Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect resort at perfect location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
If you want to stay at the best resort ever - choose this one!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to completely unplug and enjoy

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The people here are amazing and work really hard to make your stay perfect. We love this place and we love Exuma. We truly were sad to leave.
Cons: No negative reviews here. The place was beautiful and the people are great.
Location: The water is so clear and blue its like being inside a postcard. Snorkeling here is A MUST!! Also fishing and swimming with the sharks was very cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Dear Whitney, We were sad to see you leave you now have a new home away from home. Thanks for taking the time post you review and please hurry back. Sincerely, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We much enjoyed our stay. The staff was amazing and everyone was super friendly. The grounds and villas are gorgeous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time and found new friends on Exuma. Sincerely, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No benefits even being Expedia gold+!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Booked because it was on your VIP list & I'm an Expedia+Gold member and received no benefits for it! The hotel blamed it on Expedia! They gave us NO free drinks, NO room upgrade, NO spa credits, nothing. Food at the one and only restaurant did not taste good. Service at the pool bar was non-existent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Disappointing to hear about your experience. Please accept our sincere apology. Sincerely, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach County Florida

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The villas were nice, comfortable, but not well maintained. For example, many light bulbs were burnt out, window shade hardware broken and not raising and lowering evenly, beautifully well made curtains with tie backs that were tied because the hooks were missing. It's all in the details. Only one restaurant outside, which is fine, but the food quality was very poor. We learned the new chef was arriving the day after we left. So, clearly they were aware of the issue. We rented a car, very happy about that as we could get to Santana's, Big D's and La Fourchette! We had breakfast each morning in the villa and ate every other meal out. There was an Excellent waiter the first day we had lunch and dinner, Loucausse, pity the food was so average. We didn't use the fitness center or the spa. Pretty beach, pretty beaches everywhere and spectacular, clean, clear water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Grand Isle Resort! We have looked into the villa issues and have them all resolved clearly not how it should have been for your stay. As you say it is all in the details which we normally get right!!! Palapa Grill has a large variety of cuisine and we strive to meet everyone's taste. The chef has been with us for over a year and a new sous chef was just joining our team during your visit. Please when you return to Exuma look me up personally so I can ensure the villa and culinary offering it picture perfect. Sincerely, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Location: don't miss waverunner tour
4days ... staff outstanding ..... restaurant best on island but overall would rate a 7/10 ........
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We will pass your compliments off to Exuma Water Sports! All the best, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

This place is great - luxurious and remote beauty!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a great pool and private beach. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The oceanfront villas are new and comfortable. Golf carts!
Cons: The hotel could use a second restaurant or bar. This would go a long way in making the location more interesting and fun. More choices on the menus.
Location: Great Exuma is a beautiful, humble island with so much natural ocean beauty. Destinations can be remote, but that is part of the fun!
We had the location recommended to us by someone who saw the bay that this resort was being built in several years ago. The resort is in tip-top shape. Everything is fresh and new-looking. The hotel has a private beach next to Sandals, with good snorkeling and some paddleboards, kayaks, etc., available to guests. Nightlife is minimal on this island - but if you are looking to fish, golf, paddleboard, snorkel, dive, swim, relax, unwind in a beautiful and safe atmosphere, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better island. The staff at the resort, and Bahamians in general, are very friendly, kind and relaxed folks. Some things are expensive for families, but this is a special island to save up for and relax in style! There are only a handful of hotels on the island. Grand Isle is the most luxurious. There are simple bars and restaurants - you'll want to rent a car. The island is very driveable, but not much in the way of signs or mapping. Do not miss bonefishing tours and swimming with the pigs/snorkeling. I highly recommend Aquadisiac 1/2 day and full day boat tours out of Barratarre, at the very tip of the island. Great boats - call Captain Edmund for some family adventure, mixed with thousands of tropical fish and beautiful vistas, and of course.....rum punch! Take the water taxi to Stocking Island, meet some boating families, don't miss the Rusty Anchor at February Point, or Catch A Fire for some good drinks and music. Try Emerald Bay Pub and Santana's too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by SGC- Exuma, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for posting a review recommending Grand Isle Resort. Great minds think alike we are working opening a new restaurant and hope to have it up an running but this time next year. We will also have a second pool which will really help! Hope to welcome you back soon, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel, close to the beach Food is awful

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Had to remind everyday the staff to give us shampoo and soap Room was never vacuumed and we ended up doing it ourselves Hotel bar and restaurant was too overpriced for what was being served Overall, it was a beautiful venue and the staff was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Dear Diana, Thank you for taking the time to post most appreciate. Your villa should have been servericec daily the only villas that are not serviced daily are the guest of owners who do not want this service. My sincere apology and please know this is not the norm! We hope you will come and see us again soon and I assure you we will get your villa serviced with our asking. Sincerely, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very nice place and extremely friendly staff

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Very laid back atmosphere. Loved renting the golf cart to get around!
Cons: Add more to the menu, perhaps more local dishes.
Location: Beautiful beach. Highly recommend the wave runner tour to the swimming pigs and renting a car to see the island.
Was pleasantly surprised at how very nice the room was, even though mine was one of the less expensive garden view rooms. Hi end granite, sparkling clean dishes, very beautiful bathroom with jetted soaking tub and nice bedroom. Washer and dryer in the room. The friendliest staff of any vacation I have ever been on and will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl, wonderful to read your review and know you had a great days and enjoyed all the staff hear at Grand Isle Resort. We are working on adding another restaurant in hopes of helping Exuma with dinning options and of course all our guest and owners. (:>> So watch for this we hope to announce soon. Hope to welcome you back soon, Sandra Grisham-Clothier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Highly Recommended

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on CheapTickets
The resort has everything that you need with breath taking views. The staff were extremely helpful and curteous. The rooms were very vlean, modern and efficient. I would highly recommend. The one issue if i had to pick something is the food can take a little while to come out at the grill. Not an issue really unless you are rushing to make a tour, t time or a flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
by SGC-Exuma, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feed back on dinning times. We are working on getting the associates off the island time and speeding things up. Hope to see you back soon, Sandra Grisham-Clothier