Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: nothing, was fantastic.
Location: local beach a short walk away but note it has to be accessed via stairs or a cable lift. small villages taxi drive away.
The hotel was fantastic as were the staff. The focused client service was exceptional and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home. They always knew our name and on our last night hand wrote a card for us in the restaurant we ate in on 3 occasions. The food at the 3 restaurants was outstanding as was the daily breakfast buffet. Can't recommend this hotel enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the spa amazing and the staff were the best I have ever experience! Such a wonderful experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Not the real Ritz Carlton experience

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Ritz Carlton Abama is a nice hotel and we would recommend it for a long weekend to European travellers who want some sun. That said, although the hotel and the resort are stunning, the Abama is far from the typical five-star Ritz experience: the food aside from MB (the Michelin-stared restaurant in the hotel) and the drinks weren't great despite prices being on the high end (30 Euros for two small mojitos in plastic glasses for example); our room was clean but there were ants everywhere and the linens/pillows surprisingly had a bad smell all week; the service was ok but certainly not 5 star (more at the level of 4 star hotels in Cuba or Dominican Republic); the beach is quite far from the main building and you need to catch a train to get there and get back; and more generally the hotel was a bit dull with no ambiance and not much to do in the evening before and after dinner (the Mirador restaurant was closed for refurbishment and the Cuban bar next to the lobby bar didn't seem to open at all). So much more could be done with this beautiful hotel. A few extra touches are needed to make it a real luxury hotel as a Ritz Carlton should be. We had a good time at Abama nevertheless and would go back for a long weekend but it's clearly not a top notch place. Let's blame it on the timing of our stay - we were told the summer months are a bit off season for Tenerife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Beach is great. Restaurant Mirador is amazing

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Very family friendly. Breakfast great - lots of variety. Also loved the following: Pool. Beach. Beachside restaurant. Mirador.
Cons: Service needs to be faster/better
Location: Siam park only 20 minutes away- great day out
disappointed with service...had to queue for ages to get lobby staff to change a room key that wasn't working just because there weren't enough lobby staff. Had to wait for over an hour for bar food despite being told it should only take 30 minutes. Repeatedly told staff that lift to room area was not working (as did other guests) and this only got fixed on the last day we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Paradise on Earth!

Posted May 10, 2017
Stayed here 5 times now. They treat us both like Royalty and family. Can't wait for stay number 6 now! For us, perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The sixth stay at The Abama

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Recognising a returning customer. Great rooms. Peaceful. Areas for families, areas for Adults Only
Cons: The service at night from restaurants to room / hotel. Also used to bring around pool, complimentary fruit drinks and water spray
Location: The location is wonderful. Isolated, peaceful. No need to go anywhere else.
This is the 6th time I have stayed at The Abama. They recognise me as a returning guest and very kindly upgrade me and my friends. I love the place. Its peaceful, relaxing, provides areas for Adults Only as well as a enormous family area and pool. Breakfast at El Mirador is one of my highlights. My wife says the Spa is excellent and the golf course is stunning. The restaurants provide a variety of different cuisines, all a bit pricey, but you are staying in a %Star resort. One thing I would say is the bill from MB, the 2 Michelin Star restaurant was nearly double what I was paying 5 years ago and a good 30% up on last year. Although the food is stunning, its not varied enough from last time, same tricks and surprises, and I would no longer say to a friend, you have to go. I think it is now just too pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Nice hotel with excellent staff

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, with many facilities. The staff are all excellent and very attentive. The hotel was also good at providing adults only areas.
Cons: There is not much that could be improved with this hotel. It is very well managed, clean and the staff are really excellent and a credit to the hotel.
Location: There is very little to do in the immediate area which means that most guests dine in the hotel.
We generally enjoyed our stay at the Ritz-Carlton in Abama. The hotel is very big and it does take a day or so to get acquainted with all the facilities. We stayed in a villa and required a buggy to get to and from reception. There is a nearby village but very little in the way of good restaurants. This means that you are pretty much required to eat and drink in the hotel which has a variety of restaurants, although they are quite expensive. The first few days were great with excellent service from all the staff. However, half way through our stay there were about 200 guests who arrived for an Indian wedding. The hotel caters for these weddings on a regular basis apparently and the ceremony lasts about 3 days. The reason I mention this is that parts of the hotel were not available to other guests as certain areas were reserved for the wedding party. The standard of service in the hotel also suffered. We feel that guests should we warned when booking that large weddings may be held and that certain amenities at the hotel will be closed and unavailable to them.
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Faultless hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama is an exceptional hotel with many bars and restaurants to choose from. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the service is impeccable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely complex with its own beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Spa, beach, beds, ambiance
Location: Golf tennis swimming beach
This is my family's second stay at the hotel over the Christmas period. The rooms are very comfortable and the quality of the food at all the restaurants are a high standard. Sadly this is let down by a slow service everywhere other than the on site Michelin star restaurant which was fantastic but expensive. Children's facilities at the hotel are first class. As was the lovely spa, beds were super comfortable. ur stay was cut short by a sudden death in the family and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful to us. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels