Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Robert from Croydon

Peaceful location

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
The room and the communal areas were clean and fresh. The service at reception was quick, and the staff were effective and courteous. The breakfast was plentiful and the variety of food on offer was good. The lounges were well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The grounds were well looked after and pleasant. The hotel is situated a five-ten minute walk from the centre, mostly down steps through pleasant gardens. This makes it quiet, with good views. It would, however, not suit people with mobility problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxed hotel in a relaxed town.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: There was a lot on offer, but unfortunately we lacked the time to experience it all. Oh, and there's a really friendly ginger cat in the mini-golf.
Cons: Many reviewers stated the lack of WiFi: it was extremely slow in reception and nonexistent throughout the rest of the hotel (bring a book!).
Location: At the top of a beautiful, but VERY steep hillside garden; lots to do in the hotel, and the town center was just a 5-10 minute walk away.
Very pleasant, relaxed but short stay. The hotel (and really the whole town) seem to be stuck in the 1960's, and there were many elderly people there; it would be difficult to get bored in the town but if that happens then there is enough to see and do throughout the rest of the island, and all only about an hour or so away. Already wishing I was back there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Not suitable for guests with limited mobility

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: The lifts! And parking space for disabled guests.
Location: Fairly central
The lifts (the size of a shower cubicle) stop at a different level each time. After I had injured my back falling out of a lift, the Management (totally absent weekend and Fiesta day) declined to pay for my doctor, nurse visits and hired buggy, even though I asked for no compensation for the prospect of 4-6 weeks of pain. The overcrowded car park has no designated Disabled parking space. That apart, it's a pleasant hotel with a lovely garden and pool, overlooking parkland. For the price paid, the buffet is good. Watch your step in the lift!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cirmingham

WORSE HOLIDAY

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The surround grounds was beautiful and the view from the balcony was awesome
Cons: This hotel would benefit from a wider range of meal and diverse selection each night rather than having the same meal,
Location: The location is a bit hidden from the public making it every difficult to fine
My stay at the Elegant Miramar Hotel was an exhausting endurance test of human effort. Base om the information online which states that this is an all inclusive resort but the managerial team fail to clarified that this only included bed and the food. Which i must say its the worse ever.., the entire experience takes me back to Boarding School, the meals remain the same throughout my stay. The advert promise a free bus ride to the town center which never happen, the room smells,there is no kettles at this facilitate, the Jacuzzi and sauna was broken throughout we didn't get to use it the pool was extremely cold, the TV broken and all the challenge are in Spanish, the dinning area flooded during my stay which made it impossible for guest to use that area properly , the bar closes at 11 pm.
4 out of 5
by Luci from London

old fashioned but clean

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is bit old fashioned but very clean. Food very good with plenty of selection to please everyone. Fresh fruit and veg every day. It's a bit of a walk from the beach and the shops (over 200 steps) but it's only 10 min walk. There's a bus that runs quite often if you feel lazy to walk. It's worth renting a car for a day, you can see half the island
1 out of 5
by Jenny from England, UK

Surly staff and dire food. Give this one a miss

Posted Feb 10, 2013
Pros: Our room was clean and big with a balcony with views of the sea and Mount Teide. The shower was reasonably powerful with plenty of hot water.
Cons: Surly staff
Location: It is a pleasant 10min walk down 250 steps into town. I didn't like the harassment from street sellers and guys with live parrots promoting LoroParque
We choose this hotel as it says it has a car park. The car park is TINY with only 10 spaces that are difficult to fit into. The spaces are not marked and it seems that people just park as best as they can. We arrived to find the car park full but did manage to get a space on the other days. At no point did reception ask for our car details so we assume that anyone can park there. Checking In took an age. Reception took a long time to find a record of our booking and then insisted on keeping our passports for two hours. We found all the staff to be surly and unresponsive. They take no pride in running a hotel and never smile. Drinks at dinner were almost thrown at us. The food was dire. We were not expecting amazing cooking but they couldn't even get breakfast right. The tea and coffee was unpalatable. The cooked breakfast items looked unrecognisable. I tried the Cornflakes but these were stale. The croissants were the safest bet but these were burnt on one morning. The juice was watered down to such an extent that it tasted worst than cheap squash. We tried dinner once. The food was only just warm. The dining area is reasonable but the staff seem to go out of their way to make dining an unpleasant experience. We had a fantastic time in Tenerife but I wouldn't recommend Hotel Miramar. Puerto de la Cruz was our final stop and I wouldn't recommend it either. My favourite places were Masca, Anaga Mountains, Los Gigantes and Mount Teide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive Base

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Situation
We were very pleased with our stay and it was an excellent place to be for peace and quiet. The hotel is rather faded but very spacious. We enjoyed the walk through the gardens down to the seafront even though there were lots of steps. There was also a pathway to walk down more gently. We were so glad not to be in town itself. Breakfast was fine, nothing about the place very fancy, but more than adequate. There is now access to wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good quality for the price.

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: The view from the room
Cons: No wifi in the rooms
Location: Puerto de la Cruz is a really nice town. You don't have to miss Loro Parque. You are an hour away by car from the higghest Spanish mountain
Really good quality for the price. There is a free minigolf and ping pong. But the TV and the safe are extra. There is a free bus driving from the hotel directly to the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, England

Hotel on a hill

Posted Mar 11, 2012 on Hotels
The map location is deceptive not showing the hotel is half way up a steep hill. However, the setting is very pleasant surrounded by lovely gardens and because of its high position, as the hotel name suggests, has beautiful views. The hotel itself afforded good clean accommodation. The staff at reception helpful and professional but not particularly friendly. A smile doesn't cost anything and goes a long way to making the customer feel welcome. The breakfast and evening meal were buffet and had a good selection of well cooked food. Could have done with a bigger selection of vegetables but the fresh salad selection more than made up for this. The clientel appeared to be 90% over 60s. This could just be due to the time of year. Discovered that a number of guests (retired) seemed to be on a multi-week arrangement for the Winter months. Hence the entertainment was older ballroom type dance tunes. Use of the computer on a coin operated basis but more expensive that I have experienced in other hotels on the island. The swimming pool was very nice and well maintained, as were the crazy golf, tennis courts etc. Would think twice about going back again as have stayed in other hotels in the town in better locations and better value for money. However, would not discount staying there again if prefered hotels were fully booked.
3 out of 5
by Frankie from London, UK

Miramar-Feb 2012

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: Very peaceful - beautiful gardens nearby
Cons: distance from town centre and beach - hotel is high up on a hill and offers a shuttle bus to the shops; otherwise, need to walk down many steps!
Location: In Puerto de la Cruz, near the Casino, high up on a hill with lovely views
The hotel is situated in the Taoro parque area, which is very quiet, with little traffic and surrounded with tropical vegetation, near a large park. There are luxury four-star hotels nearby. The standard of rooms at the Miramar varies widely, from superb to very basic; it is essential to arrive early enough in the day in order to avoid getting the worst rooms. The evening meal, consisting entirely of a hot and cold buffet offers limited choice. There is a choice of hot and cold breakfast and fresh fruit, but again choice is limited. However, several guests seem to returning year after year, probably due to the very reasonable prices.