Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Nice hotel in lovely historical town

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern but with character and nice works of art!
Cons: explanation that the rooms on the front are very noisy
Location: Excellent location near to Prince Charles' resident at Highgrove. High security so you need to book to do a garden tour which was excellent.
First night was in a pleasant room but on the front of the hotel on the main road, therefore very noisy so we had to choose between open windows and too much noise or closed widows and too hot. The second night we switched to another room away from the noise and it was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had and also a beautiful room, Squires". Lovely decor and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Comfortable, friendly and relaxing.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Very hard to fault this lovely hotel. Very comfortable well fitted room, great staff, lovely garden and terrace. All round a really relaxing, cosy place. The choice of main courses in the Brasserie could be more inspiring though. Breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxford

nice hotel very central

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Central hotel and parking, clean and pleasant room
Only stayed one night as attending a wedding but pleasant enough stay
5 out of 5
by Arlene from NYC

A Great Find

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Customer service was very good. Also I usually stay in 4 Or 5 star accommodations unless I get a recommendation for a 3 Star, which we had with The Close. This hotel should be rated as a 4 Star Inn.
4 out of 5
by Maryellen from Dallas, Texas

Cozy boutique hotel in the center of it all

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
We couldn't have been happier with the room (thank you to the concierge for moving us to the garden view!), the service, cozy bar and delicious breakfast. In fact, the breakfast was top notch--we loved the amazing jams and marmalade, egg and and goat cheese cocotte. I have stayed in boutique hotels all over the world and rate The Close right up there with some of my most memorable visits.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east sussex

i it was a very comfortable overnight stay

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: the buildings ,the grounds ,sympathetic staff and the spacious well appointed room
Cons: I thought the food could be improved - it was too strong in flavour and not pleasing
Location: Tetbury is a wonderful, sleepy Cotswold village and we visited the nearby Highgrove gardens of HRH The Prince of Wales which was a memorableoccasion
The Spanish staff were very sympathetic and we enjoyed our overnight stay in Tetbury very much
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good place to stay for Badminton Horse Trials

Posted May 9, 2016
A good welcome at reception. A comfortable well appointed room, quiet and full of character. Excellent food and good service. My only criticism is that the car park took a bit of finding and there was not much space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Calm & delightful!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Brief relaxing stay in heart of the glorious Cotswolds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Atmospheric hotel beautifully renovated.

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had booked a superior garden view room. Rather smaller than we had thought with an "ordinary " bathroom. It didn't help that the friends we were travelling with who had booked a standard room were upgraded to a suite on arrival. I don't know how hotels choose guests for upgrade but Id like to find out! Breakfast really good and food in the main restaurant was excellent. Nice public rooms with a great buzz about the place. Tetbury very attractive place with the hotel right in the centre of the town. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room disappointing

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: good food
Cons: Noise levels. Need for effective double glazing . inadequate parking
Location: ok
The room was at the front of the hotel. There was constant traffic noise from 6am each morning . Room size was small. My advice is get a room at the back of the hotel . While we were scaffolding was present . Parking is a nightmare and there are limited spaces .