Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Some pros and cons

Posted May 5, 2017
The resort was huge with plenty of facilities it is totally a 5 star resort, the room was very nice with balcony and very comfortable bed, but I guess you will find a bit of wear and tear in the room but I think this is acceptable. We stayed for my honeymoon in April and it was a bit overcrowded than I expected, with the average age group of 40 - 50..we didn't use the pools as they were too crowded. The staff I met in the resort was very nice and polite, with 5 stars service but on the phone, the operators / from club lounge were completely the opposite, they were rather unhelpful and they would transferred me to another department right away without me finishing my sentence, I was very surprised and shocked. And sometimes I needed to make about 5 calls until someone picked up. I asked for stuff to be sent to my room but they never appeared. I booked a candle lit dinner for my husbands birthday and I wasn't informed to come to the lounge to do the menu choices until I took the initiatives to call them. From the menu choices I ticked 'surprise for him', and somehow when they called my room to confirm the dinner and they spoilt the surprise by talking to my husband about it, this is ridiculous and a careless mistake! I would recommend this if you are going as a couple and perhaps with your friends and parents, all drinks and food are free and are OK. But avoid this if you want some privacy and quiet time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Wow, an all inclusive with good food!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location, dining options, friendly staff.
Cons: The door to our building squeaked super loudly, toilet ran at random times and check-in process was very long.
Location: Gorgeous beach, water sport, snorkeling, and don't miss swimming with the pigs!
Oh my gosh..LOVE this place! The beach here is like no other. The water is the most beautiful blue water we have ever seen! We really liked the fact that every time we wanted to be on the beach we were able to find chairs and palapas to sit under. We also liked that there were two pools. One of which was more of the party pool and a VERY quiet pool. Again, there was no lack of seating or cabanas. The staff were great. Every time we passed a staff person they smiled and said hello. The food was really surprising. We had some wonderful meals here, all served by courteous and attentive employees. I would totally love to come back. It was a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Outstanding Staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
All staff from the front desk to the food service to the grounds keepers where so friendly and accommodating. The gardens are beautiful. We ate at a different restaurant for every lunch and dinner. Every meal was great. If I had to make a suggestion for improvement....the public washrooms are tired looking. They need some attention for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Bahamas getaway

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Sandals Emerald Bay resort. There were several things we liked about the resort. It was a beautiful resort. The food was great. Kimono's was our favorite restaurant. Bombay was good too if you like spicy food. The bartenders at the pool bar were amazing, especially Aaron and Storm. Lots of fun activitys at the pool and in the ocean. Kayaks, sailing, and paddle boards available wind permitting. Convenient shuttle from the airport and back. There are a few things that could have been better too. The resort only offered limited trips. You need to book the swimming pigs through an outside vendor to get your money's worth. It's the same price but it's an all day adventure and it will take you to Thunderball grotto and to swim with the sharks. The snorkeling trip offered by Sandals was not very good. Not much to see and very choppy water the day we went. Additionally, the drinks are weak and we did not like the rum they used. The staff don't move quickly so relax and be patient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis IN

Great property excellent view air cond a bit loud

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The Beach, the pool, the scenery! Terrence in the Drunken Duck.
Cons: Water pressure a bit low
Location: Great location
Beautiful palms and flowers, great staff. A bit on the loud obnoxious side at the poolbar during the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, OH

Beautiful location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is at a beautiful location in Exuma. The water was absolutely amazing. Chrystal clear. Food was excellent as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff is great!! We had the best time! It is relaxing as well as had great entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Positive energy. Everyone smiles here.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We had a great. Food was good. Service was a little slow. People were extremely nice and went out of their way to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Very good resort, but not great

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Check out is at 9:00. Shuttles to the airport at at 10:00. The first flight is not until after 1. Everyone sits on picnic tables at the airport.
Location: Very limited shopping. Tours of "pig island" are available.
This was our 12th time to the Caribbean, but a first to the Bahamas. We had never booked at a Sandals, and had very high expectations. We arrived, and had to wait over an hour until 3:00 for our room to be ready. I understand that this is standard practice for this resort. We booked an Ocean View room. What we got was a room that wreaked of mold and had a view of the kitchen. We immediately complained and was told that we would get the room that we paid for the next day. The next day came. We were told it would be another day before our room was ready. I said this was not acceptable and they made arrangements to get us the room we had originally booked. The staff is very friendly. The service is hit or miss. One morning we ordered coffee, it was in our room in five minutes. The next day it took over an hour. Same at the restaurants. Either wonderful service or so-so. Food was good. The buffets are not the huge ones that we had experienced in Mexico, but were adequate. The beach is nice. It is very secluded. Usually there was never more than eight people in the water at any given time. The restaurants require reservations, long pants,and closed toe shoes. Other resorts we have stayed at were not so time and dress code rigid. We were there during the Super Bowl. They put on a great spread of hotdogs/hamburgers/nachos and had a huge projection television. This was a welcome surprise. We would stay at another Sandals in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Beach and Amazing Golf

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This is a great place to getaway to. The beach is pristine and the golf course couldn't be nicer. If you are only planning to play nine holes definitely play the back nine. I definitely recommend doing the ocean safari excursion it's well worth the price. Seeing the swimming pigs is incredible. The food is ok, not quite what I expected given the price but it's not bad. The staff couldn't be nicer and definitely wanted to ensure we had a great stay.