Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Lovely setting - restaurant service and food was good.
Cons: See comments above.
Location: Close by to wineries which we visited and also made a stop at the Pechanga Casino.
The tub shower had no bars to assist getting in to shower and the bath mat was so thin it slipped while getting out and I caught myself from falling. The faucet was awkward to get the button pulled out to start shower. Otherwise the room was lovely and enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the golf course. Would recommend Pala Mesa to friends. The bars are especially needed for seniors - which we are.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Room smelled musty from old A/C unit. Walls are thin, hear everything from your neighbors. No parking.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Beautiful place, comfy & cozy.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Everything was amazing! Staff, the restaurant, our waitress, beautiful, serene facility, cleanliness, spacious room, everything was perfect!! Only the parking was bad. We came in late after a concert at Pala & had to park far away.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, CA.

Nice place to stay for a restful vacation.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Unfortunately we picked the hottest days of the year to get away but room air conditioner worked great! We also had our dog. Very dog friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Horrible, the room is not what I book duty shower,

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Really bad room for the price, duty shower not working carpet duty bathroom duty and tower carpet really bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2015 by Christina, Hotel Management
Hi there! We're so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. Pala Mesa is slated to undergo a renovation in the near future, and we hope you will come back and visit us.
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by William from PS

Pala meeting

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Old dated hotel. Felt like an ALF.
2 out of 5
for Families
by Hiroka

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
The building is too old, but the room price was expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grounds nice. Hotel rooms are in terrible shape.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
My wife and I wore flip flops in the room because the carpets were absolutely filthy. I don't think the rooms have been maintained for 20 years. Broken tiles in the bathroom, disgusting comforter and patio furniture. This hotel is a dump. Too bad because the grounds are pretty scenic.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would give it a 5 until they stole from us.....

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Stephanie was great. Very accommodating. Great customer service skills.
Cons: Cleaning staff should be truthful & not steal from the customers.
Ok - this is how it began. I was SOOOO bummed when we pulled in & realized where we were because of a prior horrible experience at this hotel about 4 years ago. We got called from a time share sales person from Welk Properties (which is a beautiful facility that lures you down there with a "free weekend" BUT they stick you at the Pala Mesa Golf Resort in the most HORRIBLE room you have ever seen - mildew, stained carpets, STINKY room, mold in the delapidated restroom, etc.....). After getting stuck there 4 years ago, I vowed to never return. I accidentally booked a room here, not knowing the name of the previous place Welk Resorts stuck us in. When we checked in to our room & went to our assigned room #435, I had the worst de'ja'vu. We opened the door to the dungeon & were immediately disgusted. I called the front desk & spoke to Stephanie, who was very accommodating & immediately upgraded us free of charge to a BEAUTIFUL room with a small kitchenette overlooking the pool with a patio. VERY NICE!! The room was perfect, clean & smelled great. 5 stars here. The ONLY problem was, we checked out and forgot my husbands VERY expensive cologne in the bathroom, we knew exactly where it was & the description & the cleaning crew lied about finding it & stole it. I think that is very unprofessional. I have stayed at many other hotels over the years & have had even expensive jewelry returned from cleaning staff. This was very poor practice.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Adair

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
The room was large but a bit dated.