Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent motel for the cost.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The bed was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The room smelled musty.
Location: Good location and close to restaurants and shopping.
The motel was nice and comfortable. The room smelled a bit musty. Breakfast was good and staff was courteous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Mendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Our staff works hard in trying to provide a clean and friendly environment. I am glad you were happy with the staff and breakfast. We are working hard on trying to control the musty smell in the room. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pleasant staff, clean rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly front clerk. Clean and nice rooms for the price.
Cons: Sink drained slow. Just a maintenance issue.
Location: Food was wonderful at Real Hacienda and the mom and pop cafe next to IHOP, Real Hacienda had surprisingly inexpensive yet fabulous food.
Nice place for the money. Clean and comfortable. Check out REAL HACIENDA around the corner across from IHOP for delicious, low priced and large portions of authentic Mexican food. YUMMY The gal who checked us into the hotel was very nice and helpful. She is the type of person that makes me want to stay at Super 8 again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Mendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We value each and every guest opinion. I am glad your stay was comfortable. Our staff takes pride in providing a clean and friendly environment. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Bad location and run down

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel in need of repairs in rooms and outside. Paint and walls need repair. Drain in tub backed up during shower. Room very damp and musty. A/C worked moderately. Carpet Blowers running on each floor , noisy. Hotel staff checking in dressed unprofessional, sweatshirt and morning staff difficult to understand English and couldn't give me a receipt! We will never stay at a Hotel 8 again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Mendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in your room. The issues regarding the paint and the walls will be addressed and handled by our maintenance staff. I am sorry to hear that our front desk staff was not dressed appropriately. We have spoken with them on the proper attire to wear while behind the front desk. We do appreciate your business and hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you, in the future, that we have addressed all of the issues that you experienced in your recent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We arrived later than expected. The front desk staff was on-duty, prompt and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast the next morning was typical and tasty. I would recommend this motel and would stay there again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Mendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. We value each and every guests opinions. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by MARIA

Nice stay

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Our staff tries to provide top notch Customer Service to each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
2 out of 5
by Todd

Really? We have to pay for this?

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Where should I start... Upon checkin, we went to the room assigned to us and it had not been cleaned. The bathtub alone had about 5 years of grime on it. White gluey stuff all over the desk. Burn holes in the blankets. It was just gross. Took pics of the room, went back down to the front desk and was assigned a different room. No apologies for the previous room, which I had booked 2 weeks prior. The newly assigned room was a slight improvement with only about 2 years of grime in the bathtub. Clean desk, here again, burn holes in the bedding. We slept there 2 nights. We did not use the bathtub/shower due to the filth. We bathed else where. Never again!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry that you experienced so many issue while you were here. I am very sorry to hear that you were checked into a room that was not clean and then were not given an apology. We are in the process of renovating the guests bathrooms. I hope you will us, in the future, to show you the many changes that we have made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Lake, MI

Quiet, close to the Highway

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the action...shopping, highway, food, racing. Free Wi-Fi, fridge & microwave. Ice machine
Cons: The cleanliness could be improved. The room was remodeled, but paint splatters detracted from the nice look you are going for.
Location: Close to the shopping areas, food, the highway, & important in my case, close to FCI Terre Haute. I went to the Indy 500.
This is my second trip to Terre Haute to visit my son in the local Federal Prison. This motel is close to the action...the freeway, shopping & food and close to FCI Terre Haute. I stayed 4 nights over the Memorial Day weekend, so it was busy, as the Indy 500 was also going on that weekend. The room was comfortable & spacious. The fridge & microwave were handy since I was there 4 days. The staff was friendly. There was additional security cameras being installed & further painting & upgrades happening while I was there. I used the ice machine on the main floor as the 3rd floor machine was down at the time. A nice breakfast every morning although I woke up too late to enjoy. The free Wi-Fi worked well too. The lobby had groups of people playing cards in the evening, a nice social place to gather. The motel sits along the freeway, but you can't hear the traffic noise, very quiet. There was a huge parking lot for semi trucks, work trucks, tour buses too. Tour buses brought people to the Indy 500 who stayed here. Very enjoyable trip. I was alone and felt very safe. I will definitely be back for the Brickyard 400 in July.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Mendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Our staff takes pride in providing a friendly and secure environment for our guests. We are addressing all of the maintenance issues as well as the housekeeping issues. We are currently updating all of the sinks in the guests bathrooms. We certainly appreciate your continued business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by Lynn

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The best thing about the room was the price. To start with my card was double charged(they have promised to issue a credit). The air conditioning was entirely inadequate (88 degrees outside). Other than that the room was clean and people were polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We do strive to provide a clean, safe, and friendly environment for our guest. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable and that your card was double charged. We are working on getting that issue resolved and the issue with the air conditioning in your room has been addressed with our maintainenance staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by Betty Jane

NEED NEW HOUSEKEEPERS

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel in a great location, and the rates are reasonable. Upon entry of the motel, it looks dirty---needs more attention to detail. Our room had not been dusted. It seems like the housekeeping hardly does the minimum. Front desk team really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your business. I am sorry to hear that your room was not clean to your standards. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff and the cleanliness issue has been addressed with them. All of our staff takes pride in providing a clean and friendly environment.
4 out of 5
by Joy

One nighter

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Just passing through on a one night stay, quiet out of the way nothing fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you for staying with us here at the Super 8 Terre Haute. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and friendly environment for all our guests. We appreciate your business.