Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good resort

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Well located for us, a good walk from restaurants etc. Breakfast extensive!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire UK

Lovely hotel with amazing staff!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Really pleased with our experience at this hotel which is situated towards the less rowdy area at the back of Playa de las Americas but still within a 6/7 minute walk to the beach. Although it is alongside a main road - we asked for a quiet room and were given one on the 8th floor with amazing views over the pool and out to sea. Staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is kept immaculately clean. Food is good overall with plenty of choices. Dinner on Christmas day was amazing - they really pulled out all the stops! This was our first Christmas away from home and we were made so welcome that we'll always have very happy memories of our stay here. Only negative point is that our room didn't have tea/coffee making services although I'm sure if we'd have thought to ask for it, it would have been supplied. More expensive rooms may have this service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Not to big and very comfortable
Cons: Would have been good if food/ snacks were available all day
Location: Near enough for beach and bars
First time at this hotel would definitely recommend to friends, room was cleaned every day, everything you could ask for at breakfast, only a 5 minute walk to the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely staff lovely pool.beautiful and clean

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: pool,cleanliness,staff.the entertainment was great fun even though a bit cheesy I lapped it up.
Location: you are about a 10 min walk to the beach but go to monkey beach as it is nicer.
Clean bright friendly and nice pool area.Great breakfast for 6euros.Buffet style and us Brits were running up and down so fast to fill our greedy bellies its a wonder they don't install speed ramps. Will definetly return. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Value for money

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Value for money, good food, friendly staff who didn't always speak English well. A lot of English-speaking channels on tv, AC, nice sea view.
Cons: The room has only 1 plug which is also hidden inside a cupboard. Tricky if you want to charge 2 phones at the same time. They should add more plugs.
Location: 5-10 minute walk from the beach, close to Siam Park (a 15 minute walk, it's the best water park ever), las Americas is not a large resort anyway.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the beach, but it has its own pool. Overall, it offers value for money, as it is not expensive. We had gone for half board (breakfast and dinner included) and the food was quite tasty with a lot of different options. However, the dining room can get quite hot and staff are not always willing to open windows to let fresh air in. A lot of British tourists stay here, not always the most refined type and some of them can be quite rowdy, especially around the pool area. It's a 15 minute taxi drive from Tenerife Sur airport (it costs around 26 euros), so it's well connected. My main gripe about the room is the fact that there is only 1 plug to charge your phone and indeed hidden inside a cupboard. They should definitely add more plugs, especially next to beds. Other than that, the room offered all amenities you'd expect: TV with English, French, German, Italian and Spanish channels, A/C, complimentary toiletries and towels, etc. Our room overlooked the sea (which is a 10 minute walk), but others overlook the pool or the main road. The hotel staff was quite friendly, but some of them didn't speak English well at all. The sunbeds in the pool area can get occupied from the morning, so sometimes it can be tricky to find a spare sunbed. Playa de las Americas is not a very large resort anyway, so everything is within a 15 minute walking distance. The coach station is also close, maybe a 10 minute walk. The beaches are not bad, but the water is cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

good food, location for beach nightlife and shops

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: the welcome and service I received, the food, the people and the location.
Cons: The evening entertainment possibly but with so many nationalities using it I suppose its hard to try and please everyone.
Location: with just a short 15 min walk I was at the Vista beach which is a great location, the local church is only 5 mins away siam park also very local.
I returned to oro negro as it is such a nice hotel with good food, cleanliness and great location for all you need, it did not let me down, the staff were wonderful and even though solo this time they treated me very kindly and I did not feel out of place. I have recommended it to my family and friends as a place to go to when in Tenerife and will no doubt return myself in future. I came for a quiet time of reflection and I had that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the live area - but not for young people

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Nice size of the rooms - at least the one we had
Cons: TV service, WiFi service and staff politiness
Location: Very close to central area but too many strip clubs around not suggested for young families.
It is a decent looking hotel facility, but the average age is very high, I wouldn't suggest to any young guys. The room had problems with TV and no one was able to sort them out so in the evening nothing at all then watching the walls before going to sleep. We have been offered with late check out and lunch as compensation so nice gesture but I don't think was enough and we didn't use the lunch. For those interested well located in the main street with prostitutes and strip clubs (not that I used them but def. not suggested for kids)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr

My birthday Break

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
I booked this hotel for my 77th birthday and was really pleased with everything. The food could not be faulted. On my birthday one of the hotel staff came to my door with a bottle of champagne and a birthday card. It was a lovely surprise.I would book this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Very good hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Lovely hotel, staff very helpful and cheery, room could have been better, small and dark with not much of a view, apart from that it was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and area

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Quiet area but within a short 10 minute walk to beach and all bars and restaurant, very clean, room would get cleaned every day and towels changed