Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very un-organized

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We arrived at seven after booking our reservation two months or more in advance and receiving through Expedia that our room is been confirmed. I get to the front desk they do not have a reservation for me we stay in there for 30 minutes until manager comes over and push one button and we get a room. We get up to the room only to find a room still dirty bed unmade, used coffee cup on the desk, and dirty towels still in the bathroom. I called down to the front desk about this she said she could move us which we didn't have time to do or she have somebody come up and clean the room and she really appreciated our patience. I have used Expedia many times in the past to book hotels and never had an issue needless to say I will not be returning to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: high security
Cons: eventhough its a no smoking hotel, we could still smell smoke throughout but i guess that's to be expected with casino connected to hotel
Location: our plan to go was to casino so it was perfect that we could go to our room at any time to relax
was much needed spur of the moment trip fo us - hotel accomodations were great. Thinking about returning and staying an extra day to take advantage of additional hotel services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skimpy on the amenities.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Therè weren't many amenities offered. No breakfast included. The in room coffee pot included only two cups of coffee and no tea. There weren't enough linens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Winstar Hotel Experience

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Accomodationns
Cons: see above.
Overall we were pleased. That said there were several occasions when we asked questions of the staff and felt as though we were being quoted "corporate script" as opposed to treating us like the customer we wanted to be. Here are a couple examples: 1. The Cafe Arrived after the Johnny Mathis concert and asked to be seated. Hostess said we would have to wait until she retrieved the menus as there were many people just coming from the concert. After several minutes (there were no other guests in front of us), we still weren't seated...just standing, waiting while the 2 hostesses carried on a personal conversation...we asked for a mgr who very courteously seated us. After being seated, I did a quick survey and approx 65% of the tables were empty...which did not substantiate the reason we were told we had to wait. Once seated the service & food were very much up to expectations. 2. As we were checking out, we attempted to call the valet desk. We did this by pressing the "valet" button on the phone in the room. After a few rings, a voice answered, "front desk" . I explained I was attempting to call the valet desk....almost before I could complete that explanation I was told "valet doesn't take telephone requests" . Neither of these experiences would keep us from returning as the overall experience was fine. As someone who is in business with employees who deal with the public, it does however cause me to ask, " is the training a check the box endeavor that omits how the messa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Hotel rooms are nice but the casino...

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Tower rooms were quiet and the rooms seemed clean.
Cons: Air filtration. I might as well have smoked a couple packs during the two days that I was there.
Location: there is nothing to do nearby. There is only gambling, the event center and a pool or two to utilize while there.
I liked the hotel rooms and the staff were great, but the amount of smoke made it really uncomfortable to relax in the casino. And I know I am in a casino. It was tough to breathe at times. They need better filtration. I would not come back unless that changed. I have been to vegas and the casinos seem to have better filtration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Not really for children

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, room size and staff were all pleasing.
Cons: Year-round family type activities, away from the casino & outside walking paths throughout the property for non-gambling guests would be improvements.
Location: There is absolutely nothing to do close by.
The hotel was nice and clean, the staff was professional. For New Years Eve, there were quite a few children with not much to do. There were quite a few bored, unsupervised children in the hotel and casino
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grapevine, TX

Great after Christmas outing

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, and affordable
Cons: Later check out...noon
Location: definitely close to casino...golf...concerts... and anything else around
We really enjoyed our first stay at the Winstar. Everything was excellent. We will return before next Christmas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

smoke, food, customer service,

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: clean room
Cons: air filters maybe
Location: things to do nearby is non existent
smell of smoke everywhere except our room. made it impossible to venture out, due to my asthma. upon arrival agent was telling another guest hotel was smoke free? restaurant food at the el fennix restaurant was awful cold soup taste like water added right out the can queso was tasteless and cold customer service very lacking from wait staff we waited 15 minutes for water. server gave us food no napkins or silverware. other guest complained of dirty silverware with food still on them, ugh. we tried the terrace cafe service was awful and at the time we were only 2 of the 5 people in the place around 9: 30 pm. we were disappointed to say the least.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great trip

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Took my wife and her family this pass weekend had a great time, but there were some down falls. Could of been because of the Christmas holidays but the bathrooms were very dirty and alot of the trash can were over flowing had to walk around to find a place to find a trash can... People sitting down at games and not playing... But other then that everything else was good. From the moment we checked in to the point i went to sleep. The rooms were clean, beds were nice, bathroom in the room was clean...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garland, Texas

Everyone was Nice

Posted Dec 26, 2015
The rooms were really nice...The staff was friendly...The check in was fast & the check out was even faster....check out in the room was nice too...