Ratings based on 2,835 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Wonderful hotel located close to everything. This was our second stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel location was outstanding for exploring Rome with many of the sights within a 15 min walk. Staff were very helpful and provided outstanding service. This is a very relaxing hotel only spoiled a little by some noisy guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Nice hotel and in very good location next to Rome main station , highly recommended I would stay again there , it's clean and staff very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shawqi, Thank you for your review and for recommending our hote lto other guests. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Nice, comfortable hotel and centrally located

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Nice hotel with comfortable rooms..Staff very accomodating and helpful..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Humphrey, Thank you so much for your review. I will let the staff know that you were pleased with their service. Hoping to see you again soon. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hote

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Close to train terminal, friendly staff, kid friendly, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thank you for your great 5* review. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

BEST hotel in central Rome!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I feel so blessed to have chosen this hotel for my week long stay in Rome for multiple reasons!! 1. I am very picky when it comes to where I stay and this hotel was clean and beautiful from the entrance to my room (daily) 2. Hotel staff: AMAZING! Very nice and accommodating. They speak English and we're very helpful with answering all of my questions. (I was even given a European outlet plug to charge my phone since they are different from American outlets) 3. This hotel is literally a 3-5 minute walk from the train/ subway station. Each day I went to a different city (Venice, Naples, and Florence) and it was so nice to walk 2 blocks up and 1 block over to my train each morning! 4. The neighborhood is super safe. Each night my mom and I got back around 1-2am after eating dinner and strolling and no one bothered us except nice men trying to sell items (which happens all over Italy). The doorman was always at the door or the receptionist was waiting to unlock the door when we came back. Restaurant directly across the street was really good and the waiters are so nice. The name is Est! Est! Est! There are also other restaurants up down the street and other streets. This is the place to stay people. If I ever return to Rome, I will only be staying at Star Metropole. Beautiful, beautiful hotel. Wish I could've stayed longer! Ciao!! Oh! Purchase a shuttle to and from your hotel. When you first arrive you won't know how to use the termini (train station) to get the the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christina, Wow! What a wonderful review! I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Arrivederci a presto! Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very Nice and Great Location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We stayed twice between June and July 2017. The 1st time we were given a room on the second floor which was nice but on our second stay we were assigned to a 9th floor room. The 9th floor has been updated with new bathrooms and bedrooms nicely decorated. I would rate the 9th floor as very nice. Breakfast and location is good. Our only complaint is the service. Staff is not friendly especially front desk. We did not feel welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Margarita, Thank you for your kind review. Firstly am disappointed to hear that our front desk staff did not meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our team. The rooms on the 9th floor have been recently renovated, however soon we will continue with our renovation program with a soft restyling involving several rooms of our hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AW

A unique location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The location is excellent... the amenities quality is not good... room is spacious (2 adults 2 kids) ... two tvs... staff needs more interaction training...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alwassiah, Thank you so much for you candid feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. With kind regards Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, California

One night in Rome

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious, friendly staff.
Checked in to the Star Hotels Metropole with my wife and kids during our last night in Italy. We chose it due to its proximity to the Roma Termini train station. We walked directly from the train station to the hotel, barely three blocks, with all our bags and a stroller, no problem. The lobby was large, air conditioned, and clean. The staff all polite and solicitous. The check-in went smoothly, and within minutes we were in our rooms: two adjoining rooms with the door propped open in between. And breakfast included! The next morning we availed ourselves of the breakfast in the downstairs dining room, and we were very pleased. Full "American"-style buffet line available, with eggs and sausage and ham, as well as continental options and fruit, juices, cereals, pastries, cheeses, etc. Plus hot chocolate and coffee on demand from the waitress. A wonderful way to start the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kent, Thank you so much for complimenting Starhotels Metropole in your positive feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful experience with us and I thank you also for pointing out our very tasty, varied breakfast in our restaurant. We look forward to your next visits. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel in good location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location was fine and rooms was nice.
Cons: Gym fairly small and don't use the tour group recommended by the hotel when you check in, they're a scam.
Location: All of the big sites you want to see are nearby, no problem getting around. Buy tickets ahead of time though as the lines can be huge.
We stayed in the family room so our kids had their own place and both rooms were comfortable. Nothing fancy but nice. The location is convenient and you can walk to many touristy places and/or take a subway. Lots of restaurants nearby. No complaints, was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mauro Polmonari - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive and appreciated our central location. I am disappointed to hear that the tour company recommended at the receptions were perceived as a “scam”. We do not have any reason to do so and jeopardies our reputation for a tour ticket! Furthermore we only sell tours of recognized and well established companies. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager