Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to skiing

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Excellent breakfast, spa and very friendly Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

nice location - rooms need updating

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel is in an nice location and the grounds are nice. The rooms need updating - popcorn ceilings and 1960's shower head in an otherwise unattractive bathroom made me feel like I had way overpaid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, CT

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We had a wonderful pre-Valentine's Day get-away. Beautiful location, lovely room, excellent food, wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Orbitz
went for a day to relax in the spa - great fitness and yoga classes, and outstanding massage
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We went for Thanksgiving and had booked the buffet dinner for 6pm. We were eventually seated at 7pm - with little apology. The service was dreadful, we had to ask 3 times to order drinks. The buffet was a very sad display of left overs that had been massacred earlier on in the day. There was no lamb left, the cranberry sauce and gravy were all but scrapes in the bottom of the dish. No real vegetarian option - just pasta or vegetables. Coffee was served in very unattractive mugs, milk was delivered about 6 mins later, no spoons. Dessert table was very sad - very little choice and what was left was fairly unappetizing. We did complain about the serve which was noted with a refund. But it certainly wasn't a good meal I would not want to go there again for a holiday as the staff were not able to cope with the amount of guests. Also room service was a bit sloppy and 4 phone calls we eventually got served. On a positive the hotel was clean, room was nice albeit a little warm even with A/C. Pool was great, spa services were very nice and staff good and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant Resort

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is beautiful and the room extravagant. Unfortunately, my partner was on crutches and the Mansion was not very mobility-challenged user friendly. We worked it out. The breakfast was delicious, but a bit expensive for breakfast. Overall, a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Historic, and Scenic

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
My room was in the mansion and beautiful! I enjoyed walking the property and taking in the mountain views and fall foliage. There was ample parking. I wish my room had been a bit cleaner but otherwise all customer service was superb. Everyone I met who worked there went above and beyond to ensure that I had a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: We stayed in the carriage house and it was gorgeous.
Cons: As expected, wedding party goers made quite a bit of noise as they came back to their rooms at night but it was short-lived and understandable.
Location: Gorgeous hikes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Over priced Howard Johnson

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Mansion restaurant and the delicious food and great wine selection.
Cons: Terrible tavern restaurant. Too low class for the expense of the hotel. Average spa at best.
Location: Lenox was great. Loved Rockwell museum. Great variety.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The decor in the room was very outdated and in need of an upgrade, bathroom especially; carpet smelled heavily of cleaner which got better with airing out but still noticeable. Beds were ok but not great. Gym/ spa facilities were lovely and the all the facility staff was very helpful polite. We had trouble figuring out the heat in our room and building services arrived within 2 minutes literally, to fix it. The grounds are gorgeous and impeccable. Would have been happier if the room had been nicer
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to offer your comments following your recent visit to Cranwell. Your suggestions are appreciated and comments relating to the facility and improvements are very much in-line with the direction that I see the new property owners focusing on in the future. We are in the early stages of these discussions so timing and priorities have not been determined but I do hope this process will address a number of the concerns you found during your visit. Again, thank you for your thoughts and ideas and I do hope I have a chance to welcome you back some time in the not-too-distant future. Sincerely, Victor Cappadona General Manager