Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel central London

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Nice staff clean and in a central location. Upgraded to a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant and friendly

Posted Dec 23, 2017
A great atmosphere, good food, short walk from Moorgate Station. Great staff. Some rooms are quite a distance from reception though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Good hotel close to most amenities

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Hotel was good and staff were very helpful. Room was small but had good facilities and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was booked separately and was expensive for the standard of food served.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

No windows

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Nice staff. Everything was clean and you had everything that you needed in the room.
Cons: Room needs a window
Location: Good location, parking wasn't attached to the hotel but easy to find
The room would have bee perfect but we had no window which meant it was very dark in the morning and it got very warm because there was no window to open. There was air conditioning available but it was very noisy. If you are lucky enough to have a window then it is a lovely hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
It has been amazing, the staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. I will recommend the hotel to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Phubinder

Cheeky Room Change

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
When we booked we the hotel we had booked Deluxe Rooms. However the cold man at reception who checked us in, downgraded us to MontCalm rooms which felt smaller then the ones we are used to. Only when checking out did we find out this had taken place. snd we not happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

Underwhelming for the price

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I booked a night at the Montcalm as a treat for my partners birthday. A nights stay in a 5* Hotel was bound to go down a treat. However, it didn’t feel 5* - yes it was nice having someone open the door for you, concierge take you to your room and 3 balloons left on the bed because you mentioned it was your girlfriends birthday... but that was it. Once you were in your room, it just felt like any hotel. It was a very averaged sized ‘club room’ we were upgraded to, but for 5*, you expect perfection. You don’t expect the concierge’s response to a flickering, broken lightbulb is to just switch the whole set off and leave without even offering to call maintenance to have the issue resolved, which left a rather dark room even darker - to the point we had to use our phones torches to see in the dark cupboard where all the tea and coffee were hidden! One bonus of the room was the extra large comfy bed. However, this was quickly ruined first thing in the morning when all you could hear directly outside our room was people talking, running up and down the creaky, loud steps and slamming what appeared to be the cleaning storeroom door opposite. Not to mention the constant squealing sound of running water coming from the bathroom which must of been people around us having their early morning showers! Therefore, we will not be stay again at the Montcalm as overall it was disappointing for what we paid, and we will not be recommending to friends and family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Noisy night

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Double gazing or control noise in courtyard
Lovely hotel spoiled by van being loaded in early hours outside window and presumably drunk lady shouting at 1 am