Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

The best you're gonna get for that kind of money

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The cost
Cons: Too numerous to mention here but suffice to say it is a hotel in transition
Location: It is located in an older area of the town off a major road and, as with any town, this area has a mixture of socio-economic residents.
For a holiday weekend, an area event, limited funds and not many other alternatives, this hotel was adequate to meet our needs...a place to sleep and change clothes for 4 nights. The a/c didn't work right. The male desk staff tried to be accommodating when possible. Pillows are a commodity lol. Like I said, if you have no other alternatives, our room was bug free at least. Cannot speak to quality of the continental breakfast provided but there are other food vendors available down the highway. Sorry but as a single woman who has traveled alone across country....Not recommended for a single lady travelling alone due to the area of town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place made me sad.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Update everything.
Old, old outdated room, saggy bed, and depressing lighting. I asked for a non-smoking room but got a smoking room. And it smelled like fifty smokers had just left the room moments before I arrived. My clothes smelled like smoke after I left. How is that possible? There are much better and newer budget motels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Nothing fancy plain simple clean convenient location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Not fancy, but sufficient

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: I loved the location and it had a refrigerator, a microwave, and a hair dryer.
Cons: The plywood that was used to separate the room balconies was quite worn and the carpet was filthy. They had an iron at the front desk, but no board.
Location: The location was fantastic! It was centrally located, but was right on hwy 41, which meant a lot of road noise.
The staff was extremely friendly and the room had everything necessary. It was not fancy, but was sufficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overnight stay

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: close to event I came for
Cons: Pool could have been open/cleaned
Pool was not open. Dining for breakfast had very small ( 3 little tables) not much selection
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean room. Friendly staff.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Staff very nice. Room clean & comfortable. For the price a good choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic Hotel, Good value for the price

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The person working the front desk was very personable and helpful.
Cons: The cleanliness of the furniture, such as night stand drawers could have been better.
I just needed a place to sleep while on a road trip, this hotel was a good value. It was clean and I had a good night's rest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel. Right off highway.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Nice people. Clean. Close to highway. No place to eat if you arrive late.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get less then you paid for !!

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: like? .... , , , , !!!
Cons: Start with a bulldozer and go from there.
If this is a two star then other hotels I have stayed at and paid the same for would be 10 STARS!!!!!! Don't expect to get a NON SMOKING room here ... they just spray the room down with Glad! and call them non smoking along with the burnt carpet. I was plaining on being here longer but will buy a TENT and stay at a local camp ground. The cost would be the same and a lot nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by Jay, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback. I apologize for a stay that did not meet expectations. We will pay closer attention to our non-smoking rooms to ensure such smells are eliminated and evaluate location of the non-smoking rooms with respect to smoking rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Terre haute

A stay in the bear's den.

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: The location works well for me. There is a dependable predictability about the place.
Cons: I would have breakfast open a bit later on weekends. I am an early riser but many are not.
Location: Location is excellent for my purposes.
The house of the Sleepy Bear was the go-to place long before anyone heard of Motel Six. If you want a comfortable bed and clean shower, this is it. It's not a spa. There's a 24 hour gym up the street if you're interested in that. The staff is helpful but they don't get in your hair. I like it that way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2016 by Jay, Hotel Management
Thanks for the positive feedback. We will strive to continue meeting expectations.