Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire, UK

A chance to stay in a real historic chateau

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: It is so different and so authentic. A stay in a bland hotel room is soon forgotten. Here you get to stay in a historic chateau.
Cons: Accepting it for what it is, a chance to stay in a historic chateau with all the quirks and character that entails, no improvement needed.
Location: Great location for Saumur and with easy access to Chateau de Chenenceux and the Loire Valley.
If the name Chateau de Ternay conjures up images of the ultimate in luxury and facilities, with staff waiting on you 24 hours a day, you may be disappointed in Chateau de Ternay. If, however, you want to live in a historic chateau, possibly sleeping in a four-poster bed and are happy to put up with the quirks and character of an old building for the pleasure of a real ethnic experience, then this is somewhere you will remember with pleasure for a long time. The owners – and their friendly dogs and cat – will provide a friendly greeting as you are ushered to your room. A picnic supper in the courtyard is quite an experience as you soak in the atmosphere, before an evening stroll in the extensive grounds. Then, in the morning, there is breakfast in the dining room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect chateau stay

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
We could not fault a thing, everything was perfect and we hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia USA

This was not just a place to stay

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The owners/hosts. They knew the details of this historic castle.
In other castles of the Loire valley I was able to learn about the history. Here I not only learned I felt the history. I felt that I was a wealthy knight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kallista

Very unique property in a fantastic location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
We were welcomed by the owner and shown to our room and then served some lovely wine and biscuits! What an amazing Château. We walked the grounds and were shown around by the owner, this has been in their family since the 1600's and the pride is clear to see. Just amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Authentic glimpse into living history...

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: It's atmosphere, easy elegance, and uniqueness.
Cons: Just bring your dinner... picnicking in a chateau's dining room is fab!
Location: In middle of nowhere... but close to Chinon.
We loved everything from being met by the owners' dogs to the tour, the breakfast, the room and these sense of lived-in history this gave our nine year old. The highlight of our recent trip to France, by far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Live like royalty!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing! Just a heads up that you might feel like you're lost as you attempt to find it for the first time...GPS and phone service tend to disconnect
The owner and staff were so friendly and hospitable. The location is absolutely majestic. We still can't believe we were able to stay at a castle. The dogs are also so friendly. We hiked the property and enjoyed a very peaceful experience. The dining room and breakfasts were excellent! I recommend you participate in a private guided tour of the chateau!
4 out of 5
by CatyS

great experience - eventually

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
Initially on arrival it was apparent we were not expected. Our very young host did his best and was very friendly, however we were in the middle of the country staying in an old chateau and were not expecting to fend for ourselves in the food and drink department so had to drive back into the closest town. The room and surrounds were amazing but we waited to do the tour with the owner the next morning after B'fast as we were told his English was very good and the tour would be more interesting for us. Everthing was redeemed the next morning with a lavish breakfast spread, very welcoming hosts and indeed a fantastic and interesting tour of the chateau- a must do. Suggestion- some refreshment availble for guests on arrival- we couldn't even find a place/bar fridge to buy water. i would recommend a stay here. Pool, very large room, period decore- fitting for an old chateau. large grounds, wifi- in library.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Chateau Ternay...that's Ternay in Vienne!

Posted Jul 21, 2011 on Hotels
We phoned to advise our revised arrival time (once we'd had SatNav mistakenly take us to Ternay in Loir-et-Cher instead of Vienne) and surmised we weren't the first to have made that basic navigational error from the reaction we got on the phone...at which time we were also coached to eat en route! Wanting to find our destination for sure whilst we still had some light, we reached the Chateau at 9.30pm on a Friday night - from where we soon discovered only one bar open within a 5 mile radius to get so much as a cup of coffee - there was certainly nowhere open for food! Reaching the Chateau itself at 10.30pm, we were welcomed warmly by the Countess - and the dogs - and shown to our room on the top floor - but were advised we couldn't get any drinks as the Count was in bed poorly (so drank water from the bathroom instead). Continental breakfast with fellow guests the next morning was pleasant and my partner enjoyed the Count's entertaining and humorous tour in stunning surroundings - I was suffering a little from asthma at that rime so read quietly in the lovely courtyard instead. All in all an experience for sure and I'm glad we did it...but I'll be sure to bring my own wine and snacks if ever again using the Chateau for a stopover on the long drive South!
5 out of 5
by Anders

Fantastic, highly recommended

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at this castle. The host Loic and his nephew were very friendly and welcoming and the castle with its rooms were fantastic. We got a complimentary 1.5 hour tour of the castle and got to know more about its history and the knight who built it. Its been in the current owners family since the 16th century. I definately recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
A big thank you for this nice comment, it was a pleasure to show you the castle and to tell you the extraordinary life of this knight of the fifteenth century. We hope you come back soon to the castle of Ternay.
4 out of 5
by philippe

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
We are always very attentive to the well being of our guests at the chateau de Ternay, your rating of 4 out of 5 testifies to the fact that you were happy with your stay but not fully satisfied. It would have been useful to know the subject of this little dissatisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Chateau de Ternay. Nous sommes toujours très attentifs au bien être de nos hôtes au château de Ternay, votre note de 4 sur 5 témoigne du fait que vous avez été satisfait de votre séjour mais qu'il vous a manqué un petit quelque chose, il nous aurait été utile de connaitre le sujet de cette petite insatisfaction.