Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Not trustworthy

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I made a reservation via Expedia, whom I have used for years. When we arrived at the hotel to check in, they had given our room away and they had none to replace it with. Then they lied to Expedia while I was talking to Expedia about the problem, saying I had arrived after 6pm, which we did not. We were there sometime between 4:30pm and 5:00pm. In the end we were not unhappy not to stay there, the place did not look well kept. Thankfully Expedia was very helpful getting us placed in a nice Motel 6 in Temecula.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jo, we are sorry to read about your experience. This does not usually happen at all, and we assure this was an isolated incident. Please know that we are bringing this to our team's attention to make changes to ensure this does not happen again. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shortage of rooms in this area.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Newer locks on doors.
Way too expensive for this room, needs more rooms in area. We stay for local sporting event, everything was booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, there is lots of demand for the rooms in this area, we do keep our prices competitive for this area. We do aim to provide quality, affordable and safe place for our guests, so we do hope that you will give us another try. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Go to hotel . Nice!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I'm a fabulous loyal customer here at the Hemet Vagabond hotel . Always a great stay at the Vagabond . Hotel and staff are friendly and nice .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
It is always a delight to hear from a returning guest. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine place for a quick overnite stay.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Clean room and nice owners. Close to my appointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your quick visit to our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided a convenient location for your appointment. Please do come and visit us again when you ar in the area! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

I do not recommend

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We chose this hotel because it seemed decent when shopping online, but I wouldn't recommend it nor stay there again, ever. The staff was not pleasant, but that's not too big of a deal to me. The room was pretty disgusting, just overall felt cold and dirty. The blanket on the bed had a hole in it, front and center. The nonsmoking room smelled like smoke. The bathroom needed to be cleaned with bleach. The shower would not fully turn on, so the bathtub filled up with water during the shower. The window in the bathroom was also broken, so opening and closing was possible, but it would not have felt secure if it weren't for the bars on the outside of the window. There were stains in the drawers and I would absolutely not put clothing I cared about in them. When the lights turned off, there were spots all over the wall which must have been from a glow in the dark paint, and it was pretty bright. To top everything off, at about 2am, a man starts swiping his card and trying to open the door and shaking the handle, over and over again, loudly asking to come in (which obviously woke us up). We had to shout through the door that he had the wrong room and he eventually left. It was overall an extremely uncomfortable hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us, your feedback is very important to us. We strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations. It does not sound as though your rooms was at the standard that we generally provide for our guests, and we apologize for that. Rest assured that appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future similar occurrences. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Disgusted

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The room was very outdated and dirty. Dirt on the bedsheets, doors were filthy, no latch on door and my toddler could open it up to get outside. The bathroom had ants, wall paint in the bathtub that was chipping away. I got a non-smoking room, with burn marks on the tub. Don't plan on showering comfortably if you're taller than 5'1" When walking upstairs, I felt as if the walkway was going to fall off of the building, it's not level. The stairs are steep concrete, and unsafe. My "neighbor" was up all night laughing, yelling, and had people in and out of his room as if he were dealing drugs. This is not a hotel you want to stay in if you want to feel safe and/or get a decent night's sleep. Breakfast was mini biscuits and warmed gravy. No fresh fruit or decent options. The "orange juice" was more along the lines of Tampico or Sunny Delight. After the so called breakfast, I was preparing to leave and the staff started to pressure wash the outside of my room door and window. Naturally, I could not open the door or I'd be soaked! This was not only rude and inconsiderate of the hotel guests, but also maybe their way of telling people it's time to leave early. I was very dissatisfied with my stay here and have never slept in a hotel so disgusting. I originally took more pictures to post, but then deleted them being unsure if I'd leave a negative review. There are a few photos I have left on my phone posted here. Pay more money for something nicer if you stay in Hemet, CA!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely thank you for taking time to write to us. We can't tell you how disappointed we are that your stay with us wasn't as comfortable as you had hoped. We value and respect all our guests and we want all our guests to feel welcome, and we believe that your overall stay should be as top notch as our service team. We apologize for all of the short-comings that you have outlined, and we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove, ca

Broken water faucet, dirty room.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: Fixing things.
Location: None.
The price is ok, but the room is dirty with broken faucets. Not a comfortable bed at all. Dirty blankets and too much noise. Nothing special about breakfast. I would not come back here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are disappointed to hear that our facilities and breakfast did not your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to make any improvements we can for the next time you're here. Please do let us know if there is anything else we can do to do make your stay even better. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Most of the other buildings in this area have been torn down or are falling down. This place should be too. The windows and doors were nearly coming apart and the window sil had half an inch of dirt on it. The bath fixtures were moldy and the bath did not drain for half an hour. The shower curtain was so old and threadbare there was no point to it. The towels were all stained and so were the sheets. It looked like most of the other guests were gang members or old men with hired guests. I was terrified to go to my car but it would be broken into. I also did not feel safe to leave my things in my rooom during the day. There were no curtains, so the light came in early. It I hadn't slept with people yelling though the paper thin walls. To be fair the family running it seemed nice and the floors in the room were newer and clean. The fridge and microwave worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible motel.

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was OK. Has refrigerator. Microwave was dirty. Everything else about the room was worn out. The wall had a crack from floor to ceiling. The door had a rag stuffed between the door and the jamb (I am not joking). I have not stayed in such a dive since I was in the Navy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Far below other hotels in Hemet, CA.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Bed and TV were adequate. People were friendly. A/C performed just fine.
Cons: Lighting. Cleanliness. Drain plug for taking a bath. Pests (ants).
Staff friendly enough. Bed was fine, TV was fine. No pool. No hot tub. Dirty shower. No drain plug=no bath. Ants coming from behind the mirror on the wall. Very irritating motion-sensor lights in every room. No ventilation/fan in bathroom.