lots of amenities.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The parking. Not all of it is paved and easy to get to.
Location: Right off the freeway. close to wine country and restaurants.
We had a king suite. It was very comfortable. There was a microwave, refrigerator, safe and a bar sink in the room. We had a pool view which was very nice. They have a complimentary breakfast which includes omelets to order and many other choices. They also have a social hour in the afternoon with complimentary beer, wine and mixed drinks. Parking was a little concerning as some of it wasn't paved. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even put a bottle of wine and glasses in our room because we said we were celebrating our anniversary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel was noisey and looked rundown. We told the front desk we were four and each day we were short towels. Sofa bed blanket was disgusting. No extra pillows for the sofa bed either. Breakfast was good. Nobody helped with luggage despite staff watching up struggle with a luggage cart across the parking lot. Location was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tracy ca.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Are room had no air conditioning for two whole days Was hot and miserable should have been Reimbursed for both days Had ants in both rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

close to UCSD, to the mall, restaurant

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We keep in coming back to this hotel every time we're in San Diego. Very good breakfast, hotel is well maintained, room size is good for families. I would rate this hotel 4.5 out of 5 because of the parking fee. $30 is too much.