Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronxville, NY

Eastover Estate a completely relaxing getaway.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Near The Mount, Edith Wharton's house. Excellent!
The Eastover Estate is not an hotel per se and anyone wanted an hotel-like experience will be disappointed. However, if you know what to expect it exceeds those expectations. It is a beautiful old main house where you can eat, study, relax and just enjoy. The cabins are immaculate. The only criticism of them is that the pillows are not soft. It is perfectly located for hiking and doing things in the Lenox area. What really makes the place work, however, is the staff. They go out of their way to accommodate. We needed a cutting board and knife for cheeses that we had packed for our hike and they gave us one to use. They are very pleasant and accommodating. I cannot say enough about how they make the stay positive. We had a very relaxing time, doing some work during the weekend and also hiking and enjoying Lenox. Will definitely consider staying again if we get up that way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, excellent chef and views

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Excellent chef and mountain views, friendly staff, but Bed was uncomfortable and furniture looked old. I Would return after current renovations are finished. It was clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Grounds
Location: Lenox Mass. Tanglewood was great!
Found a nice place to stay at. Relaxing & quiet. Nice location, close to everything in and around Lenox.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The grounds were expansive. The rooms were very clean and inside were well-maintained. The location is convenient to Tanglewood and Lenox.
Cons: A lot of the buildings and grounds were tired and could use some attention.
Location: Just minutes from Lenox and Tanglewood and convenient to Stockbridge and everything these Berkshire towns have to offer.
For a weekend stay in Lenox, the facility and experience was quirky. The campus is clearly meant for retreats, classes, and healing experiences. In that context, I'm sure it's a fine experience. It has more of a retreat or summer camp feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Something truly special

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Location: Location is great, Lenox and Tanglewood 5 minutes drive.
A huge estate in the process of being transformed into a resort and spiritual retreat. Allows to disconnect from the daily hassle. Spiritual relaxation available and included, however no need nor pressure to participate. Staff very kind and passionate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property and a lovely stay.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Location: Eastover is in the heart of the Berkshires - a million things to do within an hour's distance, & Lenox/Tanglewood/Shakespeare & Co just minutes away.
Eastover is a gorgeous property with lovely views of the Berkshires. Very peaceful just minutes from downtown Lenox. Had a lovely stay, was well looked after by the staff who seemed genuinely invested in my comfort etc. My room was comfortable but not luxurious (this isn't a Cranwell type resort) and well priced for a summer weekend stay in a popular destination, especially with a fairly hearty breakfast each morning. I'd happily return the next time I was in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

One of the worst hotel experiences

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: The big mistake is not renovating the estate itself and putting the rooms in the estate. It would be far better to have fewer rooms that are appealing
Location: Tons to do nearby -- museums, lakes, hikes, restaurants, sight-seeing.
This hotel rivaled the experiences I had as a college student back-packing in Europe and staying at youth hostels. To begin with you arrive at the most beautiful estate, only to find that the rooms are in awful little cabins behind the estate. The cabins are awful -- poorly lit, uncomfortable beds with scratchy sheets, no hot water in the shower, air conditioning that did not work, water pipes running through the ceiling above the beds and bugs in the bed. I woke up with a bug attached to my back. The sheets were so itchy I thought there was dirt on them. The grounds absolutely give you the feeling of Great Expectations -- with decay all around what was once glorious. I obviously will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Boston, MA, USA

Interesting Old Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Pros: indoor swimming pool, spacious grounds, nice breakfast
Cons: Still working on the restoration
Location: on outskirts of Lenox, easily accessible, close to everything
Eastover Hotel is an interesting large old hotel, being restored and reopened in July. On the edge of Lenox, close to everything but not in the center. One incredible feature is a separate building with a beautiful indoor pool, looking out at the Berkshire Hills. A good sized breakfast (eggs, sausages, potatoes, waffles, biscuits, fruit, juices, etc--more than a continental breakfast) is served on the back porch from 8-10am. Rooms are neat and simple. I would return there next summer.