Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2017
This hotel does what it says. Convenient, comfortable, pleasant modern decor, nice cafe on the ground floor (25% discount with your room key)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The third Citadines I've stayed in.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The room, the kitchenette, the cafe off the lobby.
Cons: People need to be aware that not all the rooms have kitchenettes.
Location: I liked the location more than I expected, even though I don't like the Barbican or the housing estate across the road. A Waitrose is nearby.
We stayed 8 nights and wanted a kitchenette. We looked at all the Citadines and found the lowest price at the Citadines Barbican. I was a little wary of the location, because I don't like the Barbican architecture and planning, which dominates the street. But we were pleasantly surprised by the renovated rooms, the ease with which we could walk to places we liked, and how frequently the nearby Barbican tube stop was convenient for where we were going. The renovated room was nicer than the rooms at other Citadines where I've stayed. The kitchenette had a combination convection oven / microwave oven that worked well. Be aware that more than 40 of the renovated rooms do not have kitchenettes, and that was not obvious when we chose our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stockholm, Sweden

Excellent stay - very modern and comfy

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I would definitely stay here again. Not super luxury as an apartment hotel but very high standard and comfy rooms with modern decor. Having a kitchen mean so you can can save money on lunches and breakfast etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice but noisy

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Room was spotlessly clean and well-appointed. Comfortable bed and good pillows. Lovely bathroom. Great location. However the odd layout with two rooms sharing an internal lobby means that you hear two doors slam very loudly every time your neighbour enters or leaves. On my final night the adjacent room was occupied by loud partygoers with a constant parade of visitors. I complained to reception but the noise continued until they went out at 1am, and began again on their return at 4am. On check-out I complained again. The manager was apologetic and gave me a voucher for a free breakfast. I would probably stay here again, but only if I could get one of the rooms with its own entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by M.R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice feedback. We are sorry to hear you experienced this issue, and we can guarantee it won't happen again in a future stay. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location really nice bar/ cafe attached

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Only issue is the lack of parking otherwise good choice
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by M.R., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your nice feedback, we would be very happy to welcome you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value and very helpful staff

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The room was nice & good value. Most importantly, the staff were very kind and helpful in helping out with a sudden illness.
Location: The location is ok (central London), but if you like the Barbican Centre then it is excellent.
The room was very nice and very good value for money (we had an unexpected upgrade, which was a welcome surprise). But the outstanding thing about the hotel was that the staff were very kind and helpful in helping out with a sudden illness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Anne C, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that we were able to help you out when there was an illness. I am glad you liked the room and found it to be good value. We do hope we can get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne C
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Room had a kitchenette which was really nice for making breakfast. Clean, spacious bathroom and comfortable bed. Good central location. Friendly, professional staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind rating, this is very much appreciated. We are glad you liked the room and found it to be comfortable. We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne C
5 out of 5
by SUSAN

Good value, good quality hotel in central London

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
excellent good value hotel well located for our purpose, with simple functional facilities - everything we needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for your kind rating. This is very much appreciated. I am glad you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel was well located for your purpose. We do hope we can get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne C
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ans confortable hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Modernity, and decoration!
Cons: Branding : it is not clear if all rooms have a kitchen... This point need to be clarify when we are doing reservation.
Location: Beautiful food street, modern building, the City (banks, stock exchange, universities, etc.). Underground, bus and urban commodities... Nice environme
I spent 4 nights! It was really pleasant and agreeable time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Anne C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind rating. This is very much appreciated. I am glad you liked the modern look and the new concept. Regarding the branding, this has all been changed now so and should be fully explained what room is what at booking stage. We do hope we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne C
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate New York

Clean comfortable hotel in interesting neighborhoo

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We have been to London a number of times and stayed in a more touristy area. This hotel was great and we were very happy with it. There is a wonderful café right off the lobby that has everurging One could possibly need for snacks and light meals and also wines and beers. The staff is hopeful and lovely in both the café and the hotel. The neighborhood is wonderfully diverse and interesting with many options for dining and cultural experiences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Anne C, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for your kind rating. This is very much appreciated. I am glad you have a comfortable stay and that you liked the partnership with our café in the lobby area. We do hope we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Anne C