Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel quite 'out of the way' but was ok for us.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: It was mostly quiet, and quite friendly .
Location: Not a very good location, not near enough to the town to be able to walk, and there was nothing to do nearby, you have to drive everywhere.
We had booked a superior room, which was clean but not that big. We were in an annex with a terrace, which faced over the disused tennis courts. the was also a brick building we think was something to do with the sewer, as there was a terrible drain smell when we wanted to sit and enjoy an evening drink before dinner. Toward the end of our stay, there were a lot of builders lorries going past our room, to the disused area, and they were quite noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Good hotel away from the busy coast/resorts

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, quietness.
Cons: The shower cubicle was small in what was a large bathroom. Maybe more information could be provided about the local area, restaurants etc.
Very pleasant stay, the rooms are basic but comfortable with A/C. Hotel staff are very helpful and cheerful. The other facilities are good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely hotel with friendly welcome

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Very enjoyable stay, swimming pool was excellent, staff very friendly, and hotel was very relaxing. Good base to enjoy northern sardinia. Restaurant was excellent, very fresh food. Free breakfast was a nice inclusion. Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One-night transit

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this property on our way from Alghero to Porto Pollo. It is a simple hotel with very friendly personnel at the restaurant. The food was definitely the highlight of the hotel. The pool looked nice but we didnt have the time to use it unfortunately. The room was a bit small and the hotel is definitely a bit outdated. In peak season it present decent value though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

In the Middle of Mountains

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The staff were excellent but we felt we were misled by reviews about this hotel. Over 1 hours drive from the nearest beach. To travel to anywhere you had to negotiate twisting mountain roads. Breakfast boring but the evening meals were generally ok. Good job, because we only found 1 eating establishment in Tempio Pausania that was open in the evening. Our holiday, not just the hotel, left a lot to be desired.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from St Helens

Long walk or drive into town

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Be prepared for a long walk in to town if you don't have a car. Hotel is clean but looks a little dated. As stated by others breakfast is a little repetitive. On the plus side the hotel has a nice pool and great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, England

Lovely hotel to stay!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!! The staff were always so helpful, the rooms were made up every day and cleaned, food was excellent (we ate there every other day)
Cons: Nothing!
Location: As mentioned, the Pausania Inn is away from the main tourist spots, so you do need a car, but this is what we wanted. The main town was lovely!
This hotel is excellent! All staff were brilliant, hotel was exceptionally clean, lovely pool (looked exactly the same as the photos!). Food in the restaurant was lovely and good value (a massive bowl of pasta was only 7 Euros) and a 1/2 litre of wine was 5 Euros. The local town was Tempio Pausania which was 1km away. We always drove into town because part of the way didn't have a pavement. The town itself was lovely, especially the main square which had a great atmosphere in the evening. Several cathedrals/churches to look around and plenty of cafes. The Pausania Inn is away from the main tourist areas, which is what we wanted, so you do need a hire car. We took day trips around the top of the island and we weren't disappointed in one place. All very natural: we saw a 4000 year old olive tree, swam in hot springs, and what would have been a spectacular waterfall (we just saw it at the wrong time of year)...still gorgeous though! We will most definitely return to the Pausania Inn!! :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Rustic but great

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We had a wonderful week here, the room and hotel were spotless (slightly odd decor). The staff although non English speaking were hardworking and very friendly. Restaurant food was lovely and breakfast was a great bonus with good variety although is like to have seen more fresh fruit. You would need a car as it's out in the sticks but was a lovely place with views over the mountains, I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J and C from England

peaceful mountain retreat

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: As above
Location: As above. Great base for touring in the north half of the island, which we did.
Great location up in the cork oak mountains, yet close enough to attractive large town for a 20 min walk to restaurants etc in eve (take a torch as first part of road has no pavement and unlit). Hotel staff smashing, helpful, friendly. Good inexpensive restaurant in hotel if you don't want to go to town. Good value wine list and house wine by the litre. Rooms large & clean with good views (panoramic views from breakfast room!). Stayed here for a week and loved it.
3 out of 5
by mar from UK

We expected more for our money

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: pool, staff
Cons: food, beds
I have stayed in this hotel with my husband and my 2 year old. First thing I encounter was that our room only had 1 bed (2 twin beds pushed together) they call it Queen bed. Since the booking was for 3 people, I expected to find also one more bed or sofa bed as you find in other cheaper hotels like IBIS. After talking to the staff, next morning we found a cot in the room with a mattress that was too big for it. We were explained that we would have to pay for the cot at 10 extra euros/night. As we did not want to pay extra euros we ended up sleeping together in the twin beds. We found the mattresses extremely uncomfortable. We were not impressed with the breakfast either. First thing, we are vegans and there was hardly anything suitable for us (no soy milk, no margarine, no plain pastries). The coffee and hot water were in a thermos and only lukewarm, we saw a few people requesting a fresh coffee from the cooffe machine. The tea bags are the cheap brand from the local LIDL. On the positive side the pool was very nice, all the members of staff were lovely. We loved all the beaches we visited, the closest one about 30 minutes drive. In resume, we loved the island and its people but were not that impressed by the Hotel, perhaps we have been spoiled by the budget hotels IBIS and B&B where we have been staying when travelling through France with their comfy big beds, extra beds, fresh bread and coffee, soy milk, etc and so we were expecting more for a more expensive hotel.