Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Spacious rooms, clean hotel, perfect location!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
We stayed at the Merulana Inn for the last 4 nights we had in Rome. It was a beautiful Inn. Very clean. Surprisingly spacious compared to the many other hotels we stayed in Italy. Well worth the price too! The hotel staff was very attentive, funny and welcoming. The elevators were small, but that is expected with European hotels. The access key cards was able to open the outside doors as well as the room which made it very convenient. It was a 5 minute walk to the Rome Termini station. Lots of good restaurant options around too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms
Location: 10 min walk from train station and 20 to Coliseum
We really enjoyed our stay at the Merulana Inn. Great location from train station and to walk to sights. Breakfast had a great selection of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chester Cheshire

City Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: It was very central and within walking distance of some of the main attractions . We found our room very clean with a TV and air conditioning.
Cons: Given the style of building and the situation of the hotel within the building I don't think that anything could be changed eg the lift situation.
Location: As already mentioned, the hotel is not far from the Colosseum, Trevi Fountains and the Spanish Steps.
When we were dropped off at the hotel it was difficult to tell that it was a hotel. It had no entrance directly on to the street. It was on the 3rd floor of the building. Getting up to this floor was via a very narrow lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great place, clean awesome service. Within walking distance to most of the attractions. Had a great experience, first time in Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice hotel good value & Close to sites.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: See above
Cons: See main Description
Location: Central location to all of the Roman sites to see.
It was a very nice hotel with modern features in an older building. The rooms were very clean and updated. Everyone in our group was very pleased with the accommodations. The breakfast buffet in the morning was a very nice bonus that helped get our days started very nicely. The staff was very friendly towards us and was very helpful (they helped us set up transportation to the airport...we were a large group...8....with lots of luggage! :) ). Pros: Excellent value, Central location (not far from Termini Station), Modern decor, WiFi, Breakfast, Very Clean. Cons: Challenging to find(at first), Older building with older elevator (very minor) Overall: Very good value and would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, NY

Merulana Inn

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Nice place to stay. Very clean. Great location. They just need to get a whole bed. Two twin beds don't made it a good bed. Hated sleeping in a crack. Otherwise will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a central location

Posted May 16, 2017
Very good time, weather was red hot. Hotel was very well located close to the main train and bus station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Locked out on the street

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Never had a chance to see the room.
Cons: The owner did not respond to any emails or calls and no refund was given. It ruined the start of our vacation.
In short, do not book Merulena if you are arriving in the evening or have expectations of decent customer service! My fiance and I were planning on staying at the Merulena Inn after booking the hotel as part of a package with our flight on Expedia. When I looked at the details, I realized that my flight would arrive later than Merulena's Inn designated check in time. I called the phone number and reached Judith. I explained that we would be in late and if we should cancel and book elsewhere. She said not to worry, she would be there. We tried to call Judith while we were in the cab, but she did not answer. When we arrived at the front of the Merulena Inn, we called again, we also called the emergency number and no one answered, we buzzed the door several times and there was no answer. My fiance and I began wandering the street trying to figure out what to do. Fortunately we found a room at a hotel a few doors down that was open. I called expedia and while on hold for about 10-15 mins they were able to reach Judith. Both of us went over to speak with her about a refund as we were already checked in to another hotel, this time she answered the buzzer right away. She denied not picking up her phone or answering the buzzer, and said she could not issue a refund. II don't know if she fell asleep or hadn't yet arrived, but the inn was definitely unresponsive an hour prior. She said she couldn't issue a refund and we had to speak to the owner. The owner never responded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

First Time In Rome

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and welcoming.
Cons: My only complaint would be the bed. It was a bit to firm for my liking.
I've been wanting to visit Rome for as long as I can remember. I decided to visit this last October and while not every single experience was great, my stay at the Merulana Inn was wonderful. It's less than 2 minutes walking distance from Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore which is absolutely stunning and I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, England

Good base for exploring Rome

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Good base location. Although fairly basic, the room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: Only minor- Free WiFi was available, which was good but had poor speed. No tea/coffee facilities in-room but that may be fairly standard here.
Location: Colosseum and many of Romes ancient sites in walking distance (20 mins). Metro station is 5 mins walk away. Loads of restaurants.
The hotel part was on the 3rd floor of an old'ish building ...only six rooms (I think). Our room was basic but nicely finished and clean. It had TV (which we didn't actually use), a small but clean and functional bathroom (shower only). The breakfast area was fine too with a reasonable choice (nothing fancy but provided an adequate start to the day). Free WiFi was available but it wasn't particularly fast. The staff were helpful. Quite a good location to start exploring some of Rome's historic sites ...the Colosseum and several other significant sites could be reached in 20 mins by foot and the metro system (nearest station 5 minutes away) was handy for going further afield.