Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Great cozy hotel with family with young kids

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Staff and room
Cons: Amenities
Location: There is not much going on but it is a small island and we can just drive around the island easily.
Great experience with family. We had a 1 bedroom, staff is amazing and always here to help! not much activity during low season but we just wanted to rest so we did! Hotel is just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Lovely Complex, great views and swimming pools.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The swimming pools, beautiful views & friendly staff.
Cons: The apartments - in great need of updating their baths in the bathrooms & the showers above so that they work and have hot water, update furniture.
Location: A bit away from it all, need taxi/bus when venturing out of the complex. Beach/shops about 20 minute walk away. Close to airport but didn't bother us.
Very Nice complex with great views, swimming pools and sun bathing space. The heated pool was the smallest which was a shame. The staff were lovely, friendly and would do anything to help. The restaurant (POOL BAR) on site was reasonable and the staff were OK (not as bad as the reviews said) It was a 15 minute walk or taxi for 5 euros to the restaurants in the square which is very commercialised, further across a taxi ride for about 8 Euros there are lots of fish restaurants with sea views but more costly. Supermarket on site was very expensive but lovely donuts ! Apartment 133 - First apartment - the bath had seen better days it was a sauna bath and I wouldn't had bathed in it!! The water was not hot enough either and the shower. The other shower in the smaller shower room was hot and worked good. It was a nice size apartment with a good sunny outdoor space and BBQ, the furniture was very dated. My son pick up the hair dryer after having a shower and it caught on fire, flames and smoke stank the apartment out and scared us all, however the staff were very quick on addressing the situation but I had to ask to be moved to another apartment (due to the smell of the smoke and our kids being scared) which they were very happy to assist us with. We were moved to apartment 47 which actually was a bit nicer having a universal plug and ipod docking stations and smelling cleaner with a nicer sofa and lovely views. The kitchens were well equipped but on the small side. Bath dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Staff unhelpful

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Arrived at dusk and were shown our room on a map. We were refused any help with baggage had to go up and down frequent flights of stairs to get to room. Next morning discovered trolleys were available and a slightly longer route without stairs. Pointed this out to staff but received little sympathy. No food available til 10 am next morning. Airplane noise. This was a very rough Diamond.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen via Los Angeles

Dated hotel with little to offer but price.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
I'm really surprised by all of the high ratings of this hotel. Frankly speaking, it must simply have to do with expectations. First the positives. We had a great family vacation over Christmas. Tenerife is a very nice weathered getaway location with lots to offer. Shopping is ample both from a tourist and brand seeking perspective. There is are two markets in site. One is very reasonably stocked and very friendly. Security guy is very friendly. Counter staff generally friendly and able to call a taxi quickly. Now the opportunities to improve and live up to the grand name. This is an apartment complex with very limited amenities. A timeshare club with members and non-members. Apartments are decent in design, the bit furtinure is extremely dated. As a result is dirty and worn. As non-members housing keeping shows up only every third day. The rooms are simply dirty. Black bottomed white sock kind of dirty. As non-members you pay additional for everything. Parking, gym access, computer usage, wifi (which is terrible). There are two restaurants. Depending upon what you read, Inti the pool bar either opens at 9, 9:30, or 10. If you want to to eat dinner you must book early and this includes simply coming in for a nightcap. If you want to order from the Peruvian menu, you must do so a day in advance. The other Cafe Med, well who knows as they shut down for two weeks over the Christmas and New Years Holiday. Consierge. If they are there, they are helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay. We are pleased that you did have a good vacation with us and you liked the location of our resort. We are therefore disappointed that you were left unhappy with the facilities offered at our resort and we are very surprised that you found the accommodation hadn't been cleaned to a high standard. We pride ourselves on excellent accommodation and service and we are therefore disappointed to read your comments. We will certainly bring this to the attention of the housekeeping team. We are pleased that you did enjoy some of your experience and we do wish you all the best on your future travels. Cristina Gonzalez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel for golfers

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Nice sized rooms, but as I went with my father I had to sleep on sofa bed. Maybe twin beds should be available. Room was very clean and the staff came in almost every day, only down side was a very bad sewer smell in bathrooms, had to leave Windows open and buy bleach. Even the drain in the Jacuzzi had stale sewer smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buckingham

