Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old character pub with lovely log fire.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Cosy atmosphere in bar. Good food, excellent children’s menu.
Cons: Hopefully issues mentioned will be sorted out after the refurb. I might return again as location is superb, but will be checking reviews.
Location: In country.
Checked in with my grandson into a twin bedded room. Someone else’s rubbish was sitting in the bin. No tea bags on the tea tray. Went to pub to find member of staff to tell them. Given tea bags. Friendly staff. Spent two nights, but returning to room on 2nd night found room exactly as we had left it, therefore had not been serviced at all. Staff told, said they were sorry! No mattress protectors on beds. Told a refurbishment is imminent. Very poor sound proofing between rooms, hearing every cough etc!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea

Pleasant hotel with lovely surroundings

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Comfortable . Friendly staff. The staff were very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Good accommodation very close to wedding venue

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Comfortable stay, good breakfast and excellent customer service by owner and extended family
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedford

Run down and dirty

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Bathroom mel drew on bath walls windows dirty and need painting ,broken window catch, Mirror with paint over frame to lazy to clean off. Just general overall run down .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Lovely historic building. Good atmosphere

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Comfortable and clean room. Excellent food at reasonable price. Good bar. Wish it was my local.
Cons: Rooms a bit tred. Bathroom needs updating
Location: Close to historic and delightful Tetbury and Malmesbury. Close to M4
Very happy. Friendly and accomodating staff. Would heartily recommend and would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay at Hunters!

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great stopover! Lovely diving/pub which is very big and heritage. Very nice staff at check in and at breakfast. Delicious hot food + wide variety of buffet breakfast ..very generous. ..thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

Perfect night stop if attending an event at Matara

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I stayed here for my friends wedding just across the road at Matara. The staff were very accommodating considering we arrived 2 hours before check in time as we needed to get ready for the wedding. They gave us a room straight away. The facilities were as expected, it isn't a 5 star but it's as comfy as comfy gets! If you are staying here, I would just suggest the following: Try to get a room which isn't facing the main road as it gets busy and you can hear the cars go past at 60mph. Also crossing the road, be sure to pay extreme attention as it is the dodgiest crossing I've had to do! There's a blind bend and it's a national speed limit two way road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Character hotel, but in need of refurbishment.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Character
Cons: Needs decorating, updating. Gardens need attention.
Location: High Grove close by, and pretty towns/villages. Lots of antique shops.
A bit difficult to find. The food was very good and well priced. Staff friendly.On a busy road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

good hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Good hotel at a reasonable price
Location: Tetbury is a lovely town, also Highgrove Gardens are a delight.
Rooms were good and the staff very obliging. It suited where we were visiting. It is a quiet location but near to good roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We were there for a Funeral so not the best reason to visit. Good location. A bit noisy as on a busy road. Good food, breakfast was included and was good.