Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Change of ownership has ruined a lovely complex

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: We used to love the location, service and apartments
Cons: Staff! they should never embarrass people. No on site entertainment this time either.
Location: Nothing to do locally which was never a problem until this stay
I've stayed here several times in the past and It has been great however it has recently changed ownership and although I had planned to go back in October I definitely won't be! The restaurant on site is no longer owned by the hotel and we ha to go to the complex next door for food and drink or pay cash to the on site restaurant. They were obviously struggling to keep in business and the standard was poor. On every other trip we have had a 'welcome pack' of tea, coffee etc. No welcome pack so I went to reception and asked where it was. The receptionist (Juan) said I was mistaken and that they did not give out welcome packs. He even shouted to the other guests who were there 'you didn't get a welcome pack did you?' Very embarrassing! I also complained that the bathroom was very dusty. He said he would send someone to look at it. He didn't. The final straw was at 9 am one morning when I was sitting on our first floor balcony when a man on a cherry picker appeared over the balcony and said they were going to paint it. This meant we had no access to the balcony all day and had to leave the door shut. They also have rules and fines that never existed before. For instance they hire beach towels for 2 euros each. They were awful, stained and threadbare. All in all an absolute nightmare. MGM should be ashamed of themselves. They have lost my family and friends repeat bookings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Been here before

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Nearness to the airport
Location: Nice restaurants, especially La Marina
We only stayed one night so just had a studio. Nice sized room but could take a king size bed and the mattress was not good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal park Albatross

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Characterful
Cons: One has to accept the limits of the site
Location: Too near the flight path of the airport but; soon get used to it Near the little port and a very attractive coastal path. Plenty of food outlets. Golf
Older resort, well looked after. Not good for guests with disabilities, many stairs. Good sunny room; fortunately in upper part of resort. Well equipped for the self caterer. No catering on site; nice bar by the pool; as we were leaving being taken over and food beginning to be supplied. Guests on full/half board had to walk 100 meters or so to the sister resort to a self service restaurant but; we dined there on one occasion and it was good. Excellent and very helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Internet advert did not reveal lack of facilities

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Close down or change internet advert so it's factual and informs people of what to expect
Location: Golf
I'm 75 years old ,get there ,told no restaurant facilities ,required to walk 300 yards to another hotel for food ,no internet facilities except in reception and poor ,pool 50 +steps up and down to pool ,a joke,reception no knowledge of bar facilities at poolside as just taken over by another company,so did not visit pool, room meant to have sea view instead tree and guests passing my patio who could look right in ,my apartment door locking system failed,security had to break in through bedroom window to gain access
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated, but clean enough

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Only stayed 1 night.... but have stayed here before. The accommodation room 165a was spacious and clean, however the balcony was horrible and all furniture was very old and could do with a major update. Saying that ,the bed was comfortable , but for £60 for 1 night thought it was overpriced.
2 out of 5
by John

Would not recommend this hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was a disappointment. They gave us a room immediately adjacent to a room that was beeing renovated. The entrance area to the room was dark. The room was poorly lit- bulb wattage too low. The room was not well cleaned - crumbs on the counter and the like. The matress was very poor - could feel the springs in my ribs. I got the impression there were other nicer rooms, but we didn't get one as we had booked online. The staff were very friendly, but didn't seem that knowledgeable about their job. NO INTERNET IN THE ROOM The restaurant no longer served food - only drinks. Airplanes fly low and almost directly overhead every 10 - 15 minutes all day long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

So many steps

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was ok. Its near a bus stop.
Location: There is no beach , there is a very nice footpath you can walk on the front
If we had been told we had to carry a large suitcase and 3 normal size suitcases plus a buggy and a baby down a load of steps and walk across the pool to climb up another load of steps to the apartment I would not have stayed here. I have never been to a Hotel with so many steps and no lift to get from A to B..NEVER """ again. . The room was O.K when we managed to get our breath back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice hotel....

Posted Feb 3, 2017
2nd stay at hotel,can't complain about our room,it was fine and very clean tho a little dated.Glad to see the hotel is getting refurbished and from what we saw the end result looks really good.However we were on the 3rd floor,lots of steps,so this could be a problem for some people. Staff were friendly,bar shut early,no food availables tho plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Had a fun time here with my son. Pros: peaceful location, mini hotel supermarket, clean well equiped apartment, friendly, helpful staff, lovely pool, easy to and from airport with taxis, close bus stops 415 and 483. Cons: apartment a bit dated, lots of steps to get to apartment block, lift was a bit dodgy, limited hot water, beach not easy to find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but don't go all inclusive!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Hotel was nice with very friendly staff- in fact it is the staff that make this hotel. The hotel its self has a nice pool and rooms are of a nice standard but are not cleaned every day. The restaurant is closed here and only open for drinks during the day. For food you have to go next door to the sister hotel the golf plazza. The food here is ok and its a buffet every night with plastic cups, paper napkins and you have to find your own table. Location of the hotel is perfect as its just by the airport and there is lots to do locally plus Playa de las Américas is not to far. Overall would give this hotel 3 star and probably would not stay here again but if I did would defiantly not go all inclusive so I wouldn't feel as if I would have to eat at that restaurant every night.