Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin/MA

Good hotel. Clean modern.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Clean and modern room with little extras. Only negative thing is that the bathroom was small with very little surfaces to work on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Montcalm

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Lovely hotel. Full of character. Only gripe was smell of damp next to a limited gym
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Hotel is well located and quiet.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The room was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable, but tight; could not fully open the closet door because of proximity of nightstand and bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Great hotel in the City of London

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Rooms, staff, location.
Location: Barbican's, St Paul's, Guildhall, Bank of England plus a huge rage of restaurants and bars.
We have been staying at the Montcalm in the City for several years and it's always excellent. Rooms are luxurious and well appointed. Staff are always welcoming and helpful. Plus a great location in the City, a few minutes walk from all the main sites, i.e. Bank, St Paul's, Barbican, etc. Nevertheless, it is a calm, relaxing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Very good London Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and comfort
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location within 6/7 minutes walk of either Barbican or Moorgate tube stations so a good choice of services to get anywhere in London.
Good location within 6/7 minutes walk of either Barbican or Moorgate tube stations so a good choice of services to get anywhere in London. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable, my wife was celebrating a special birthday during our stay and the hotel had decorated the bed with petals and balloons on arrival plus left a complimentary bottle of wine when we returned in the evening. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by Angad

3 rooms in 2 nights - A leaking experience

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed there for 2 nights. First of all (and this is more on hotels.com descriptions) they have a bunch of Montcalm properties around this area. I booked the London City Suites by Montcalm, but got put in their other "brewery" hotel rooms. When I asked them this, they said all rooms are the same under the brand. But then why the different rates? I was unable to get a clear answer. But the bigger issue is that on my second (and last) night I noticed a substantial leak coming in the bathroom from the roof above. I assume this happened when the room above guest showering. This was at 5am and I immediately called the front desk and because they had no maintenance people at that time I was moved to another room. Had to pack all my items up and in my night suit I moved my stuff to another room (no help provided). I got to that their replacement room, which was used! It was 5:30am at this time and I was not a happy camper. They eventually then found me another room across the road at another property so I dragged my stuff there. I got there showered and left by 7:30am. So a terrible last day. When I told them at reception, the lady there just said it is what it is and asked me to check out as there was another line of customers waiting. So much for premier hotel service. I paid $400 USD p/night for these rooms and definetly not worth it. I (and my company reports) will likely not be returning here anytime soon if this is the service we get for this level of pricing.
3 out of 5
by John

Average but only paid £105 per night

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms have no switches and are controlled by a panel, this is lit all night and kept me awake, also the heating cooling is poorly controlled. Otherwise it is ok not 5 star though
5 out of 5
by Sanny

Highly recommended

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service, love the amenities, great hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy bed

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
I was 'upgraded' at checkin to a Club Room. I'm not sure how this was different from the room I'd booked. It suited my requirements but was nothing particularly special. Sash windows meant there was quite a bit of road noise. We could hear the floorboards creaking upstairs and the hair drier didn't work. The bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by D Scott

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room controls were a little difficult to understand, but the staff were patient and helpful.