Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Faded Glory

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Location in the centre of Angra. The garden to the rear of the hotel was very pleasant, as was the cafe on the roof.
Cons: Better seating in the room and some hooks to hang things on! Air-conditioner fan was stuck on the "full" position. The hotel seems to be short-staffed
An excellent hotel overall, but needs some modernising.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by natalie from Houston, TX, USA

excellent location

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: Location. Garden view room. Helpful staff.
Cons: Carpet needed attention. Lumpy pillow.
Location: In the main square. Three minute walk to the water.
Stayed two nights here. Room smaller for American standards, but there was adeqexcellent locationuate space. The bed and bathroom looked extremely clean, but the carpet needed to be vacuumed. Excellent location. A room with the view of the garden was really relaxing and charming. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Adequate hotel in centre of town

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and unfriendly staff
Location: Good, perfect for the centre of town, but be aware that there is no free parking if you have a hire car.
The first impression that I had of this hotel was the front desk staff, who were not friendly, even after having to queue for a while to check in (room not available until 4pm). I was then informed that there was no parking with the hotel and that we would need to park on the street. There was no further information offered about how and best places etc. and hence we drove around for about half an hour looking for a space. There seemed to be no local information available, despite there being a festival on at the time. It seemed to be more geared up for people on package tours. Breakfast was dissapointing, all cheap supermarket own brand produce and despite the fact that it was supposed to start at 7:30, not all items had been put out by 8. Ok room in a central location for a short stay, but was not really that impressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by richard from Stockton, Calif.

Too expensive for what you get!!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2011
This is an older hotel but its located right in the middle of town, actually faces city center square. The location is great and 1 block to the beach. The rooms are small, and crowded. My biggest complaint was it had a 13inch old fashioned tube tv in the room and the remote control does not work. The hotel has comp breakfast but its not worth getting up early for. Basically some fruit, lots of breads, and some sandwich meat and cheese. The hotel front desk staff are very to themselves. Sorta rude and all of them dont seem to want to help you if you dont speak their language. The service at front desk is very slow and i believe they really dont care. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. Just to note, there are a couple bigger hotels down the road and on the beach which offer alot more for the buck. And they give free wifi, the garden hotel charges 5 euros for 30 minutes. And 1 euro just to make 1 phone call from room. The garden does have a nice indoor pool and hot tub. The a/c was broked my whole time there and neither the steam room or sauna worked in my 8 days there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location and fine hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2010
The hotel will not disappoint you. It is the best location in historic downtown Angra. Some of the reviews I read before booking were mixed, but I was very pleased with the overall condition of the hotel and, particularly, with its location. They are still working on the municipal garden on the back of the hotel, but it was not noisy at all. Rooms facing that garden are a plus. Rooms are not big, but they are comfortable. Breakfast is basic (fresh fruit would be a nice addition). Internet charges are too much. Free access is so easy to have these days that the hotel should consider adding that service. The TV sets in the rooms are tiny, but you don't go to the Azores to watch TV! Go out, walk up the Rua Direita to the Marina and enjoy the ocean breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

La habitación era silenciosa e impecable

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Tenía una amputacion de pierna y me facilitaron una habitación adaptada que cumplía mis necesidades
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome

Very nice hotel in the heart of Angre do Heroismo

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Position, view from the camera, view from the rooftop, breakfast
Cons: Furnishing of the rooms, connection to/from the airport
Location: The hotel is the very city center. It provides basic services (room, breakfast, restaurant).
Good quality/price ratio. The hotel is very nice and is in the heart of Angra do Heroismo. Most of the rooms give on a wonderful garden. The breakfast includes a big variety of food and is very tasty, expect for Cappuccino/Coffee that are made with a self-service machine. The view of the city from the rooftop is also remarkable. Good quality/price ratio. The hotel is very nice and is in the heart of Angra do Heroismo. Most of the rooms give on a wonderful garden. The
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Massimo e Luigi from Firenze Italia

ottima ubicazione!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: La tranquillità e l'affaccio sul verde e i fiori del giardino botanico
Cons: WiFi gratuito in camera
Location: Posizione centrale, sulla bella piazza Comunale, dove partono gli autobus per altre località dell'isola. Si raggiunge bene il porto.
Abbiamo conosciuto questo hotel l'anno passato e ora ci siamo tornati: è situato sulla bella piazza centrale di Angra, la camera dà sul giardino botanico gradevole e tranquillo, il personale è gentile e disponibile. Ci si sta bene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Massimo from Firenze, Italia

hotel tradizionale ma con stile

Posted May 11, 2013
Pros: L'affaccio sul giardino
Location: Per me, una località bella e, soprattutto, tranquilla.
L'hotel è situato su una bellissima piazza e la mia camera dava sullo splendido giardino botanico (che viene chiuso al tramonto). Ho trovato un personale gentile e sempre disponibile. La prima colazione, continentale, è stata ricca e soddisfacente. Ho trascorso anche diverse ore a leggere sprofondato nei comodi divani della hall, sempre in ordine. Mi piacerebbe soggiornarci ancora in un prossimo viaggio ad Angra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Positivo

Posted May 28, 2012
L'Hotel è un pò datato ma nel complesso gradevole anche per la sua posizione nella Piazza centrale della Città di Angra.