Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice area, close to tram and restaurants

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nice quiet residential area, right beside the 16 tram and close to some good restaurants and shops. Quiet at night. My room was on 3rd floor and there is no lift, so climb 50 steep steps up to the room carrying 40kg of bags! The window in Room 28 is a skylight over the bed which was cold if open at night. There is not enough room between the desk and the bed to sit comfortably. Furnishings a bit cheap and dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel in a quiet area of the city

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Close to the trams for the town and the beach.
Cons: The bed was a bit soft for our liking. Two chairs would have been better than one, after all it was a double room.
Location: Close to the Peace Palace and Mesdag museum. Trams make it easy to access the city centre.
As this is situated a good walk from the city centre and the beach it is best to buy tram tickets (1 or 3 day) to cover your stay, from the Railway Station or Tourist Information Office as the tram drivers only sell single tickets which work out very expensive.
1 out of 5
by Jonathan

Do not stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were dated, with cheap furniture which made me relive my student days. The bathroom had black mould in the shower tray. Carpets were worn. The lift was interesting and trying to get to the top floor via the stairs was like climbing a mountain. Not worth 60 euro a night and breakfast was 10 euro extra, rip off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Adequate accommodations

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very cute, local charm, clean, polite housekeeping and desk staff. Convenient to buy tram tickets from the hotel desk if needed. $6.50 day pass.
Cons: Improve front desk staff's knowledge of directions and local events affecting transportation for visitors; improved stairs/lift for luggage
Location: Lots of markets, shops with local flavor, from everyday pharmacies to fruit markets to restaurants, cafes, even a bikram yoga studio down the street.
I went for a family event and took the hotel's location, price and amenities into account. It was charming, clean, comfortable, near my relatives, and by the cute Prins Hendrikplein park. I was also happy to find a mini-fridge in my room (not all rooms have this). The hotel serves breakfast. But, it was advertised as "included" in the stay, not per day, and I emailed to clarify this. I received reverse clarification on this after check-in. So, it is $9 Euro per *day*, not for the entire stay (mine was 4 nights). Fortunately there are several markets down the block from the hotel to buy breakfast/snack/travel items as needed. I did have the hotel breakfast on my 1st morning there; nice local fare, but not for $9/day. I got yogurt and fruit for $6 Euro total for the duration instead of paying $36. Also, except for the awesome and informed Mika at the front desk, most of the desk people weren't as helpful with directions and getting around. I had to be at a certain location on a Saturday and specifically called the reception desk to ask if the tram schedule was the same as weekdays, and the girl said "Yes, only different on Sundays." Well, I bought the tram ticket and then the tram operator said we were stopping at the next stop and done, because streets would be blocked off for a Veterans Day parade. I had to cab to my destination, which I could have done at the start instead of wasting extra tram money and time, had she, a local, told me about this pretty big parade there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great value hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great value hotel. Good location for restaurants and city centre. Really friendly and helpful staff. Large room with balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, affordable hotel in good location

Posted May 7, 2017
When I arrived I was treated very politely and given lots of information, including a map. The room had a nice view of some gardens and was very quiet. Everything was very clean. As the building is old there is no lift, so be aware of this if you have a heavy case and are on the third floor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel with period charm and friendly staff

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast excellent. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with several restaurant options nearby. Our room was advertised as a 'small bedroom' but was actually larger than expected. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Comfortable, clean and spacious. Big table in the room to work at.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Gem in Zeeheldenkwaartier

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
always excellent staff, good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poznan

Very cozy and centrally located

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
The hotel is conveniently located close to the city center. The rooms are clean, staff very helpful and breakfast fresh and palatable. The vicinity of Peace Palace invites for a pleasant walk, and you can find quite a few good restaurants nearby.