Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

No windows

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Nice staff. Everything was clean and you had everything that you needed in the room.
Cons: Room needs a window
Location: Good location, parking wasn't attached to the hotel but easy to find
The room would have bee perfect but we had no window which meant it was very dark in the morning and it got very warm because there was no window to open. There was air conditioning available but it was very noisy. If you are lucky enough to have a window then it is a lovely hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
It has been amazing, the staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. I will recommend the hotel to friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Underwhelming for the price

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I booked a night at the Montcalm as a treat for my partners birthday. A nights stay in a 5* Hotel was bound to go down a treat. However, it didn’t feel 5* - yes it was nice having someone open the door for you, concierge take you to your room and 3 balloons left on the bed because you mentioned it was your girlfriends birthday... but that was it. Once you were in your room, it just felt like any hotel. It was a very averaged sized ‘club room’ we were upgraded to, but for 5*, you expect perfection. You don’t expect the concierge’s response to a flickering, broken lightbulb is to just switch the whole set off and leave without even offering to call maintenance to have the issue resolved, which left a rather dark room even darker - to the point we had to use our phones torches to see in the dark cupboard where all the tea and coffee were hidden! One bonus of the room was the extra large comfy bed. However, this was quickly ruined first thing in the morning when all you could hear directly outside our room was people talking, running up and down the creaky, loud steps and slamming what appeared to be the cleaning storeroom door opposite. Not to mention the constant squealing sound of running water coming from the bathroom which must of been people around us having their early morning showers! Therefore, we will not be stay again at the Montcalm as overall it was disappointing for what we paid, and we will not be recommending to friends and family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Noisy night

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Double gazing or control noise in courtyard
Lovely hotel spoiled by van being loaded in early hours outside window and presumably drunk lady shouting at 1 am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Harrogate UK

Superb Staff and lovely hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and lovely architecture.
A beautiful hotel in the city, just five minutes walk from Barbican underground. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful, especially Gemma, to the point of allocating us a lovely duplex suite for my wife's early birthday treat. Not only that, a bottle of wine and chocolates to make her feel even more special. Thank you so much. It also has a proper pub, the Jugged hare attached to the hotel, which has great atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

A little bit of luxury to end our holiday

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stayed here for last three nights of a long holiday. Little bit of luxury (Wow room) to end our trip. Well worth it. Good location close to tube station. Good restaurants nearby. Most staff were fantastic (one guy was a little grumpy when I moved my own bags but being scolded for not letting someone pamper you isn't too bad). Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
It was my boyfriend's birthday and we were upgraded to one of the best suites in the hotel complete with balloons, champagne and chocolate! The room was beautiful and it was nice to have a nespresso machine. The staff were very welcoming and can't do enough for you. Also the location is perfect! I booked here because it's a 20 min walk away from shoreditch (where we had planned to spend the evening) and my boyfriend was also able to easily walk to work (near St Paul's) the next day. Barbican tube station is only a 5 min walk away if you need to travel further afield/ don't want a long walk. This is definitely the best hotel I have stayed in London and highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very nice hotel and staff are very friendly helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Rather unfriendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The rooms
Cons: The staff
Location: Right next to the Barbican and a stone's throw from the City.
Nothing wrong with the hotel in general, decent location, very pleasant room, but the staff were generally distant and in a couple of cases unhelpful. To be fair to the hotel they did address our concerns when we gave them negative feedback but I'm not sure we would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

City Break Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel was amazing! The service by the staff was excellent and the room was lovely! It's location is perfect for people wanting to explore the city and is located 5 minutes away from a train station!