Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia USA

This was not just a place to stay

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The owners/hosts. They knew the details of this historic castle.
In other castles of the Loire valley I was able to learn about the history. Here I not only learned I felt the history. I felt that I was a wealthy knight.
4 out of 5
by Jean-Luc from paris

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
tres beau chateau, accueil tres chaleureux et visite des lieux passionnante
4 out of 5
by 陈朔 from 中国

真正的古堡,不是酒店,是人家

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
很偏的地方,但是真正的古堡,不是酒店,没有服务,就像住进人家里,主人是世袭的贵族,陈设处处透出旧贵族的气息,超舒服的床,美味的早餐,伯爵亲自简介古堡的历史,让人感动,是超出一般酒店的感受
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kallista

Very unique property in a fantastic location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
We were welcomed by the owner and shown to our room and then served some lovely wine and biscuits! What an amazing Château. We walked the grounds and were shown around by the owner, this has been in their family since the 1600's and the pride is clear to see. Just amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Authentic glimpse into living history...

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: It's atmosphere, easy elegance, and uniqueness.
Cons: Just bring your dinner... picnicking in a chateau's dining room is fab!
Location: In middle of nowhere... but close to Chinon.
We loved everything from being met by the owners' dogs to the tour, the breakfast, the room and these sense of lived-in history this gave our nine year old. The highlight of our recent trip to France, by far.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Live like royalty!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing! Just a heads up that you might feel like you're lost as you attempt to find it for the first time...GPS and phone service tend to disconnect
The owner and staff were so friendly and hospitable. The location is absolutely majestic. We still can't believe we were able to stay at a castle. The dogs are also so friendly. We hiked the property and enjoyed a very peaceful experience. The dining room and breakfasts were excellent! I recommend you participate in a private guided tour of the chateau!
4 out of 5
by CatyS

great experience - eventually

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
Initially on arrival it was apparent we were not expected. Our very young host did his best and was very friendly, however we were in the middle of the country staying in an old chateau and were not expecting to fend for ourselves in the food and drink department so had to drive back into the closest town. The room and surrounds were amazing but we waited to do the tour with the owner the next morning after B'fast as we were told his English was very good and the tour would be more interesting for us. Everthing was redeemed the next morning with a lavish breakfast spread, very welcoming hosts and indeed a fantastic and interesting tour of the chateau- a must do. Suggestion- some refreshment availble for guests on arrival- we couldn't even find a place/bar fridge to buy water. i would recommend a stay here. Pool, very large room, period decore- fitting for an old chateau. large grounds, wifi- in library.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

überteuertes Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels
Das Hotel sieht von weitem sehr gut aus. Es ist jedoch total heruntergekommen. Die Familie ist sehr nett und freundlich. Ich habe mich hinterher sehr geärgert.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venlo

chateau de Ternay

Posted Aug 26, 2011 on Hotels
De eigenaren Loïc en Caroline vinden het een opdracht om dit mooie kasteel zo goed mogelijk te behouden voor de toekomst. Ze zijn trots op dit prachtige erfgoed en laten ons als gasten genieten hiervan. Ze zijn enorm gastvrij en geven een interessante rondleiding. Een diner in de salon is een belevenis als je de ambiance weet te waarderen en geen sterrenmenu verwacht. Je komt als gast en gaat weg als vriend. P.S De handdoeken waren wel aan vervanging toe.