Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to M40

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Taps in the bathroom need changeing to mixer tap because the current version they have will burn you if your not careful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel with excellent gym

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Great base to see the surrounding area and the best that Oxford has to offer. B&B package through Expedia.com made this hotel more affordable. Coming from Scotland we found the bar and food a bit pricey but no different to anywhere else in the Oxford area. Small busy pool area but adequate for needs. Changing facilities cleaner than poolside. A hot tub/jacuzzi would have improved the experience.The gym was very well equipped, clean and with air conditioning. All the staff at the Oxford Belfry were courteous and helpful from reception to dining/bar and room cleaning team. However I did not manage to find the 17 acres of woodland and stunning gardens which I was hoping to walk through and explore???
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review, Mojo. The hotel is set in 17 acres which includes the grounds in and around the hotel. We don't have woodland I'm afraid. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Adequate

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern.
Cons: Monitor pool area and a bit more coordination at breakfast.
Location: There's a nice restraunt just down the road and the park and ride for Oxford is an easy trip.
The hotel was nice enough, staff except for at brekfast were excellent, the breakfast staff were a bit dissorganised. The pool area needed policing as there was roudy behavious from some guests disrupting the place for others. I'd not have rated it 4 stars, more like 3.5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Simon, and suggestions for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Another enjoyable stay at the Belfry

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Staff,room leisure
Cons: Coffee at breakfast
Location: Just of the M40 motorway just outside Oxford, good for visiting Oxford and Blenhiem palace, Waterperry gardens and the town of Thame is close by
This was our second visit and once again we had a very enjoyable stay. The atmosphere here is very calm and relaxed all the staff are helpful and seem happy. The room was large and comfortable WiFi was excellent. Leisure pool although not large was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, hbh. I'm delighted that you had another enjoyable stay with us at The Oxford Belfry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham

Convenient hotel close to Oxford

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Wanted a hotel where we could visit Oxford easily. Hotel had all the facilities we required. Pool, sauna, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review, Rob. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Oxford Belfry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Watford

Comfortable but corporate

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable
Cons: Reception at bit slow. Room not ready for us on arrival (after check in time)
Location: Pub next door not much cop, Bicester shopping village not far but it gets very very crowded, mostly with Chinese coach parties.
We stayed here because of its proximity to a nearby wedding venue. The hotel was larger than we thought, so the spa was a little crowded. There was quite a journey to our room and the lift broke down. The restaurant struggled to cope with the numbers at breakfast. On the plus side the rooms were very comfortable and clean and the hotel was generally quiet, despite the nearby M40. Staff very helpful. Please note the hotel itself hosts several weddings at weekends and expect large numbers of well-lubricated guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Bob.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

One hot night in June

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Stayed in June when weather was very hot, air-conditioning was brilliant, breakfast excellent. The floor boards in room above creaked when occupant walked about, which made us laugh but could have been bad if they were really noisy or heavy footed. Swimming pool was very small. Reception were helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Sam. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent in all aspects

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: see abov
Cons: swimming pool
we had an excellent 2 night stay all the staff were welcoming and very helpful, food was very good and in all aspects a very successful stay. enjoyed the swimming pool although could be larger.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Close to Oxford and Woodstock but that's it...

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Upon arriving at the hotel I was completely taken a back. It looked run down and nothing like the pictures. But we went it because (1) we had just traveled 3 hours and (2) I wouldn't be able to make different arrangements immediately. Check in was quick. I was then informed that my child would only be able to use the pool during certain hours( basically prime touring hours). The pool was one of the main reasons for booking here and now we wouldn't be able to use the pool. Next we arrive in our room which was insufferably hot. The window barely opens and there was no AC. I called the front desk to ask for a fan and was told that they do not have any available. I asked if one could be brought when it was returned as we are staying for three nights and they said absolutely( although we never received a fan). The room was dated and smelled very musty. When we took a shower I found the reason why. The shower does not have a proper fan so the room gets very humid and steamed up. The bathroom ceiling and floor had traces of mold on them. So in conclusion I would not recommend this facility. It certainly wasn't a VIP 4 star hotel like it was listed to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back, Kassey, we are sorry that you were disappointed with our facilities. We have a number of upgraded rooms with air cooling, but perhaps these were not available when you stayed with us. So that our guests are informed prior to booking, the children's swimming times are noted on our health club and spa pages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Staff were so helpful

Posted Jun 5, 2017
A two night stay with kids. Whilst the hotel needs a little decorative TLC the staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by JWhite, Hotel Management
I'm delighted to hear that the team looked after well. Thank you for your feed back, Sarah.