Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawton, Oklahoma

Amazingly unique and cozy hotel!

Posted Jan 17, 2018
This hotel was awesome! The decor and ambiance of the place was excellent! I will definitely be staying at Moxy whenever possible!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Hip place in good location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Easy walk to ASU Campus, many food choices nearby. Hotel is definitely geared for younger crowd with arcade games and laid-back common areas. No coffee service, fridge, or microwave in room. For the money, those amenities should be provided. However, parking was easy and free, the pool looked lovely (too cold to use it) and if you’re into guitar, one is provided in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mundelein, IL

Convenient location at ASU

Posted Jan 11, 2018
I was visiting my son at ASU and this location is very close to his residence and all of the campus. Love the feel of this place. Very clean. Nice pool area. This w as my second stay here and the staff was very helpful; when the hot water was not working in shower the maintenance man came immediately and solved.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Locked bike was stolen right from my truck.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Cons: Security
Location: Crime area. Avoid this hotel.
I checked in at 3PM and marked 6 spots from the front door. 2 hours later my bike was gone. The front deck clerk was sympathetic and refunded my stay. HOWEVER the manager will not and has not called me despite an email to him via the front desk. The hotel is NOT in a good neighborhood. Just go drive behind it. I stayed here because I like the Moxy brand but knowing what I know now I would not stay here. There also are NO security cameras in the front of the hotel. The thieves as you can see from the photo left me a junk bike. That bike was gone the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Hotel for Millennials

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Very cool concept of doing hotels, I think the owners (Marriott) can push even further by adding slur to the stay and not making the lobby games require coins, and on more free perks. Very clean, up scale looking, and overall impressive. However, doesn’t go far enough in changing the hotel industry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun concept, convenient to campus. THAT'S ALL

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Arrived approximately 1a, after long day of travel. Staff was pleasant at check-in. once in room found no bedding for sleeper sofa, called desk was told I would have to go to ironing room to"get it". Mattress was flimsy and uncomfortable on sleeper. Early morning discovered clipped toe nails all over bathroom floor. Went to front desk to speak with manager, told manger was out for weekend- I could speak to on site lead. The lead was very apologetic and comped one night stay and discounted the other nights (with the promise of immediate deep cleaning upon my leaving the room for t he day). I felt this was fair. left the room came back 2 hrs later, not cleaned,. Called lead told her I was leaving room again please have it cleaned, she promised it would be done. Back 2 hrs after that.. NOT CLEANED! Back to front desk furious. She attempted to move me to a different room or another hotel. I was exhausted and wanted a shower, did Not want to pack up my items to make a move anywhere. Gave me a room for a shower while housekeeping was to come clean my room (which they did come, however as soon as they left I checked the floor.. Guess what.. TOE NAILS!!! fortunately a lead housekeeping person came in to see if I was happy, she was able to see my issues and she cleaned the floor. I was only here for 3 nights, so did not want to be this horribly inconvenienced. this was a miserable trip. The price of $260 per night is outrageous for this property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hip/Trendy but beware of smells

Posted Nov 4, 2017
I’ll hand it to the Marriott for creating a brand to appeal to the younger demographic. Almost had a hostel feel. I stayed in something kind of similar in L.A. but at least our room and hotel were clean and smelled fine. The lobby of this hotel is the only part that smelled “normal”. Or at least neutral. The elevator smelled dank (and there’s only one). The hallway had random litter even though I had seen housekeeping cleaning and smelled stale. It’s like there isn’t very good air circulation/ventilation throughout the hotel except for the lobby. But my room. Lord. Reeked of urine. Strangely, the bathroom didn’t smell. Only the bedroom area. I only stayed for one night so I didn’t ask to change rooms. (Though maybe I should have brought some Febreeze). I get it. Staff is young. And it’s most likely not a priority to spend the finances to focus on areas like ensuring your facility smells decent. I come from 4 years of high end luxury brand hotel experience so I’m pretty critical.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Funky interesting decor

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Decor, video system, welcome drink, close to restaurants
Cons: Clean the hallway carpets
Location: Near Tempe ASU.
Hotel has some cool features and I applaud their decor. My issue was with the carpet throughout the hallways which was stained in many places. Looks like it needs to be replaced. This makes the hotel seem dirty even though it is not. Great TV/video system for streaming from your device.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

trendy

Posted Oct 17, 2017
love the moxy,very close to asu easy walkability.great lobby, friendly staff.inside and outside great place to hang
4 out of 5
by Frederick

Very interesting hotel, nice surprise

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very interesting hotel. Check-in is at the bar. Room had guitar and bean-bag chair. Spacious room. Main complaint was some noisiness (1st floor). Conveniently located near ASU Tempe and some nearby restaurants and shops.