Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: We stayed in the carriage house and it was gorgeous.
Cons: As expected, wedding party goers made quite a bit of noise as they came back to their rooms at night but it was short-lived and understandable.
Location: Gorgeous hikes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Over priced Howard Johnson

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Mansion restaurant and the delicious food and great wine selection.
Cons: Terrible tavern restaurant. Too low class for the expense of the hotel. Average spa at best.
Location: Lenox was great. Loved Rockwell museum. Great variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithtown, NY

Perfect getaway

Posted Sep 25, 2016
I booked this resort at the last minute on Expedia. Beautiful property. Clean room. Delicious food. Great shopping in Lenox. Close to Kripalu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Beautiful setting and great for golf

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I'm not a golfer. Beautifully maintained grounds and facilities. However I found the level of service to be sub standard given the profile of the resort. Also, given the rates and daily resort fee I would have expected there be complimentary amenities including an afternoon tea shuttle service bikes etc. I would recommend for golfers only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way over priced for a hotel stuck in the 1970s

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The staff were not very friendly with the exception of the bartender at the Castke who was great. The rooms were priced like a 5 star hotel but looked like they hadn't been renovated since the 1970s I had to kill multiple insects in the room throughout the short stay. The pool was like a motel pool with guests scavanging for lounge chairs. The area Lenox is beautiful with not so ideal accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Be careful about what you see on Expedia as advertisement for this hotel. They tend to show you the mansion but you will end up in other amenities in their hotel that are at best 2-Star and very mediocre! Mattress in the room was very uncomfortable and ended up having back pain for the rest of our trip. Air condition made noises for the whole night and overall, we didn't have good experience! There are many cute B&B's in the area that may be much better options!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful Location But a Bit Long in the Tooth.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. The mansion where the restaurant was lovely as was the food and the staff was very nice. The spa was great too.
Cons: I really think that the accommodations have to be drastically upgraded. There may be other rooms or buildings that are nice, but I didn't see them.
We have visited the Cranwell grounds and facilities many times before (our friends have a home on the property) and you cannot beat the views and the grounds. But, this was our first time as registered guests and we were truly disappointed with the rooms and accommodations. We were first put into an old attic room in a very old building which was claustrophobic. When we complained, the put us in the Griswald cottage (something from "Vacation"). It was just old and smelly. The outside had peeling paint, cobwebs and the like. The bathroom was small and the tiles were coming up, the safe didn't work, etc. The room was just very depressing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Rooms need an update

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The landscape, the area is beautiful
Cons: An update of the rooms or lower the price.
Location: Visit the National Shrine of the Divine Mercy. I will never forget that church for the rest of my life. Visit Tanglewood. Vist Norman Rockwell Museum
Rooms need an update. Nothing looks like the pictures they are showing on the web site. The AC is noisy.Carriage House rooms are more updated. Cottage rooms were very small. The landscape and the area are beautiful.At the end when I came home I realized that they did not charge me the Expedia price, bur their own price which was higher. I called them and waiting on the refund. I would say it is expensive for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cranwell Resort

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Complete resort.
Cons: No.
Location: Close to Tanglewood and Rockwell museum.
Hotel was great. Our room over looked the golf course. Food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flawless Accommodations

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Courtesy
Location: This resort is close to everything in and around the Berkshires.
We had reservations at a local BnB "Whistler Inn~We have a small quiet rescue dog we travel with wherever we go. We wound up at the Cranwell Resort that next morning based on the location of where the Innkeepers at the Whistler placed us! We were escorted to the doghouse section~under a garage~filled with a musty smell~damp~bugs in the shower and cobwebs everywhere. Not knowing the area accommodations, we expected a higher rate for pet friendly accommodations. We extended our stay based on the exceptional room and service at the Cranwell. we shall return!