Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Nice hotel. Quiet location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Excellent service. Nice rooms. Quiet location. Walking distance to central station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas,usa

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Staff was very gracious and helpful. Hotel is a moderate walk to city center. We did not have parking reservations so had to park on the street and keep paying the meter. It was not impossible but did take some planning . Mostly a business hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Excellent location close to centre of The Hague

Posted May 4, 2016
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Our room had been upgraded when we arrived and was lovely with such a comfortable bed and at the end of a quiet corridor. The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful, whatever our request. I am gluten free and they were extremely attentive, sending out for special bread for breakfast. Breakfast itself was delicious - there was gluten free granola too, plus fruit, ham, cheese, eggs etc. The location is brilliant. It's a five/ten minute walk into the centre of The Hague and there are loads of restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is around the corner from a tram/bus stop for getting to the station or further afield but is in a quiet location. The main reason for our trip was to take a visit to Keukenhof and having stayed in Amsterdam before we chose The Hague this time. We much preferred it, would definitely stay at this hotel again and hope to be back before too long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean

Posted Nov 18, 2015
This was a nice hotel- with a clean room with a comfortable bed. Nice staff- but one person at the desk at key times was not enough and therefore long waits at check out- and small things like storing bags required you to wait for all the check outs in front of you. Something management should look at -as it was a comment from all the guests that I encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon Sask Canada

Lovely boutique hotel close to city attractions.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
This is a lovely hotel close to the main attractions of The Hague or a short bus or tram ride away. I had stayed there once before, in 2012, and noticed several improvements to the lobby and public parts of the hotel this time. Everything from the check in to check out was well done. We asked for and were able to stay in the same room as last time too --this was really nice as it felt familiar and it was roomy too. The hotel had a lovely restaurant and a nice bar. We had a terrific room with a small balcony. One of the hotel staff gave us free vouchers for a drink which we appreciated. The staff organized a private car for our departure which we also appreciated. All in all it was a terrific hotel which I would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: See above
The room booked was not available on arrival after 3pm. Three hours later we were given an old apartrment outside the hotel which was inconvenient and uncomfortable with various defects eg key card would not work,tap was loose and defective, could not get hot water (only luke warm). In view of the price (more expensive that The Eden) we were disappointed - it does not measure up to cimilar hotels in other cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A gem

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Comfortable
Location: Quiet location minutes walking outside the city centre.
Wonderful and comfortable hotel with very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Lovely people

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Instructions.
Location: There are lots of restaurants near by. An interesting small museum and lots of places to stroll.
The staff at the Carlton Ambassador were delightful; really truly friendly and supportive. They went out of their way to be of service and seemed to be just naturally pleasant. I stayed in a Signature room which had been recently redecorated. It was a bit snug but more than adequate. The room service menu, oddly lacked information about how to actually CALL room service. To my further frustration, the menu instructed the guest to call for more options... but no number to be found. In fact, no instructions for the phone at all. Perhaps a mischevious guest took it? The breakfast was a bit dull but filling and adequate. Again, the service was attentive and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lowestoft

Comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great place and staff friendly, only bad thing is that there isn't a gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice boutique hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean room, comfy bed, room rate.
Cons: Shower stall should be more spacious. Wifi needs improvement. Staff friendlier.
Location: In the embassy area on a picturesque tree-lined street. Restaurants, supermarkets, shops, galleries, museums are all nearby within walking distance.
I stayed here for 4 nights with my husband who had some work at the Shell Headquarters. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the office. Expedia had emailed us about a possible upgrade due to our status, but I think we were only offered the smallest room on the top floor facing some trees with no view, and the free wifi kept dropping, maybe due to the room's poor location. That has created much inconvenience. The room is pretty with traditional design, and the bed is comfortable. There is a small balcony and we can leave the door open to get fresh air. The bathroom is spotless, new with modern ammenities, although the shower stall is very cramped. We never ate in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. The hotel is located in the embassy area on a street lined with big chestnut trees, Restaurants, supermarkets, shops, museums and art galleries are within walking distance. We never used any public transportation or taxis, and that's definitely a plus. As for the customer service, I have to say I was a bit annoyed during check-in. Three staff on duty were in the reception area when I tried to enter through the revolving door. They saw me, but no one bothered to come by to help while I was struggling to push two pieeces of luggage through. However, the following days there were much better people, they're the younger gentlemen, I wish I had their names. Overall, we had good experience here, and would recommend this hotel for business travellers and tourists.