Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Very authentic Italian experience

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were a pleasure to interact with despite the fact they struggled with English.
Cons: The shower was positioned awkwardly considering it faced out towards the center of the room, meaning you had to shower from an angle or soak the room.
Location: Ideal for anyone wanting to travel throughout the country without being too far from the landmarks that Rome has to offer.
Intending to travel throughout the country with my brother for his birthday, we'd prioritised finding a cosy hotel located reasonably close to the Termini that offered a bed and breakfast. The staff struggled with English but were very friendly and made us feel welcome from the off, providing a free map of the city where they located several key landmarks and tourist attractions as well as the best routes to take to get to each. The breakfast was a typical continental offering sandwiches, croissants, snacks and a selection of drinks between the hours of 7:30 - 9:30 but was still fairly close to cafes and shops if we decided on something different. The room key was required to be returned to the reception upon departing the hotel which I personally preferred considering it was a small hotel so they knew which room key I needed when I returned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

loved it

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Rome in the summer is hot, this place had great AC in the room. The entire stay felt more like a bed and breakfast, it's a nice hotel run by a wonderful Italian couple. They didn't really understand much English but google translate helped and they were really nice. Our AC didn't work the first day but they immediately fixed it, turned out we had a faulty control lol. The hotel was in a great location, walking distance from the main attraction. The ONLY warning I have is for the shower. I flooded the restroom the first day and I'm not sure how I did it, the shower is pretty small but you get used to it. It seems like all showers in Europe are small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great for the price

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The couple who run this hotel really make this place great. They are so accommodating. The location is OK. Easy to walk to the colosseum or train stations. Breakfast is more than adequate. The rooms are quite spacious, except for the showers. They take some getting used to! Overall a great little place for what you are paying for in Rome
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Owners are friendly but speak no English at all. Room was small and clean, air conditioning worked great. No safe in room and noisier than expected as next to a main road. Good for a short stay.
5 out of 5
by Elmer

Homely Stay near Termini Station

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of the greatest, and most pleasant stays I have ever had while travelling. The hosts were so gracious and really made me feel at home. The older couple made sure I had everything I needed. I really am glad to have booked this hotel. They don't speak any English but it only added to the thrill because we were able to communicate with one another through hand motions and signals and my very short Italian. The room had a private restroom, Air Conditioning (which was a life saver. It was very hot in Rome!), and they had a small desk for me to take care of any business items. Whenever I needed anything, the hosts were ready to provide me with any help I needed. Their breakfast was pretty great as well. I think it was home cooked by the hostess. It was delicious. The local area is relatively safe and within a 5 minute walking distance from the Manzoni train station. Very convenient. Overall, next time I come to Rome, I will definitely look into booking Hotel Lussemburgo again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.S. C.A.

Close hotel from Termini Station

Posted Jun 13, 2017
It is very close to Termini, like 10 minutes walking. Nice staff! Its owners, Carlo and Lucía are such great persons! Carlo received us and quickly gave us our room, and Lucía being nice at the breakfast, wich is very basic but good enough! I will recomend it if you want a hotel close to Termini, and just want to get to the hotel and sleep well After a long day at Rome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for colosseum

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Area was a bit dirty and dodgy but it was walking distance to nice park and colosseum and city in general. Hotel had average facilities, ( e.g.difficult to carry suitcases and tiny shore facilities). staff were warm and friendly but had very limited English making it difficult to communicate and therefore tourist information was also limited. Breakfast variety was below average ( e.g. Packeted rather than daily fresh choices) and hours for breakfast were insufficient. Overall the internet reviews did not match the reality of this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lithuania

Family hotel close to Termini and Colosseo

Posted May 26, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is run by elder family Donna Lucia and her husband Carlo. The couple is sweet and cares a lot about customers. They do not speak english, but if you do speak italian you will feel like at home :) However, they try to understand english and help in whatever you need. The hotel itself, including rooms and bathroom, is quite old and little, but the rates are reasonable. Simple breakfast but prepared by Donna Lucia. Very clean, good wifi connection. The hotel is 10 min walk from Termini station, 15 min walk from Metro Colosseo, 3 min walk from Metro Manzoni. Highly recommend if you look for a local italian hotel with limited budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

If this is 2 star I'm a Dutchman!!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing springs to mind.
Cons: All areas - cut down number of rooms and up size them. A better quality of breakfast & maybe a little background music to give some ambience.
Location: Coloseum is about 10 min walk. Metro station is quite close although you should walk everywhere as there is so much to see in Rome.
Major language barrier unless you speak Italian. Room was basic, Breakfast was basic situated next to the 'reception desk'. Everything about the hotel looked like it had been put there to meet bare minimum needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangor, Gwynedd

Close to transit

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, location, staff
Location: Termini station, metro stations, restaurants, grocery stores, parks
Cute little hotel in Rome. It's not too far from Termini station, and nearby a metro station if you prefer to get around that way. The staff were very friendly, but spoke limited English. The breakfast in the mornings was a nice touch!