Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect chateau stay

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
We could not fault a thing, everything was perfect and we hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia USA

This was not just a place to stay

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The owners/hosts. They knew the details of this historic castle.
In other castles of the Loire valley I was able to learn about the history. Here I not only learned I felt the history. I felt that I was a wealthy knight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kallista

Very unique property in a fantastic location

Posted Sep 21, 2015
We were welcomed by the owner and shown to our room and then served some lovely wine and biscuits! What an amazing Château. We walked the grounds and were shown around by the owner, this has been in their family since the 1600's and the pride is clear to see. Just amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Authentic glimpse into living history...

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: It's atmosphere, easy elegance, and uniqueness.
Cons: Just bring your dinner... picnicking in a chateau's dining room is fab!
Location: In middle of nowhere... but close to Chinon.
We loved everything from being met by the owners' dogs to the tour, the breakfast, the room and these sense of lived-in history this gave our nine year old. The highlight of our recent trip to France, by far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Live like royalty!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing! Just a heads up that you might feel like you're lost as you attempt to find it for the first time...GPS and phone service tend to disconnect
The owner and staff were so friendly and hospitable. The location is absolutely majestic. We still can't believe we were able to stay at a castle. The dogs are also so friendly. We hiked the property and enjoyed a very peaceful experience. The dining room and breakfasts were excellent! I recommend you participate in a private guided tour of the chateau!
4 out of 5
by CatyS

great experience - eventually

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
Initially on arrival it was apparent we were not expected. Our very young host did his best and was very friendly, however we were in the middle of the country staying in an old chateau and were not expecting to fend for ourselves in the food and drink department so had to drive back into the closest town. The room and surrounds were amazing but we waited to do the tour with the owner the next morning after B'fast as we were told his English was very good and the tour would be more interesting for us. Everthing was redeemed the next morning with a lavish breakfast spread, very welcoming hosts and indeed a fantastic and interesting tour of the chateau- a must do. Suggestion- some refreshment availble for guests on arrival- we couldn't even find a place/bar fridge to buy water. i would recommend a stay here. Pool, very large room, period decore- fitting for an old chateau. large grounds, wifi- in library.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Chateau Ternay...that's Ternay in Vienne!

Posted Jul 21, 2011 on Hotels
We phoned to advise our revised arrival time (once we'd had SatNav mistakenly take us to Ternay in Loir-et-Cher instead of Vienne) and surmised we weren't the first to have made that basic navigational error from the reaction we got on the phone...at which time we were also coached to eat en route! Wanting to find our destination for sure whilst we still had some light, we reached the Chateau at 9.30pm on a Friday night - from where we soon discovered only one bar open within a 5 mile radius to get so much as a cup of coffee - there was certainly nowhere open for food! Reaching the Chateau itself at 10.30pm, we were welcomed warmly by the Countess - and the dogs - and shown to our room on the top floor - but were advised we couldn't get any drinks as the Count was in bed poorly (so drank water from the bathroom instead). Continental breakfast with fellow guests the next morning was pleasant and my partner enjoyed the Count's entertaining and humorous tour in stunning surroundings - I was suffering a little from asthma at that rime so read quietly in the lovely courtyard instead. All in all an experience for sure and I'm glad we did it...but I'll be sure to bring my own wine and snacks if ever again using the Chateau for a stopover on the long drive South!
4 out of 5
by jacques from La Hulpe, Belgique

Bon souvenir, à recommander.

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Accueil sympa, hôtes attentionnés, décor forcément vieillot mais charmant, vue magnifique, lit trop étroit (vieux lit à baldaquin, joli mais...) et manque d'un point frigo pour s'approvisionner en boissons fraîches.
5 out of 5
by Esther from France

TOP

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Superbe château dans un très beau parc, les hôtes sont sympatriques, Loïc vous fera découvrir le château avec humour. Lits confortables, super petit déjeuner, calme. Nous avions la chambre Tourlandry avec accès sur la terrasse (très bien pour les fumeurs !). Expérience unique, dormir dans un vrai château, nous avons adoré.
4 out of 5
by Jean-Luc from paris

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
tres beau chateau, accueil tres chaleureux et visite des lieux passionnante