Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mark

Wonderful Cotswold Hotel and more..

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
What an absolute gem of a hotel! I would go back at the drop of a hat. I was away with my partner as we celebrated our anniversary. But also child friendly and will be back with our little one when they arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Celebrations

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Welcoming staff and food in the conservatory was excellent. Very relaxing lounges with log burners cosy atmosphere.
Cons: The Gumstool bar, we had lunch there, food was good, but service very slow.
Location: Country location, Westonbirt Arboretum close as is Highgrove house.
We chose Calcot to celebrate a special birthday and wedding anniversary, brilliant choice. Lovely location very tasteful and relaxing. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We had a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel, not large but had everything we needed. A birthday card and chocolates were left in our room. Very comfortable bed and pillows nice bathroom had lovely accessories. We couldn't get the television to work but this was sorted by maintenance. The Spa is excellent with outdoor hot tub and lovely log fire quite unique. We had 14 for a birthday lunch in the smaller dining area, it went very smoothly, excellent food, wine and service and we also had Sunday lunch for 10 which was excellent, must be tried, it's quite different as they do sharing platters and there is plenty of high quality food, excellent, I will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced spa hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Superb cosy hotel, very good customer service, excellent spa but very overpriced
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ledbury

Warm and friendly atmosphere

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: All good
Cons: Can't think !
Location: Tetbury and Malmesbury worth a visit
All good.Could not be better. What more can I say!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great place let down by terrible food

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Location is great, the spa and facilities are still well kept
Cons: Food, food, food - everything about it starting with the kitchen staff, menus, presentation and overall service.
Wonderful location and the room - deluxe was great however the food was extremely disappointing and at times dangerous. Went for a late lunch and literally had to return the greasy rock hard burger slammed between dollops of slimy mayo back to the kitchen - after one bite I felt literally sick and left the place immediately. That was the lunch in the pub area of the hotel which in the past used to be rather nice. Also the service was slow and unfortunately clueless too. Dinner was a slight improvement in terms of food safety but yet another disappointment in quality. What were to start with amazing oysters were presented in a bland and tasteless manner - oysters were removed from the shell, drained and after the shell was washed the oyster was put back in. The vinegar and challotte dip was replaced by a bowl of vinnagrette with balsamic which was immediately sent back. The beef was acceptable if only a tiny portion, the potatoes were tasteless so all in all a quick and painful dinner. The overnight sleep was very pleasant and the overall conditions of the room adequate yet seriously overpriced in term of value for money. Breakfast yet another disappointment in terms of quality, consistency and presentation. In such a loverly area one would think that patrons of such an upmarket establishment would try to source local high quality ingredients and secure the services of at least a decent chef who can manage to prepare an adequate breakfast. Massive disappointment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and stylish weekend getaway.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing and stylish weekend getaway. Amazing spa and restaurant facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in beautiful part of the country

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Hotel excellent very friendly and excellent facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Stayed for 1 night. Very spacious and comfortable room.