Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CT

Quick get away

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms and relaxing spa
Location: This is a golf resort so you can stay on premise if you choose but Lenox, Lee and Great Barringto have lots to offer from art galleries to fine dining
My wife and I decided to do a local getaway in the middle of the week before Easter. We were impressed with the accomadations, staff and spa. The only on premise meal we had was at tne Tavern. Food was what you would expect from a pub but on the pricey side. High marks for friendly service.
2 out of 5
by Stacey

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived the room was extremely warm, so my boyfriend and I put the AC on and left. When we returned a few hours later it was even warmer and the temp read at 90 degrees. We notice the vent was blowing out hot air. I called the front desk the told me they cannot turn the AC on in the building because technically it was still winter even though the outside temp was warm. They said the could bring us a fan and we explained we would be leaving for dinner. When we arrived back from dinner in the middle of a storm, there was no fan in the room and it was still 90 degrees. I called the front desk back and he explained that they ran out of fans. Seriously?! The front desk (JD, I believe was his name) then instructed me to open a window. I explained in the middle of a storm like this with all of the rain why would we open a window?! That was our only option so we did. It got so windy at night with the storm that the wind was blowing so hard creating a banging sound on our door. It sounded like someone was breaking in every 10 minutes and neither of us every slept. In the middle of the night I got up to close the window because the wind was awful. Needless to say, it was an awful experience. We spoke with the hotel and they said their was nothing they can do. I would never go back to the Cranwell again. It was the worst weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to skiing

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Excellent breakfast, spa and very friendly Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

nice location - rooms need updating

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel is in an nice location and the grounds are nice. The rooms need updating - popcorn ceilings and 1960's shower head in an otherwise unattractive bathroom made me feel like I had way overpaid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, CT

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We had a wonderful pre-Valentine's Day get-away. Beautiful location, lovely room, excellent food, wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Room was on the first floor near reception. Not a very ideal spot.
4 out of 5
by cathal

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay , thought that the bathroom in rm 205 was outdated and in need of modernization or at least bring back to original style. Breakfast was not great .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Orbitz
went for a day to relax in the spa - great fitness and yoga classes, and outstanding massage
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We went for Thanksgiving and had booked the buffet dinner for 6pm. We were eventually seated at 7pm - with little apology. The service was dreadful, we had to ask 3 times to order drinks. The buffet was a very sad display of left overs that had been massacred earlier on in the day. There was no lamb left, the cranberry sauce and gravy were all but scrapes in the bottom of the dish. No real vegetarian option - just pasta or vegetables. Coffee was served in very unattractive mugs, milk was delivered about 6 mins later, no spoons. Dessert table was very sad - very little choice and what was left was fairly unappetizing. We did complain about the serve which was noted with a refund. But it certainly wasn't a good meal I would not want to go there again for a holiday as the staff were not able to cope with the amount of guests. Also room service was a bit sloppy and 4 phone calls we eventually got served. On a positive the hotel was clean, room was nice albeit a little warm even with A/C. Pool was great, spa services were very nice and staff good and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant Resort

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is beautiful and the room extravagant. Unfortunately, my partner was on crutches and the Mansion was not very mobility-challenged user friendly. We worked it out. The breakfast was delicious, but a bit expensive for breakfast. Overall, a lovely stay.