Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Fantastic one night stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The family apartment, great A/C, wifi, kitchen and nice views. The grounds/pool are beautiful and peaceful. It felt private and a bit exclusive.
Cons: Some of the staff and guests seemed stiff. The dining experience is a little odd -- very quiet, pre-assigned seating for guests, and not relaxing.
Location: It's not within walking distance to anything (unless you want to wander around a field.) Orvieto is a wonderful town as is Civita di Bagnoregio.
Our family stayed here for one night last month and loved it. We were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews on varying sites, but for the most part we didn't experience any of those issues. Yes, it's in the middle of nowhere, 15-20 minutes from Orvieto. This wasn't a problem for us since we had a car -- which I would highly recommend if you choose to stay here. Likewise, we didn't have any trouble finding the hotel, as there are signs posted along the road. As for the room, we stayed in the family apartment which is separate from the hotel. We would definitely recommend staying in the apartment. I can't figure out why there are not better photos of it shown on their website, but we were very impressed by the size and decor! It was private, spacious, with 2 cosy bedrooms, 2 modern bathrooms and a large open living/dining room and kitchen. If I'd known it had a full kitchen, I would've stopped at the store on the way in, so we could've eaten there! It was also very clean. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel which was fine, although a little expensive with a limited menu. The dining experience was the most awkward part of our stay because some of the other guests seemed really uptight (probably because we were traveling with kids). Thankfully, our waiter was nice and made us feel very welcome. The pool and gardens were lovely. We had no issues with cleanliness in either area and both days we saw maintenance cleaning the pool and tidying the garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Poor service

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Not enough staff. Internet wifi was poor all 4 days we stayed. Hotel is about 20 minuts from Orvieto and nothing to do in the area, it is a paramo. And poor service from staff. They tried but not enough persons for number of guest.
4 out of 5
by anne from Glasgow

Orvieto... not quite

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very peaceful and pretty scenery. It was marketed as Orvieto, but atv15km away on windy roads, you couldn't drivenin, have dinner and a glass of wine, and come back. We tossed to see who drove... I lost :(
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Helene from London

Not what we were expecting and a car is a must

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
If all you want to do is sit by the pool & eat from the limited menu, could be the right place for you We were really excited about our 9 nights, looking forward to relaxation, food & classes shown on website The 'greeting' was the worst ever, in fact it wasn't until we were leaving that the reception staff actually cracked a genuine smile Town shuttle service turned out to be a chargeable taxi (35€ each way) Asking about yoga classes we were met with confused faces and the cooking classes was too much hassle for them to give us any info. Later in our stay the manager (who made Basil Fawlty seem competent) came to say he could fit us in at 7.30am - of course I go on holiday to wake early to (as it turned out) help make food for the other guests On the 'wine tasting' we met several other Brits even less impressed than us. Tour started 45 mins late, couldn't hear most of it as 'Basil' was so ahead when talking. No comments about flavours, just extensive talk about the hassle of shifting a previous year's production which couldn't be sold because it had the wrong labels Dinner: ate the same thing 3 times as the menu was so limited. The menu didn't change once during our 9 night stay, which also included a change of month too. 2 lamb dishes were very nice, rest of menu was very lackluster. Mandatory dinner booking each morning, despite 8–20 people each night Breakfast was greatest disappointment, bread from a packet, chargeable 2nd coffee and cooked breakfast at a fee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dudley, UK

Relaxing in the countryside!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The quietness, excellent staff, overall setting, swimming pool and excellent food / wine most of which is produced from the hotels grounds!
Cons: Additional sign posting in the last few km to the resort would be useful, especially if arriving at night. Limited menu if staying more than a week.
Location: The resort is located approximately 15 km (20 minutes) drive from Orvieto. Assisi, Spoleto, Civita & Lake Balsena are all within 90km.
If a peaceful secluded spot in the country is what you are looking for as a retreat from the stresses of working life, then this is for you. The resort is set in the hills outside of Orvieto & provides an intimate atmosphere as if staying at a friends house.
5 out of 5
by Randall from Sandy, Utah, USA

Relaxing Countryside Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is s great hotel in the countryside. Very quiet and relaxing. It is short drive into town. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Italian Holiday

Posted Aug 1, 2013
For a wonderful romantic get away, I would recommend this hotel. If you are travelling with teenagers not so much. The Hotel is a little remote and you will need a car for sight seeing. The whole experience was wonderful. Loved the food and the staff was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Ilaria

Griffin's: relax anche a ferragosto!

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lo staff si è rivelato prezioso ancor prima della prenotazione per aver cercato una soluzione, insieme a me, ad un problema avvenuto durante la prenotazione. Cercavamo un luogo tranquillo e rilassante per trascorrere ferragosto, un periodo in cui di soilto non ci muoviamo proprio per evitare la confusione, questo resort è stato la soluzione perfetta. Si trova a 15 minuti da Orvieto, completamente immerso nel verde, circondato da un parco tenuto benissimo da un giardiniere delizioso. Le camere non sono arredate in modo freddo e impersonale e i bagni sono bellissimi. Il personale alla reception bilancia perfettamente professionalità e cordialità. La piscina è molto bella, le postazioni sono comodissime, e il panorama è fantastico, è stata una fatica staccarci dal bordo vasca per andare a visitare Orvieto e Viterbo. Sconsigliato solo se siete internet dipendenti perchè il wifi è gratuito ma va pochissimo e internet dell'operatore telefonico non prende, a tal proposito scaricatevi la mappa prima di partire perchè il navigatore vi tradirà.
4 out of 5
by Luciana S F

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels