Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Affordable hotel very convenient to Tanglewood.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Our room was nice, lovely bedding. Breakfast was outstanding for a free continental style,fresh fruit, waffles, bagels, cereal etc. set up in a room overlooking the lake. The only thing odd about the room was the lack of a closet, or even a clothes stand. There was no where to hang up jackets etc. It might be awkward if you were staying more than one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice Stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Had a nice balcony facing lake Good comp breakfast w/ waffles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, convinience

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Cons: Breakfast could use some improvement...
Location: Nature hikes, mountains, Tanglewood concerts
The hotel is located in an amazing spot, right on the lake shore. Be aware that only one side of the building faces the Laurel lake, the other one faces the road. We got the road side and we were just fine. The breakfast room offers gorgeous view of the lake. There is also a dock with several recreational vessels available for rent, as well as Adirondack chairs to sit on and enjoy the view. Various local places of interest (such as towns, mountain hikes and summer entertainment locations) are within short drives or bike rides (by the way, the hotel rents bikes too). The onsite Indian restaurant is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. California

Absolutely lovely!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Despite the clouds and sometimes rainy weather, this was a wonderful place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice location in the Berkshires.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: clean and very comfortable
Cons: hallways and stairways need updating
Location: Spectacular location in the Berkshires on a lovely lake.
I stayed at the Black Swan Inn in April 2017. I had requested a room on the first floor but when I arrived my room was on the 2nd floor. I showed them my reservation receipt that showed I had made a request and that Expedia had gone to the trouble of confirming with the staff that it would be arranged. The hotel was hosting an event that evening and since I was the last guest to check in they could not move me to a first floor room. I explained that my reason for the request was because of a back injury and if someone could just bring my bags up it would be fine, which they graciously did. The room was very comfortable and clean. It had a lovely gas fireplace but the town of Lee had changed the local fire ordinances and the hotel was no longer able to have it operable. But there was a deep tub with jets which was just the thing for my tired back after driving from Boston. The Indian restaurant at the hotel was very good but does not serve alcohol so bring your own wine or head over to the local pub just up the road. A great stay for a good value and I would certainly stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our favorite place to stay!

Posted May 5, 2017
We stay at this lovely hotel every time we travel. Always have a wonderful time when we stay here. The staff here is wonderful,always friendly and helpful. The lake is beautiful and there is a lovely walk through the woods and fields. We love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New England charm

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Very, very clean. We stayed at a national chain establishment the night before in another state and we arrived at the Black Swan after 7pm and what a relief. Everything was so neat and clean compared to the previous night. Loved the set of 3 steps leading to the main stairway, a touch of New England B&B charm in this dynamite location in the Berkshire's. Hope to get out there to enjoy one of the other seasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great meeting point

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Lee, Massachusetts and The Black Swan Inn were the perfect meeting point for my son and I. Very comfortable and quiet, the Inn's location helped us access all the shopping and dining we sought out. The ample breakfast included every detail one could desire. We will be back!
4 out of 5
by Brenda

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Black Swan is a pleasant hotel. The view of the lake is beautiful and the employees are very friendly. The noise from the hall was a little loud (there was an exuberant toddler nearby who like to run) and the WIFI was not great, but not too different from most hotels. Breakfast was fine, but would have appreciated a little protein (had waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt). We would definitely go back and book a lake side room next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lake

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Well located and comfortable stay. Good hiking map options were appreciated and helped to have glorious weather. Chez Nous in town was just OK. found better outside of Lee. We are not breakfast eaters so wasnt a problem, but pure carbs only mainly out of the box.