Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod MA

Great hotel,close to the beaches,food was the best

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: It's was clean and we cannot say enough about the wonderfull staff.
Cons: Nothing to emprove
Location: We took a boat across to Stockton Island for the Sunday pig roast. We suggest you book a car through the Hotel that is a must.
The staff were wonderful and helpful. The food was great and we met other guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice of hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Nice ocean view, clean room, friendly staff. They helped to arrange taxi, good advice of fun activities to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Available products

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location and the beds. Best bed I have had in any hotel and I have been all over the world.
Cons: Food and cost
Don`t be surprised if you go to order something in a restaurant and they tell you they don`t have it. They seem to run out of items on a regular basis. Could be because everything has to be shipped in and the ship might not make it on time. Also there will be an automatic gratuity charge of 15% and a VAT of 7.5%. The gratuity is an issue as service is very slow which seems to be the norm. I think it`s because they will not cook anything until it is ordered. Also the food at all the restaurants is exactly the same. Meat, deep fried or BBQ, rice and black beans, macaroni, and coleslaw. They don`t eat a lot of veg so for vegetarians it could be difficult. Veg are available from the grocery store. Because of this recommend you book a house or a place that lets you do some of your own cooking. The Bahamian dollar is equal to the US dollar so for Canadians it is very expensive. Everything is over priced but again probably because it is shipped in. We were on the island of Great Exuma. Not a lot to do unless you snorkel, scuba dive or golf, however there is only 1 gold course. There is no shopping. One road from one end of the Island to the other, takes about 2 hours to drive with no a lot to see along the way. The waters are beautiful and it is very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great bang for your buck

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and big. GREAT/BIG bathroom, AC was awesome, friendly/helpful staff. Beach towels, snorkel gear and kayaks are available just ask.
Cons: Entertainment for the guests and more food variety.
Location: No much to do around which is great for us since we have no kids. Georgetown is the nearest town, don't expect starbucks. Must rent a car.
After searching for a dream vacation for a couple of months, we came across this hotel. Being the first time we visited the island we wanted a place that was peaceful but yet affordable (I would recommend this hotel for couples only no children). Excellent location as there are a couple of beautiful beaches within walking distance. Our room was about 10 feet from the water. The view is to die for! Just gorgeous! Great hotel but not perfect. The Monkey Bananas and cookout on Fridays are not worth sticking around for as they are very blah. You must visit Steven for an EXCELLENT CONCH SALAD he is located on the food joints near by which are open during the night time. Beer is great, must drink some Kaliks must try the gold one. We rented a car to explore the island (which is a must) if you can bring a GPS and do not be afraid of getting lost...because you can't! Locals are very friendly nothing to be afraid of. Taxis are expensive couple mile trip will cost you $30 US dollars. Must do the tours, swimming with the pigs/sharks are a must...AND THE SAND BAR IS UNREAL!! The clear water is worth the tour. You must bring an underwater camera to capture the life under the sea. Chat n' Chill is overrated, food is OK but not worth it as far as food goes; however, the island is beautiful! We had a delicious breakfast at Driftwood Cafe in Georgetown then we walked to the souvenir market, which is almost across the street. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A. love it or leave it

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Staff was very helpful, in helping us with all of our needs i.e. tours, car rental. The food at the restaurant was great. Overall would definitely return and recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice view

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Views
Location: Shirley's restaurant is very close (great lobster burger). Exuma market and liquor stores nearby.
We stayed at Augusta Bay for 4 nights. It's a simple hotel, beautiful view. The bed was comfortable, the light wasn't working, only the side lamps. One of the sinks in the bathroom was clogged during the 4 days and no one fixed it. Room cleanliness could be much better. There were days that they didn't change our glasses for clean ones. floor wasn't too clean and sinks weren't cleaned for the 4 days we were there. Breakfast is VERY simple. No cold cuts, no eggs. We only had mini corn bread, 2 different kinds of sliced bread, yogurt, coffee, orange or apple juice, two kinds of fruit. Great that it's included in the rate, but after the 2nd day it gets old. Location is great, the views are beautiful and Jolly Hall beach is only a 5min walk away. We got to snorkel under the dock and saw huge lobsters and many kinds of fish. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful in general. The girl that works in the restaurant not so much...and the food from the hotel's restaurant also not great and super expensive for what it was. Overall ok place to stay in my opinion. I would get back only for the views, price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Very nice hotel, on the bay.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Nice just the way we found it.
Location: Water sports close by. Swimming fishing,
Well, first of all we had planned much more than we got to do, because of lost luggage at the airport. The hotel staff at this place are very welcoming and friendly. They help us make the best of our stay. Great feel of family with the hotel staff. Good food in the hotel restaurant and awesome food close by at Shirley's. Great seafood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jensen Beach,Florida

Perfect choice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff,close to restaurants and beaches,snorkel equipment and kayaks
Location: Swim with pigs, iguana island, Chat and Chill, Shirley's and Augusta Bay for dinner, beautiful clear water!
We had such a wonderful time staying here. The hotel was in a perfect location for us to hop on a boat and visit the swimming pigs! The hotel staff was wonderful! We can't wait to visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great sunrise views from our room.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Balcony was the best! It had great position to watch sunrise everyday and hear the water lapping onto shore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

perfect place to stay

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Very nice hotel. The staff made me feel at home and took care of all my needs, especially my diet requests. I loved it there and would definitely go back. Side note: could use different lawn chairs at the pool :)