Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delaware

Good location. Close to coliseum, Roman forum,

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The hotel is not a four star but closer to 3. I stayed there 7 years ago and it was more comfortable and had a better breakfast buffet and service. It has definitely deteriorated. Have stayed there 4 times. I will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, US

Great Hotel right next to the Train Station

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! Staff were wonderful, and complementary breakfast was good as well.
Cons: I would suggest rooms with actual queen beds, rather than pushing two twins together. Made sleeping with my fiance awkward with the lump between us.
Location: The location is perfect for just getting off the train, and starting your day at the National Avenue monument, then working your way downtown!
The hotel staff were incredibly polite and easy to work with. The rooms were very clean and room service was able to be had immediately. There are only three things you need to be aware of when booking: Firstly, the roof top restaurant is incredibly expensive, more expensive than across the street by almost double (but we were staying for it's location, not it's food). The second thing is the noise. On the 3rd (American 2nd Floor) you can hear the overwhelming noise of traffic if you leave your window open, which again was not an issue as we were planning to be up early every day. The final thing was although the rooms are advertised as "queen" beds, they are only twin beds pressed together with a sheet over them. With those few small complaints, the hotel was otherwise a great place to rest our feet and heads before exploring Rome. Would recommend if those very minor things are of no concern!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec,Canada

beautiful hotel, but couldn't depend of staff.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: This is a beautiful art deco building. Our room was elegent and beautiful.
Cons: Making sure things that are broken are fixed, before clients are let into the room, like our bathroom window.
Location: Perfect location with the train and bus terminus around the corner. Not much to do at night.
My friend and I wrote a request when reserving for two twin beds. A few days before our expected arrival, I called to confirm my request and was told it would be honored. At the hotel desk, I reminded them about my written request and phone request and was told everything was ok. The porter brought us to the room where there was one double bed. When we told him about our requests, he called the front desk and we were finally brought to a beautiful corner room with two twin beds. Unfortunately, although we loved our trip and the city of Rome, we found this indifference by the service sector to be common.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, PA

Perfect!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
There was nothing to dislike about this place. It's centrally located near the train station so you can get anywhere. Breakfast was great as was the cappuccinos. Staff was pleasant and helpful. They even helped us plan our day trips. Our room was super clean and roomy enough for two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea uk

good hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
this hotel proved perfect for our 4 night stay in rome . it was of a good standard and the staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were well maintained and clean. suprisingly quiet even though the hotel was close to the busy Termini station. location was good and within walking distance of all main attractions if you are reasonably fit. Nice hotel roof garden restaurant and bar but plenty of options to eat close to hotel. if i was to go again i would not book the the online expedia transfer option as there are plenty of fixed price (30 euro) taxis from the airport and at the termini station . also would recommend prebooking a passes to vatican and roman attractions online such as omni pass ..... a bit more expensive but allows you to skip the huge queues and makes the experience much less stressful than it might have been
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The hotel was both comfortable and friendly, including suggestions for a restaurant and a car service to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Fine hotel very convenient to Termini Station

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Close to Termini Station and great rooftop restaurant.
Cons: Beds were very firm with no "pillow top" feature that we have in most American hotels.
Location: Termini Station is only a block away so access to rail transportation is excellent. The neighborhood has a good number of stores and restaurants.
We chose this hotel because it was close to Termini Station. However, the hotel was far better than we had expected due to a larger corner room than we had expected and we enjoyed the beautiful rooftop restaurant with a great complimentary breakfast and fantastic view of the city and Vatican! An added benefit is the hotel location is easy walking distance, about 2 blocks, from the Green Line tour office where many local tours that we booked through Viator are originated each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Lovely hotel close to the main train terminal

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Room, Breakfast on the roof, (I'm already missing that) Generous supplies in the bedroom and bathroom
Cons: My door had to be pulled closed -- otherwise it jammed a bit ajar
Location: Close to the main train terminal Close to the underground A pleasant 25 min walk to the Coliseum and Roman Forum -- or two stops on underground
This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. It's not a new hotel, but it's in very good condition for an old hotel. My superior room was awesome. It was a corner room with a nice view in two directions. There was a little foyer at the entrance. Candies, cookies, tea, and coffee were a nice touch. The generous supplies in the bathroom included a toothbrush and paste. WiFi worked and was fast!!!!! If you've stayed in Italy much, you'll know how awesome that is. All my devices connected -- and at the same time. The breakfast on the roof was magnificent. The view was great and breakfast was both American and Continental in style.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

bad hotel in a really good location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: location, valet parking
Cons: staff, rooms, breakfast, VIP+ access perks
Location: restaurants and train station
the hotel is really in bad condition, the breakfast is a joke though it was free, the rooms and beds are really not comfortable at all and for a 4 star hotel it must be better than this, gym is with 3 machines and nothing else which is very bad, parking was told to cost 30 euros at checkout for 3 nights i was charged 118 euros which is according to the hotel %22 some kind of tax overall it was a very bad experience and it is not a VIP+ hotel it is the opposite of that as i wasn't recognized by hotel staff not even offered anything it was misleading to say it is a VIP+ access hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Rome

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Some "old" hotels show their age. This old hotel has aged gracefully and is wonderfully well taken care of. I highly recommend getting a coffee on their rooftop - the 2nd highest point in the area; stunning view.