Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phnom Penh

Beautiful Hotel but food and service is not on par

Posted May 5, 2017
We stayed two nights with our friends and loved the resort even though we had just left another lovely resort on Perhentian Kecil after a 4 night stay there. TJ was luxurious, rooms were great, environment just lovely. The food and the service was however terribly disappointing. We ate at two restaurants there in addition to breakfast and was not satisfied with the quality at all. Drinks by the pool took a long time to order and to get service...seems like a waste of opportunity for the hotel to generate revenue when people could be drinking two drinks instead of 1 in the same time frame. We asked for more Tobasco and Worcheshire Sauce for our Bloody Mary and the response was, "we ran out and you have to wait half an hour until we walk to the other restaurant"! Management really needs to be more hands on. To be honest, we did not see a single manager walking around the three days and two nights we were there. If not for the food and service, I would have given the resort a 4.5. There are no other restaurants near the hotel...so I hope they improve the food and service as it is such a shame considering it is such a beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Most enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: All the above, the spa and the dining area The amazing staff
Cons: My wife took a bath but was only able to have 7.5 cm of hot water before it went cold. No-one else had used the hot water. Everything else perfect.
Location: Lovely location by the sea. My wife loved the beach, the sea and the spa
We thoroughly enjoyed the location, adjacent to the sea, the landscaped gardens, the peace and quiet
5 out of 5
by George

Rooms are incredibly spacious and well appointed.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing setting and location. Atmosphere a bit "precious" eg. the gong being struck to signal your arrival and departure My favourite place to stay in Malaysia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxing hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Staff were generally excellent Accomodation good standard Reasonable Spa, but treatments a tad expensive
Cons: Better airport connections as 75 - 90 minutes from TGG and hotel own transport expensive.
Location: Right on the beach, 10 minutes from town. Not lots to do. Green turtle sanctuary would have been interesting if our visit was at the right time
4 1/2 star hotel in quiet location. Really good hotel for just relaxing and chillin. Time of visit just after really bad weather, so resort still sorting out repairs and maintenance after monsoon season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High standard of service quality

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Service and courtesy by staff was excellent. All employees at the hotel are very helpful and proactive. No complaints whatsoever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PJ

Not toddler friendly

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Quiet location. Private beach.
1. Room deco: toddler can reach vases lining up the wall - 6 breakable vases, despite being glued to the wood base 2. Toilet flooring: slippery for toddler when wet 3. Wifi: requires deposit of MYR 500, uses YES services. Provide dongle that can be carried anywhere. 4. Aircond: felt cooler after 7pm. From checkin at 2.30pm until 7pm, room felt warm despite aircond turned on 5. Room lighting: side table lights do not come with a switch beside the lamp. You have to switch off from the wall plug. 6. Room lighting: no lighting in centre of the room. Dim lighting from a switched on TV 7. Complimentary events: staff went at great length to show where restaurants are within the hotel compound but missed out on the Malay hi tea buffet in seafront on Saturdays, ends at 6pm. We found out from one of the restaurants when enquiring about room service 8. In room dining: no menu for in room dining provided in room information. We were told by reception to call individual restaurants for their menu and request for room service 9. Dining at restaurants: hotel information booklet requests that guests make prior booking for seats at restaurants because seats are limited. This is a first for us because never have we encountered such dining restriction 10. Check in: no priority given to adults with restless toddler. Slow check in. Had to wait for staff to send guests to their rooms before it came to our turn 11. Security guard at entrance: they should be trained to read hotel confirmation doct
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

World class hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 star hotel with excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beach resort hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms - wood throughout. Ours was very large. Good bathroom. Lovely gardens and beach.
Cons: More food section for lunch / dinner.
Location: Nothing to do nearby within walking distance.
Self-contained beach resort with 3 restaurants. Nice grounds and rooms, and right on the beach. Food was OK but limited selection - apart from breakfast which had a good spread. Food / drinks quite expensive because no other options nearby. Hotel taxi service very expensive. Also 'local' taxi service arranged through the hotel was expensive (I guess in agreement with the hotel). No other options nearby so they can charge what they like.
2 out of 5
by MC from DUNGUN

Will not visit again

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Towel and bedsheet are dirty, TV out of service, the operator not familiar with their own restaurant details. We order in room dining, after finished the meal, we called the operator to clear up because we put the dish outside the room.. next morning when i open my door i see the dish still outside my room which covered by the insects.. so disgusting.. the breakfast area cover by alot of flies insects too.. bad experience.. i paid 3500 for two nights end up like this...