Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The staff was great but he hotel is dated. I hate that Expedia will not let me skip this part. It makes me want to not do reviews. I don't have time to write something ever time they want to know my opinion.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from so cal

Went to scout wedding venues

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Entering the property was fine. Once you get into the room it looks clean but smells moldy. Upon closer inspection I noticed the shower tile had been painted over and the paint was crumbling due to the mold that was forming underneath it. We noticed bugs crawling on the carpet and ants came out within minutes of setting our food down. My fiancé had candy in her purse and they attacked it and it took 1/2 hour to clean it out. A king size bed should not have just 3 regular size pillows. The windows overlooking the golf course had a haze caused from aged glass. Potholes everywhere on the roads inside the resort ( how dare you call this a resort!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Needs improvment

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We had ants in our room and on our bed. The tv was a very old model. The WiFi was weak. This is not what I expected for a resort. A cheap hotel maybe but not for a resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Resort is very nice with a good atmosphere & nice scenery. My room location was awesome, kind of hidden and tucked away up on a hillside with a outdoor patio, very cool room and very clean, Room 447 I believe. The only problem though was that the walls must be super thin. No sound proofing. I believe there was a family of four next to my room, a couple with two small kids. The mother was constantly yelling at her children early in the morning. Probably around 7am. The yelling woke me up and I couldn't fall back to sleep. It was absolutely horrible. Poor kids were constantly crying and the mother was constantly yelling. The last thing I want to hear when I'm at a nice resort is being woken up at 7am by crying children with a impatient mother. All I wanted to do was sleep in to about 9:30-10am. Is that asking for a lot? I don't think so when I'm paying $160 a night. Other than that the resort was very nice with a nice staff and a good solid breakfast menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Rebuild the resort
Location: Location was out in nowhere. We used the spot to stay for a family wedding in Fallbrook.
The resort needs an updating to say the least. The golf course and grounds may be nice but I did not play golf so I wouldn't know. Very steep hill going to our room. I needed I ride going back to the room from the hotel and lobbey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa, Ca

Very nice Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very beautiful "grounds", hotel has a lot to offer, very well maintained. Hotel staff were super friendly and welcoming. Cocktail lounge had live entertainment. Very much enjoyed our stay! Only semi-negative comment I will say is the rooms are outdated. Old tube televisions and room decor is outdated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Not As Good As It Used to Be.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location was the reason we chose Pala Mesa Resort.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. Not a pleasant feeling when you first walk in.
Location: The Resort is centrally located to golf courses, wineries and casinos.
Two night stay with a golf course view. Patio furniture was dirty, shower was clean, but looked dirty, hotel charges five dollars a bottle if you decide to drink it and the carpet is so worn, they may as well remove it. Neither room key worked upon entrance on the second day. Very disappointed on the quality of the room. Not how I remembered it on two previous visits.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Are thanksgiving retreat

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was very quiet, sitting on the balcony. It was awesome. Watching the golfers, with the wife and a glass of wine. The walking trails were all so clean and are pets loved it as well. I left my cell phone at home so to give the wife my undivided attention, but the one time I needed to take pictures " Darn " it was an awesome get away you won't be disappointed, its not the high it regency but very very close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and Tired

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Very outdated. Wallpaper peeling, tile chipping, pillows flat, TV buzzes. Glad to hear they are renovating the rooms next year. Can't come soon enough.