Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very well situated inLondon

Posted Nov 15, 2017
one of the elevator was not accepting my room card during my entire stay even if the card was changed 4 times and checked by the staff who was thinking that I was stupid and not able to operate. on my departure day when I made the comment to the person at the reception desk he looked at me as I a was very stiupd and told me that the issue was resolved weeks ago .... a behavior I cannot accept in these types of hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Fruzsina Bezdany - DM, Hotel Management
Dear Dominik, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you had to experience with our elevators. I agree that the behaviour of our front desk member is unacceptable and rest assured we will address this issue directly with him. Mr Dominik, I do hope that you`ll give us a second chance to better this experience for you. I`m looking forward to welcome you back in the Threadneedles. Kind regards: Fruzsina Bezdany - DM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Kent

Convenient for London sights etc

Posted Oct 9, 2017
A one night stay as we were going to a function nearby. Comfortable beds but the only gripe I have was that I was woken up by the thunderous roar of a neighbours shower, whether in was next door or above I don't know and just drifted off again when obviously the next person showered. Only had breakfast which was quite good but very expensive- so if you're not too fussed about eating early I suggest going elsewhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Fruzsina Bezdany - DM, Hotel Management
Dear E, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I do apologise for the inconvenience that the noisy pipes caused to you. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance team so they can loo in to ways to rectify the issue. I do hope you`ll return to the Threadneedles in the near future. Kind regards: Fruzsina Bezdany - DM
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Dusty headboard, weathered shade in bathroom, clogged sink, toilet that continuously runs and air conditioning that doesn't get past 26 degrees delicious is only but a few problems at this weathered hotel. Made a reservation for a day before arrival by error and would not credit the night even though it stood empty. Shameful by Marriott and Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at The Threadneedles. We were disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience caused. We trust that through our private communications regarding the important issues raised we have demonstrated how seriously we take such matters. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Threadneedles where we feel sure you will find our services much more improved. Kind Regards, Kamila Houdkova
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Threadneedles Hotel, and for leaving such positive feedback. We really do appreciate our guests scores and comments, and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again whenever you travels bring you back to London. Warm Regards, Kamila
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Lovely!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Very nice, clean hotel. They had a great bathtub too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by SImone Portaluri, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for your valuable feedback and for choosing Threadneedles - Autograph Collection Hotel for your most recent stay in London. At our establishment, we strive to provide excellent costumer service and we take great pride in the facilities we have to offer. I am very pleased to hear we met your expectations which resulted in a great sojourn within our property. We wish you to welcome you back in the upcoming future and will be looking forward to host you once more. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Warm courteous staff, comfortable room and lovely amenities throughout. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Threadneedles Hotel, and for leaving such positive feedback. We really do appreciate our guests comments, and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again whenever you travels bring you back to London. Kind Regards, Kamila Houdkova
3 out of 5
by Linda

Slow service

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel however service in the restaurant was extremely slow. Not on one occasion but on 3 different visits. With the expense to go along with it you would expect very prompt service especially since gratuities were automatically added.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Dear Linda, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Threadneedles. I truly appreciate you taking the time to review your visit. May I first of all say how very sorry I am that you left the hotel less than satisfied with the services you received. Our team the at the Threadneedles take great pride in providing all of our guests with the highest standard of service, and aim to deliver an exceptional and memorable experience throughout your stay. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast service offered by our hotel. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly gives us the opportunity to review the services we provide, and helps us to concentrate our efforts where needed to improve the services we offer to our guests. Despite these unfortunate experiences, we hope that you will consider staying at The Threadneedles again in the near future. Warm Regards, Kamila Houdkova
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Lovely two night stay

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The general ambience, the lovely furniture, the James Bond kettle.
Cons: Vegan breakfast menu. Wasn't one in the room and reception said I'd have to ask the next day. It's 2017.
Location: Right by the Bank of England, handy for Bank Underground.
Gorgeous room, lovely bathroom, beautiful lobby. THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Kamila, Hotel Management
Dear Sheffield visit, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I was very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. It is our primary aim to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and to create a special and memorable experience so I was delighted to read you have enjoyed our location and rooms with all the amenities we offer. I would like to express my sincere apologies that you were unhappy with our breakfast offering. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our Head Chef and Food & Beverage Director to review and address. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly allows us to review the services we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Threadneedles again when your travels bring you back to London. Warm Regards, Kamila
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice and quiet at the weekend. Close to underground and London city airport. Clean room although bathroom could do with a little bit of maintenance (rough round the edges) - shower could be better too. Good experience though at a reasonable price for a 5 star in London. I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Simone Portaluri, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing Threadneedles - Autograph Collection Hotel and for taking your time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Overall, I was pleased to hear you had a good stay within our property and would be delighted to host you once more in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable large rooms , good beds

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very quite and good value at the weekend , as its in the City of London financial district which is empty .We used the tube for an easy trip into the west end to eat - as there is very limited choice near thge hotel at weekends
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017
Dear guest, thank you for your review. At Threadneedles we take pride in delivering an exceptional and memorable experience for all of our guests, and I am glad we achieved this during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Threadneedles soon when your travels bring you back to London. Warm Regards, Kamila