Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the hotel is nice

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: I needed to get away from it all so it was just right for two nights.
Cons: bad wifi.
Location: there is nothing to do nearby. I rented a motorbike for two days but returned it after day 1.
it was nice, big hotel right at the beach. Quiet. staff was good and helpful. A few pools and one is huge/long. the area is super quiet. Not much at all to do so it is a great place to go relax.
4 out of 5
by Nilesh

Value for money among the 5 stars in Mai Khao

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is very quiet, we were upgraded to a pool access room. The breakfast is good. there are a few pools in this hotel that makes most of the guests spread out, that make it feel that there is no one here. the best is the beach. clear water, white sand and not many dogs or people trying to sell you stuff (a change from Patong). we had a few friends staying at the regent and SALA (these are 5 start hotels) a taxi from D Varee cost 500 Baht but you can walk from the beach in less that 10min, most hotels have a open concept unlike in Paton and guests are free to wonder around any hotel. given the price and location, I would say D Varee was a great value for money but if you are here to party then you are in the wrong place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

So sad so disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and pleasant. The actual buildings of the resort have huge potential which made my visit even sadder as I could it.
Cons: The standard of rooms, room inclusions- TV, room service food, Wifi, shuttle to local shops, breakfast to look like as usual in other resorts/hotels
Location: There were none you were completely isolated. I did find somewhere along beach for a massage but greatly overpriced
Classified as a 4 star this was barely a 2 star. even after viewing 3 rooms my room looked like it had only an undercover of paint, cigarette burns on desk top incl coffee cup rings. Free Wifi did not work in my room. No English speaking TV. no umbrella, no bathrobe or slip pons until my 5th day. Room service food inedible. Breakfast not as displayed on website totally self service incl cutlery. Had to limited breakfast each day to toast and fruit drink, everything else. yuk. On arrival advised not to use doe of pools as was not clean. Water was green and during my stay only saw a small external filter being used not unsuitable for sizes of the three pools. Air conditioning unit leaked into floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Throughly enjoyed our stay

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Had a great stay at the D Varee. Just what we needed after a long day travelling to Thailand. Friendly welcoming staff, nice breakfast and a great beach with a little swing which we enjoyed. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Couple of bad points to make: bed a bit hard and quite far from local shops/restaurants.
1 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
nice beach and room even though be far from city.
2 out of 5
by Lucas from Rock n' roll

The hotel when arrive looks nice but miss life!

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Swimming pool looked dirty water. Booked taxi and next morning no one knew about it, poor communication. Staff at the restaurant very poor, slow... We went to holiday inn for dinner, there they had good food, drinks and great staff. The hotel looks nice but misses a good atmosphere, needs to be more live.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Quite far from the airport

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Wotif
Six hundred baht each way is the standard fare in either a taxi or hotel mini bus. Nice hotel but too far from the airport to be convenient.
2 out of 5
by cb from Johannesburg

You won't get any rest.

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
The walls are paper thin, you can hear stomping from people above you, snoring from people in the rooms next door to you, evey voice that makes a sound in the corridors and farting from people in the rooms below. This hotel is way overpriced for Thailand.
4 out of 5
by Hugo from South Africa

great for relaxing

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. Staff were amazing, very helpful and conscientious. not a lot to do apart from relaxing next to the pool or the beach.