Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Inn but Creepy Inn Keeper.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The in is historic and meticulously maintained, however the Inn Keeper is a bit on the creepy side and cheap. He chased after my sister and family when they arrived to join me for breakfast to not park how they had parked. While there is parking in the back of the inn there is no specifically marked spaces. The following morning when I was going to check out and ski early he again ran out form the back of the inn as I went to bring my car around, pack and leave. Lastly, he offered a physical NYTimes paper, but then asked if it was in my room and proceeded to say no matter, when you leave to go skiing I will enter your room and take it. Gorgeous Inn but seriously Creepy Inn Keeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old inn

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Location: It's the Berkshires! Lots going on year round.
Beautiful old inn in an early 1800s mansion, lovely ambiance, and great location on route 102 very close to Stockbridge. Wine and cheese etcetera in the parlor at 5. Nice homemade breakfast in the antique dining room with views of the wooded hillside in the rear of the inn. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Truly enjoyed my too brief stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hanover, MA

A very romantic getaway weekend.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Our room was very tasteful decorated. We loved the gas fire place. The feel of the Inn is very comfortable.
Cons: not a thing. Our hosts were very welcoming.
Location: The Inn is close to the Mass Turnpike, so it was easy to get to. We had dinner in Great Barrington at the Castle Street Café, which was perfect.
My wife and I loved our stay at the Federal House Hill this weekend. It is incredibly charming. Breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The gourmet breakfasts were outstanding in this low key, charming b&b. Our room was quite small and the bathroom was tiny, but we loved the whole experience. The hosts were were solicitous and friendly, but not overly so as happens in many other places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Weekend stay at the Federal Inn

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Federal Inn. The inn keepers were very friendly and always very helpful with suggestions of places to go and directions. The only thing to be aware of- the wireless access is horrible. We tried to get internet services in our room, the front porch, the hallway, the parlor, the breakfast area- pretty much everywhere we could think of and never managed to get a strong enough signal to access the wireless. But other than that, our stay was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Mass

Right down the road from Stockbridge

Posted Sep 13, 2015
We had a lovely stay in this period Inn. The owners were delightful, our room, Yale Hill, was lovely, and the breakfast was delicious. I'm Gluten Free, and they easily accommodated. Stockbridge is right down the street. We visited the Clark Museum, Norman Rockwell Museum, and had dinner at the Red Lion Inn. A wonderful weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from Cortlandt Manor, NY

Great Place to Get Away From It All

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous. We have already booked another stay. Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast. Hosts and staff were gracious. Beautiful and relaxing property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

B&B in the Bershires

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The hotel is very close to where you may want to visit and things to do. Chocolates, brandy, and a nice living area to enjoy it were all provided.
Cons: From our room (Beartown) there is noticeable road-noise if the windows are left open, which detracted from the delightful forest setting.
Location: Local towns and events (Tanglewood).
Stayed for two nights in August in order to attend a Tanglewood concert. See Naumkeg House if you have a chance, it a lovely perfectly maintained summer home that has tours and beautiful gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabeth from Washington, DC

Where to stay for Tanglewood

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely Inn in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Lovely and comfortable inn. Outstanding breakfast.