Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect

Posted Jan 21, 2018
They have a smart phone in every room. Gps and email can be used. We too that thing on all trips. Could even make calls for free. The staff were personable and very helpful when I lost my cell phone in a taxi. We recovered it! The whole stay was perfect. Best place for a tourist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Matteo, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. You are always welcome here at Hotel Rex, Best Regards Matteo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice Hotel with good location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Very good location, staff are very nice. Food is good. The best thing is that the hotel provides roaming GPS device for free. It is very helpful when you are in Roma looking for the visiting spots without guide. I strongly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Francesca, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, your feedback is really important to us. Please receive our kindest regards, waiting to welcome you again at the Rex!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami,FL

Stay away.. Not an exaggeration

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Upon arriving we were greeted by the nicest guy I’ve probably met in a very long time. Very smooth check in process. The issues began when we got to the room. Upon walking into the room (#216) it became very apparent this room had niether been cleaned nor remodeled in a very long time! To their benefit, the bed was made and sheets were tucked tight but the rug and walls were extremely dirty. The bathroom didn’t have a curtain or a glass to block the water from leaving the shower so everytime I would shower, I would leave a good 1-1.5 inches of water on the floor. The towels in the bathroom had not been changed from the previous guest as one of them had what looked and smelled like feces. Yet that incident wasn’t the icing on the cake. The part that truly killed me was when I went to use the safe and it didn’t work. Mind you, not only were we traveling internationally therefore had our passports in hand but we had a good amount of money mom us for our extensive European trip. With the safe being broken, not only in my room but every room in the hotel, I felt very uneasy about this situation. When I called downstairs, they advised that their safes do not work and I was welcome to leave anything of value downstairs and they would take care of it for me (as if I would ever trust anyone with my passport, cash, and jewlery) I kindly said thank you and had to figure out ways to hide our valuables within the room. Ps: AC does NOT work, when left on after about 2hrs it blows heat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

great location

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Not far from Termini station and shopping strip. Not much street noise either. Restaurant a must try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by PinoCau -owner, Hotel Management
Hi Guest and thanks for your review I'll be happy to share your comment with my guys It could be very important for us if you could leave a review on Tripadvisor, hopefully on the Rex and EIT, our restaurant. It will help us to share your positive impression and welcome more guest to our hotel Hope you'll have time See you soon PinoCau owner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Great location and fabulous staff.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I am a travel agent and the reason I mention that is I see a lot of hotels! The reviews were mixed so I wasn't sure what to expect. The staff are amazing and so very helpful with directions and suggestions. They take pride in trying to make your experience the best possible. My room was a deluxe room with a separate sitting area, huge king bed and tons of closet space. The room was spotless and my only comment was the bathroom fixtures-the chrome has worn off. Big deal-everything sparkled. This is Rome, some things are a bit dated and there were a few spots on the carpet. The furniture and drapes were lovely. The location was prefect and so close to everything. Three blocks from Termini Station. It was very well priced and I would stay here again in a minute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by PinoCau -owner, Hotel Management
Hi Guest and thanks for your review I'll be happy to share your comment with my guys It could be very important for us if you could leave a review on Tripadvisor It will help us to share your positive impression and welcome more guest to our hotel Hope you'll have time See you soon PinoCau owner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: small and comfortable, staff were all awesome
Location: was close to a main square as well as the train station. felt very comfortable in the area
Had a great stay! We enjoyed using the common room on the main floor for hanging out with our other travellers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by PinoCau - owner, Hotel Management
Hi Guest and thanks for your review I'll be happy to share your comment with my guys It could be very important for us if you could leave a review on Tripadvisor It will help us to share your positive impression and welcome more guest to our hotel Hope you'll have time See you soon PinoCau owner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Outdated

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The hotel is very outdated and not a good place to be in trust me it’s not a 4 star hotel. Stay at a 3 star nearby that’s a much better option and newly renovated. Their furniture is outdated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Excellent staff ... helpful, courteous and friendly. Room a bit tired, but clean. Breakfast buffet a great deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by PinoCau -owner, Hotel Management
Hi Guest and thanks for your review I'll be happy to share your comment with my guys We are working to update some rooms and make better our services It could be very important for us if you could leave a review on Tripadvisor It will help us to share your positive impression and welcome more guest to our hotel Hope you'll have time See you soon PinoCau owner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Small hotel in Rome - close to Spanish Steps

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Staff in all areas from reception to restaurants Main dining room - fabulous!
Cons: Lighting in the rooms. Renovation of the bathrooms Better WIFI in all areas/rooms of the hotel
Location: Good location. I had a day off to sight see and the hotel was in easy walking distance from the Spanish Steps and also close to Termini the main train
Let me start by saying this hotel has excellent staff. Very friendly and competent - it is the staff that actually make this hotel. From reception (check-in) to concierge and the restaurant, everyone was very friendly, and helpful. What in my mind let's the hotel down are it's facilities and rooms. My room lacked good internet access as it was in another wing to the main area and for a business traveler like myself that was a disaster. It meant that for access to my e-mails I constantly needed to sit in the bar to have access. The other part I did not like so much is the lighting in the room. with only a small window not much light came into the room, as it faced a back alley. (car entrance). In addition the lights int he room where ineffective in giving good light to read. I did love the ambiance though of the hotel in the public area and the bar and also the breakfast area. We ate in the hotel's main restaurant which has a Michelin star and the food and service were outstanding! If you stay there - make sure you will eat in the restaurant. If it would be for the hotel facilities and the general quality of the room I probably wouldn't stay at hotel Rex again - but their staff were absolutely fabulous and for that reason I probably would return, with the hope to be in a room in the main wing of the hotel with better wifi and lighting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic service and great location. The hotel needs updating though as the bathrooms are quite old but you get used to it. Still worth the price based on the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Hotel Rex, Hotel Management
Hi Guest and thanks for your review I'll be happy to share your comment with my guys I'm starting to work to update few amenities and some rooms, together to make better our bar service It could be very important for us if you could leave a review on Tripadvisor It will help us to share your positive impression and welcome more guest to our hotel Hope you'll have time See you soon PinoCau owner