Fantastic stay at the Royal Tenerife Country Club!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: 5 - 10 mins away from the airport, so planes overhead most of the day, main beaches a 10 - 15 min car journey away.
We stayed in a 'sleeps 4' apartment, which is effectively a king size bed and a sofa bed in the lounge. I went with my 3 young children and this suited us well. The apartments are really clean but in some areas could do with updating like the bathroom suites and kitchen. Having said that they are really functional, good storage and fully equipped with everything you need in a self catering apartment - a few of those pesky little ants that you get in most hot resorts so all food, even cereal has to be kept in the fridge!! Bedding super clean and towels provided. There are 3 pools with sun loungers everywhere, and really you could stay at the resort all day. They have a jam packed activity programme most days and the entertainment lady that runs it all is fantastic, especially with the kids. It is all included in the price! A combination of young and old at the resort but not over run with groups of teenagers and really family friendly, the staff are all very welcoming. I was on my own with 3 young children and felt very safe, the boys enjoyed a daily trip to the on site shop to pick up the morning bread and croissants without Mummy. There are a couple of shops on site for all your needs and you can. This is our second year at the same resort and we will definitely be going back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

12th time here

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Wasn't aware that the only heated pool was out if service. Feel that I should have been. So no swimming for us. Can't abide cold swimming pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed yet another stay with us and we hope to see you again sooner rather than later. Cristina Gonzalez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice all round accomadation

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Peaceful and relaxing
Cons: Parking
Location: Resort is in the middle of golf coarse so nice and peaceful with lovely views, can walk to restaurants but cafe Med serves excellent food.
Second stay this year, found the resort clean, relaxing, good size accomadation and hassle free. Only minus only a few parking spaces which do need to be reserved before arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Diamond , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do appreciate your returned custom! We really do hope that you consider staying with us again, Cristina Gonzalez Resort Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely for peace and quiet

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Position, staff, on site facilities
Cons: More modern fixtures and fittings, removing all ceiling fans, sorting problem of the noise coming through the floor of the apartment
After hours of long extended working hours and working weekends, felt we needed to recharge batteries and go somewhere quiet where we could relax and unwind. It is a lovely resort, with everything going for it, Café Med is brilliant, with exceptional food and amazing owners Natalie and Lazelo. Did try pool bar, really good priced meals but we preferred personal touch of Cafe Med. Though need a car. Our apartment was a bit tired in furniture and fittings, though resort going through refurbishment but every thing you needed and nice views. Big however, on the second night of our stay, there was a noise, that got worse through the night but disappeared during the day. The staff were brilliant and tried to solve the issue. but even at the end of our stay, they had not solved it. Of a six night stay , We had four nights we could not sleep, even after resorting to the sofa bed in the lounge as the noise could be heard/felt through the floor here and the kitchen. So for this reason, a break of relaxation was not achieved due to lack of sleep, so very, very disappointed. Staff said it could be ceiling fan of apartment below - and asked residents not to use it. But it still continued, but noise throughout, so we do not think it was the ceiling.Staff came and looked everyday, but never solved it. Not a great apartment to be in at all.! This said, if it had not been for this, I am sure we would have enjoyed it more, as the resort itself and staff are lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Diamond , Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your stay with us. We are pleased that you liked our resort in general and appreciated the location that we have. It is lovely to hear of your experience at Café Med and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We are sorry that you felt your apartment was in need of an update- It is our intention to do our very best to increase the standards of the property; to improve guest services, to exceed guests’ expectations, and delivering excellent standard of accommodation is naturally a part of this process. Please be assured that our on-going refurbishment will certainly address the issues mentioned. We are also sorry that you experienced a disturbance in your apartment and we apologise for the inconvenience that this caused. We do hope that the issues you experienced would not deter you from visiting us again, we would love to welcome you back to our resort soon. Cristina Gonzalez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Herts.

Lovely accommodation but.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Excellent apartment.
Location: Other than golf courses, l am not sure the area has much going on within walking distance.
Shame that the timing of our short stay coincided with the pool being repaired and hence out of commission and also one of the restaurants was closed. A bit put off also by a request from reception when checking in for a cash deposit of 100 euros , just for a one night stay? That having been said, the apartment we had was beautiful, recently refurbished and of the highest standard. We were not there long enough to experience sufficient of the other facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the accommodation as you found it to be serviced to a high standard. We aim to ensure the facilities offer a home from home experience so our guests have everything they need at hand. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again, we look forward to welcome you back as guests. Cristina Gonzalez Resort Manager