Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The check in was very good & quick & the staff friendly. the rooms are excellent. Very spacious and clean. I found the bed rather hard. We ate in the pub on our first night. It seemed as though all the staff were new. The service wasn't great and they all looked flustered & weren't very friendly. There was food all over the floor by the table next to us which wasn't pleasant. I only had cheese & biscuits which you can't really go wrong with however the rest of my families meals were mediocre. There is a lovely fire place with just candles in. It would be nice to have had the fire lit. the breakfast was out of this world. Absolutely delicious & lots of choices. But again the staff were very unfriendly & very serious! We didn't see any of them smile at all. We loved the hotel & grounds but the staff in the restaurants need to chill out a bit & be more friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SE Wales

Peaceful weekend break

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The peaceful location, the polite staff, the hot tub in our garden, the spacious Magnolia suite, the enjoyable breakfast ,the afternoon tea.
Cons: Air conditioning, instructions on regulating water temperature in hot tub, request for turn down service not to be overlooked twice.
Location: Peaceful and right next to Westonbirt Arboretum.
The Magnolia suite was spacious, comfortable and cosy with its own private garden and hot tub, which we loved, despite it being February. Breakfast was very good with polite waiting staff and a large variety of choices. We enjoyed afternoon tea in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Excellent hotel.perfect to unwind . peaceful locat

Posted Mar 3, 2017
This hotel is an excellent base fot ecploring the cotswolds.. at the end of a busy day the open log fire is very welcoming retreat before dinnrr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
An enjoyable stay with staff trying hard to add to the experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive to cover up some basic flaws

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Our eventual room was clean and the view was lovely
Cons: Attention to detail. Spacing in restaurant
Location: Short walk (better to drive) to Westonbirt Arboretum.
We arrived to find our twin room was simply a kingsize bed with single duvets ! We were told the restaurant was full until 9. We turned up early on the offchance and were told they had a cancellation of 6 people and could "fit us in" - on entering the dining room it was literally half empty ! It remained half empty with all guests were squashed into 1 end. We sent back a glass of wine for being warm and 2 glasses of champagne for being flat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed every minute of it and will return again. The staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble even though they were incredibly busy!! Food was most enjoyable, inventive and tasty. Service was wonderful. So was the gardens and ancient apple tree . Yummy apples.!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent location for Westonbirt Arboretum

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Westonbirt Arboretum. Newark Park, Tetbury and Cirencester and Cotswolds not far away. Also very close to Highgrove.
Nice hotel with good food. An old building in a lovely setting and easy to find. Most rooms are outside the hotel which is not a problem. Lovely toiletries and plenty of tea/coffee facilities with nice biscuits and bottled water. The room was large with a comfy bed and an excellent bath and shower with plenty of hot water. The only negative was the unpleasant smell in the room which we could not get rid of even by opening windows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Historical Stay, full of Character

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful historical hotel, with very friendly staff offering a highly personal service. Amazing setting, and beautiful grounds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas USA

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great, lovely hotel, beautiful gardens.
4 out of 5
by john

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and well appointed. We'd stay here again