Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Dale

Lovely stay at the Place in Rome

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location, metro easily accessible. Staff were brilliant from start to end, couldn't ask for more. Great advice about what to do/ avoid during our stay. During a power cut staff didn't stop until issue was resolved. Breakfast staff knew what we wanted each morning by remembering from previous day, provided me with milk for my own gluten free cereal each morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much sleep

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Terrible sagging, squeaking mattresses that poked springs into my ribs all night. The walls are paper thin so you can hear your neighbors snoring. We were put right next to the breakfast room, so starting before 8:00 we got to listen to the conversations and clinking silverware of every single guest through those paper thin walls. Your 'private bathroom' is accessed by a common hallway, and everyone in the breakfast room will stare at you as you scurry back and forth. This place has a very hostel-y feel. Not that I don't enjoy hostels, but that is not what I paid for and not what I was expecting. The one single redeeming quality of The Place in Rome is the super friendly and helpful staff. But overall I just can't recommend that anyone stay here.
2 out of 5
by Sylvana Rita

Convenient

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We booked 2 rms incl continental b/f @ The place in rome. Upon arrival the owner gave us some useful info and took us to another hotel. He said he owned both and we thought he had 2 in different locations. The hotel we were taken to had a different name &was very different from the one we booked & the pictures they show on various websites. The rooms were ok & clean. We booked a quad & a X3 rm both incl bathroom but we were given 3 rooms in an apatment style and were told we would have the area for ourselves. 1 rm had a shower but the other 2 had none so they had to use a bathrm which was located in the same area. More guests came & were lodging in the other rooms next to us. Towels were changed daily but not enough towels were provided to cover 4 of us. The room was situated on the 3 rd floor with no lift so it is not good for elderly since you have to climb more than 60 steps. Night receptionist was very nice & helpful. The shower head is a disadvantage for ladies, since it is fixed and you will wet your hair when you shower. Some shower caps could have been provided. There is no shampoo etc so do take your own. Breakfast was a real disappointment. We were offered a hot drink which half of which arrived on the table cold by the time she prepared the lot. We were given a croissant each &when we told the reception about bf she told us that is how a continental is served in italy and france and to google it :( . 1 gd thing about it is that it is close to metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Super Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel is strategically located in the city center of Rome. I only need 6-8 minutes walk from Rome Termini Station. I booked this hotel in last-minute as I arrived in Rome. It was 11pm and my book went through. They helped me with late check-in really smooth. Everything is fast yet comfortable. I got super nice room for my stay. Everything is neat and clean. I had a great experience there. The staff also helped me navigate Rome through map they provided for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and lovely hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Management was great and the free breakfast was even better!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hood clean hotel, near train Station.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Free continental breakfast, but need better pastries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
We were happy with our stay. The only problem was we had to move to another room,but it was all nice and clean. Peter,the receptionist was super nice, informative and humorous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very nice.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room was small. On the tird floor with no elevator. Breakfast was small and the orange juice was terrible. The staff were very nice and helpful and that is about the only thing going for this place.Shower was very tricky to get in and out and the bath assesories were second rate. Over all we were very disappointed. Tried to cancel our stay early and The hotel and Hotel.com would not allow. Over priced for what you got..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Cheap, convenient hotel in decent location. Guy on front desk very friendly and welcoming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No like localitation

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Even is close to the Station around is not nice. The entrance look wear and acarie when you get.