Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Pornpot from Thailand

Not Good Choice

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
It is a good location, but it is not a good choice to stay for a long day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very convenient location

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Nice place for people on a budget. Location is very good- just across from Termini Station with all kinds of public transportation and cheap food. Staff is very nice, very friendly. Room is OK to sleep and to take a hot shower. Free WiFi in the room. I would go there again.
4 out of 5
by CHANDRAN from Bangalore

Has more strengths than weaknesses

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
We reached the hotel at 2pm from the Airport. The hotel is on the 4th floor of the building. No one answered the security system at the door on the street. We waited in the hot sun until 3.30pm for the receptionist to show up. The restaurant staff next door gave us shaded seating in their place. Once our receptionist showed up, we found him to be very friendly and helpful. The place is true value for the price. The beds are OK. The place is clean and has a fridge. They gave an electric kettle on request. The location is just fabulous - just opposite Termini train and bus stations. Complimentary breakfast is a coffee with croissant. If you are serious on sight-seeing and want to make efficient use of time - all on budget, this is the place. But call up the hotel from your home 2 days before you arrive there and give them a reminder that you are coming!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location for hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Buffet breakfasts at other hotels were much better that the croissant and coffee.
Location: Near train station so really easy with luggage, and day trips. So close to the many sights of Rome - all within walking distance.
Two adults and 2 teenagers. Friendly, Hotel staff gave great recommendations for a couple of restaurants (that were not too touristy). Room a little small for 4 (but we made it work). Private Bathroom, TV and Air Con made all the difference. Breakfast was a croissant and coffee at the cafe below. Great location for train travel, restaurants, walking around Rome sights. Definitely return again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Quinn from Minneapolis, MN

Lost our reservation!

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
We made a reservation at Hotel Tokyo, but I should state in my review we never ended up actually sleeping there. We had a long day of travel on train from Venice and when we arrived in Rome we followed the instructions of our confirmation email from Hotels.com to the Hotel. We rang the bell over and over again and no one answered. Frustrated we stood outside with our bags for 5 min. with no where else to go. Finally an older gentleman showed up behind us asking us if we were there to check into the hotel in very broken english. We said yes and I showed him my confirmation email. We drug ourselves up to I believe the 4th floor and for the next 25 minutes he looked for our reservation that he said didn't exist. To say we were exhausted and spent was an understatement. I don't know how well he was as a trained employee because he didn't seem to know what to do with us….so after fiddling with the old school calendar book they used for reservations…..he brought us to another small hotel 4 blocks away called "The Artiste". I'm grateful that he finally got us set up with a room there but it was quite the ordeal and because we had only one night in Rome (as a layover) we missed a chunk of our night dealing with the hotel reservation issue. Very frustrating.
4 out of 5
by ALICIA from California

A nice hotel accross from Termini Station.

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is located just across the Termini station which is what I wanted. The staffs are very friendly and accomodating. The room itself was clean but a bit tiny/cramp but overall it's good for a one night stay. There are several updates to the rooms and the wifi service is good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Worst hotel ever! Wouldn't even call it a hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
They put me in a room right next to their 'reception' which was more of a desk. The phone rang all night, there was a lot of yelling, a loud tv and music all from the staff room. I couldn't sleep at all and the man working there overnight was very unprofessional. Do not stay there for even one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Nice location and friendly owner. He shows us the map where to go, give me very good advise.