Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Excellent location and wonderful helpful staff

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff.
Location: Execellent location
The shower is too small, but for the price and location, this was a good deal. The endless supply of coffee made to order but the wonderful and warm lady in the restaurant are unparallel. A good start for the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 29, 2017
No air conditioning in the room, which was not disclosed earlier. Room change request was not accommodated, even when we agreed to pay extra. It was 80+ F outside, and hotel should have working AC or should let their guests know in advance about it, to plan accordingly. It was a horrible night!
4 out of 5
by iris

Nice room with great bed sheets and towels

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The Altavilla Hotel is an old hotel very close to the Termini station. The people that work there are all very helpful and friendly which makes your stay that much better. They used to have a bigger variety for breakfast, but now unfortunately they only have bread and sweets. But the coffee you get is very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

really a budget hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
stayed here for one night for a weekend in Rome. the location is perfect as it is close to termini station. the condition of the hotel is bad, it has really seen it's best days. unfortunately this is standard for most italian budget hotels, though 55 euro/night is still not super cheap in my opinion. the room seems clean, but it is just worn with a intense weird smell. the bathroom is tiny as the fixed the showerhead is right above the toilet, so it's literally a shower-slash-toilet. the bed was old, like sleeping on the floor. I was lucky I was exhausted so I managed. wifi is only in the main hall, and is shut off during the night, though I couldn't get it to work anyway. didn't try the breakfast so I cannot rate that. leaving luggage after checkout costs 2 euro/piece. the advantage is that the staff is very, very friendly. if you're looking for a cheap place to only sleep and don't mind the worn condition than this is fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA-Latvia

Hotel Refused Heating

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: proximity to the main train station - Roma Termini
Cons: Heating, attitude, pricing, real breakfasts
Location: Use of the stations metro to easily visit historic sites
The weather was cold and the room heating either nil or inadequate. Really irritated when desk refused daytime heating, forcing the wear of winter jacket in room, and hot water shower. Cold ceramic floors with no floor coverings - had to use blankets instead. Adjusting shower head caused 220v shocks. Free breakfast without fruit, or protein - only juice, coffee and cereal. The hotel used the advantage of main train station ( Roma Termini ) proximity to advantage minimal accommodation with grossly overrated 2-star rating, and coupled with grossly exaggerated pricing. Cheapskates too, by demanding city tax paid in cash - I refused and only on this point was I able to use my card. I will never go there again in the winter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean and friendly.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel very basic but clean, staff happy to help always, breakfast very basic but it set you up till lunch. Hotel location great for families and who are able to walk, it's not good for the elderly if not able to walk to far, as there is abit of a hill going up back to the hotel. Overall very good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Good location, friendly staff. Adequate breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel is dated

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in a good location for the main train station and bus links to the airport. That's really the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. If you are travelling on a budget it's great, of not spend the extra and go elsewhere. Hotel is dated, bedding is sheets and itchy blankets. Found things in the bed when I checked in, not sure if the sheets where changed from the previous guest. TV in room didn't work. View of a wall with pipe on it. Toilet that has a bi folding door on (so you can both hear and smell what your room mate is doing). Breakfast, they run out of food by 7:30am only long life crossiants left after that time. All in all this hotel gets 1 out of 5 from me and that's for location only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Good location to the Terminii

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The location is great for the price
Cons: Lack of general maintenance. Softer beds and pillows, better choice at breakfast.
Our family stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It was clean and most of the staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a quad share room. The two single beds were comfortable, however the queen bed was hard, as were the pillows. During our entire stay our shower was broken, and appeared to have been broken for quite sometime as there was no longer even a shower curtain in place. We were provided a plug for the bath, which didn't fit the plug hole very well and had a slow leak. We found the bath could only be filled once an evening as it seemed to use all the hot water allocated to the room, which is less than ideal for 4 people staying. The breakfast was very basic, tiny toast, one type of cereal, a small selection of danish's that the woman appeared reluctant to replenish. The location of this hotel is very good, approximately 4 minutes walk from the main rail and bus station, 15-20 minute easy walk to the colosseum, Trevi fountain, pantheon. It was also relatively quiet for the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels