Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Safe, clean, and comfortable

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive, clean, friendly, good location, free wifi, good breakfast
Cons: Improving wifi signal strength in the rooms
Location: Very close to termini so it's easy to access all of the sites in Rome, usually within half an hour of leaving the hotel.
This hotel is in a great location near Termini station. It is easy to find and we were welcomed warmley by Judy. She is a very friendly and welcoming lady who has received negative reviews on this website but who made our holiday easier and more comfortable. The guest house felt very safe as there are 2 doors which both require keys to enter, and it is on a main road rather than a side street. The wifi is okay although signal strength was a bit weak in our room - it will do the job for basic social media use and maps, though. The hotel is located near to termini and vittorio emmanuel metro stations which provide access to all of the major sites in Rome, and busses run nearby to the sights which are further from the hotel such as catacombs. The breakfast was continental and very nice, prepared freshly with coffee and juices - nothing to complain about. The room was spacious and clean - a safe is provided and the towels are changed every other day. The cleaners did a great job every day and the bed was very comfortable. All in all this is a great hotel for the price and there is nothing at all to complain about. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Spacious rooms, clean hotel, perfect location!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
We stayed at the Merulana Inn for the last 4 nights we had in Rome. It was a beautiful Inn. Very clean. Surprisingly spacious compared to the many other hotels we stayed in Italy. Well worth the price too! The hotel staff was very attentive, funny and welcoming. The elevators were small, but that is expected with European hotels. The access key cards was able to open the outside doors as well as the room which made it very convenient. It was a 5 minute walk to the Rome Termini station. Lots of good restaurant options around too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms
Location: 10 min walk from train station and 20 to Coliseum
We really enjoyed our stay at the Merulana Inn. Great location from train station and to walk to sights. Breakfast had a great selection of food.
4 out of 5
by Oi Han Clara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chester Cheshire

City Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: It was very central and within walking distance of some of the main attractions . We found our room very clean with a TV and air conditioning.
Cons: Given the style of building and the situation of the hotel within the building I don't think that anything could be changed eg the lift situation.
Location: As already mentioned, the hotel is not far from the Colosseum, Trevi Fountains and the Spanish Steps.
When we were dropped off at the hotel it was difficult to tell that it was a hotel. It had no entrance directly on to the street. It was on the 3rd floor of the building. Getting up to this floor was via a very narrow lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

When is a hotel not a hotel ?

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Wotif
From the outside you would not believe how good it is inside firstly it is hard to find but the room is well worth the climb of three steps as the lift looked a bit scary
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great place, clean awesome service. Within walking distance to most of the attractions. Had a great experience, first time in Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice hotel good value & Close to sites.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: See above
Cons: See main Description
Location: Central location to all of the Roman sites to see.
It was a very nice hotel with modern features in an older building. The rooms were very clean and updated. Everyone in our group was very pleased with the accommodations. The breakfast buffet in the morning was a very nice bonus that helped get our days started very nicely. The staff was very friendly towards us and was very helpful (they helped us set up transportation to the airport...we were a large group...8....with lots of luggage! :) ). Pros: Excellent value, Central location (not far from Termini Station), Modern decor, WiFi, Breakfast, Very Clean. Cons: Challenging to find(at first), Older building with older elevator (very minor) Overall: Very good value and would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, NY

Merulana Inn

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Nice place to stay. Very clean. Great location. They just need to get a whole bed. Two twin beds don't made it a good bed. Hated sleeping in a crack. Otherwise will stay there again.